We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Brudenell Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“New Year”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Myself and family (2 x 20 something's and 2 x 2 19 year old's probably not the average residents age) spent an amazing time at The Brudenell this New Year, good rooms, excellent food and the service from their hard working staff was friendly and above and beyond. The rooms were a bit hot but bracing outside weather to balance. We would all highly recommend and look forward to going back!

Room Tip: Sea views lovely but noisy if weather windy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geraldine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay here and sharing it with us. I am glad to hear that you had an amazing time with us. We really had fun putting together what we had hoped would be an amazing event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    593
    300
    102
    15
    7
See reviews for
169
668
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We have stayed at the Brudenell several times over the last couple of years and have always enjoyed our stay. As usual the (sea view) room was clean and welcoming, although the shower pressure remains inadequate. I was disappointed, however, that we could hear a constant humming noise in the room which sounded like an extractor fan being operated. This kept me awake. According to the receptionist this is unusual for room 305.

We ate in the hotel restaurant on both evenings and found the food to be extremely enjoyable. My only complaint was that we were seated immediately opposite to where the waiters stacked the used glasses, empty wine bottles and jugs along the bar. This was intrusive and unnecessary, given the many tables we could have been seated at further away.

Should we return in the future, I would request an alternative room.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJB12013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback it is much appreciated I am sorry that you were disturbed by noise both in your room and in the restaurant this was unfortunate. Should you experience anything like this in the future please let us know when you are with us and we will move you somewhere that suits you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunmow
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

A wonderful 2 night stay at this lovely hotel with our Labrador.
We stayed in room 205 with a lovely sea view. The room had all the mod cons though was quite tight on space, particularly with a dog. The only negative was the dirty windows to enjoy the view. I imagine it must be an issue being on the sea front, but I would encourage the hotel to clean them more regularly as this is what customers are paying for. The windows in the restaurant were similarly dirty. I was concerned that as the hotel was dog friendly that we might be in a doggy smelling room, but this was not the case at all. The hotel should be commended for how immaculate the rooms are. Our only other issue was that the room was so hot. Even with the radiators off and the window wide open in Dec, it was still stifling and we could not work out why. A fan was provided in the room so I guess we have not been the only one to mention this. Cosy pj's are defo not required!! Bed was very comfy, though shower was not a powerful one.
Exceptional staff, particularly Yanika (?) from Slovakia at breakfast times. Breakfast menu was amazing, particularly the kippers.

Room Tip: Worth getting a sea view. 205 very nice but small. Not next to the lift and was quite quiet. However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you very much for your review it is good to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the feedback. Unfortunately as you point out keeping the windows clean can be an issue for us being on the seafront especially with all the salt spray and all the recent bad weather. we do regularly clean all the windows but by the next day they can be bad again. high winds do prevent us from cleaning the windows on safety grounds as well unfortunately and we have had a lot of days this last few months where this has been a problem. I apologise that heat was a problem for you I am unsure as to why this was the case but will certainly look into it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I received an Email from the Brudenell for a special winter offer (having stayed there a few times in the past. Booked the room the same day for the wife's birthday only a couple of days ahead. The receptionist was very good and explained the only rooms left were the superior sea views on the third floor which had a large sitting room and a good view of the sea from the bedroom side. The room was large, nice and warm to lounge in between afternoon teas and dinner.The sea which wasn't too rough and did not keep us awake.
We changed or dinner reservation to dine earlier with no problems that and breakfast the next morning were excellent.
All the staff were very helpful and courteous.
If I did want to quibble, you couldn't get the local TV service and instead got midlands local TV, who care pull the curtains back in the morning and check the weather.
we shall be returning sometime in the new year around our wedding anniversary.

Room Tip: upgrade to a superior sea view especially the third floor for excellent sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john_chenery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Thank you for your kind review I am pleased to see that you had a good stay with us and we look forward to looking after you for that anniversary visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelvedon
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Having had two previous weekend stays here and on both occasions been very satisfied, my husband and I were somewhat surprised to find our most recent visit not up to the usual standard. I booked our weekend six months in advance and as usual was asked what time we'd like our dinner reservation. I requested 7.30pm and this was confirmed on the e.mail. However, on arrival we discovered we'd been booked in much later than that and despite me showing the confirmation, I was told it had been fully booked for 7.30pm! Really? Six months ago? So why hadn't we been told so at the time of booking? The following night we went down to dinner at our revised time to find we should have been there an hour earlier but no one had thought to communicate this further change to us iether! Our special (and not cheap!) weekend package also included 'Afternoon tea', as had our 'Valentine' weekend back in Feb. We'd had sandwiches, scones and mini cakes/desserts. Delicious. So, imagine our surprise when we received a much smaller 'Cream tea', and as lovely as this was, a 'Cream tea' is not the same as 'Afternoon tea'! When I politely asked reception what constituted 'Afternoon tea', I was told by the same very curt gentleman who'd dealt with the dinner reservations, that our 'package' included only a 'Cream tea' despite us paying the equivalent amount as our previous visit. Apparently, there are now three 'Afternoon tea' options, so check out exactly what you're getting for your money.
Our room was warm, clean and comfy and most other staff were helpful and accommodating.
This is still a lovely place to stay, but make sure if you book well in advance, that nothing has changed before your arrival date, as communication regarding these kind of changes certainly need improving.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are beautiful though the sea is very close and if you're a light sleeper. the noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Thank you for your comments I am sorry to hear that you had problems with your booking times it seems that we did not have any record of you requesting a time when you booked the room and I apologise that this spoilt your stay. The package which you booked on for this visit is a little different to the one which you stayed on in February it does include a cream tea and not an afternoon tea as the romance package does include. I am unsure why you were unaware of this as it is stated on all of the literature regarding the deal, however had you asked at the time I am sure we would have upgraded you to a full tea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed for one night D,B &B. We booked one of the deluxe sea view rooms, and it was wonderful.
Large room, with lovely bay window overlooking the beach and sea, fabulous view to wake up to!
It was clean, warm and had everything we needed. Both dinner and breakfast were excellent with emphasis on local good quality produce. Service was very good, staff friendly & helpful. All in all I would highly recommend a stay at the Brudenell, we intend to return, but only if we can book the deluxe room, its worth paying the extra for! If I had to find anything negative to say it would be not to bother ordering the chocolates in your room on arrival. I ordered champagne and chocolates for my husbands birthday, chocolates were six lindt lindor truffles in cellophane bag, I was hoping for something a bit more special but saying that we did enjoy them! Champagne was lovely!

Room Tip: Spoil yourself and book the large deluxe sea view room, sit in the armchair in the bay window for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DippyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Thanks very much for your feedback and very positive comments about your stay. It is great to hear that the team looked after you well. I will look into your comments regarding the chocolates they are actually Hotel Chocolat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We took advantage of a Sunday night offer for 2 with D,B&B. We could not fault the hotel. The Aldeburgh room, without sea view, was large and with full facilities. The hotel throughout was clean and bright and the staff were polite and helpful. Both breakfast, with full choice, and extensive evening meal menu were delicious, hot and well presented. Afternoon cream tea was a meal in itself so beware.

Room Tip: No sea view is not a problem in the winter. Great views from the dining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Molenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
I t is really pleasing to hear that you had an enjoyable stay here with us and particularly that you felt that the team were helpful and polite. I hope that you return soon to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.6 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
661 reviews
19.8 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
336 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
795 reviews
11.1 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brudenell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brudenell Hotel

Property: The Brudenell Hotel
Address: The Brudenell The Parade, Aldeburgh IP15 5BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brudenell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an idyllic seaside setting, just a pebble's throw from Aldeburgh's shingle beach, the privately-owned Brudenell typifies all of the elements of a luxury four star seaside hotel. Following a complete refurbishment in 2010, it has been awarded 4 AA stars, a merit score of 85%, two rosettes and the coveted Visit Britain Gold Award. Our decadent bedrooms are distinctly decorated, incorporating vibrant colours so often associated with Aldeburgh and Suffolk. Enjoy soporific sea views, as well as beautiful views of the River Alde and the surrounding countryside. We are passionate about providing you with the very best service and a warm Suffolk welcome awaits you the minute you walk through the new doors of this fabulous hotel. So uniquely Aldeburgh. WiFi is available throughout the hotel for the convenience of our guests, the password for which can be obtained from reception. A stay at The Brudenell is perfect for those looking for a luxurious short break in Suffolk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Brudenell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh
The Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing