We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nautical flair”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Brudenell Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Needed a few days away whilst our house was being decorated. Good choice for Winter Break. The hotel had close sea views whilst remained warm and cosy. We could sit in the comfortable lounge area or our bedrooms. The staff were very friendly and attentive without being overbearing and had a friendly interactin with each other. The hotel and rooms were very clean and tidy. The whole experience felt relaxed whilst maintaining a high standard of customer care. The town and surrounding areas allowed great scope for exploring although Winter may not be the best time of year for this.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderersIpswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

It sounds as if we got things just right for you, this is exactly what we are trying to achieve a high quality level of service with a nice relaxed balance and not being over the top and intrusive. I hope the decorating went well for you. Thanks for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,061)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

700 - 706 of 1,061 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2014

As the venue for a special birthday treat, the hotel could not have been a better choice. It is wonderfully located with helpful, attentive and very pleasant staff. The rooms are well appointed, very comfortable and very clean and the sea view was superb. Compared to lesser quality hotels, it offers terrific value for money with an excellent deal on dinner. The menu was innovative and appealing, the food was excellent and the service impeccable. Breakfast was an absolute treat.
In short, it was a thoroughly enjoyable experience which we will repeat.
The Brudenell is very highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had a standard double room with a sea view which was way above average. However, next time I woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thank you. It gives me great pleasure to hear that the team looked after you so well and that you really enjoyed the food. Thank you for choosing us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed with a family group of 5. Very worthwhile stay. The hotel has excellent rooms, staff and food. For Christmas the hotel additionally organised: champagne & canapes before dinner Christmas Eve, live musicians with dinner Christmas Eve & Boxing Day, afternoon tea and food each afternoon, and games and a quiz for those who wanted to participate.
90% of those staying were over 60s. No children, except day visitors.
Parking was tricky, as it probably is anyway, but we didnt mind being blocked-in as we were not using the car. Table service was a little hit & miss with plates delivered to the wrong tables at each meal, and sometimes you had to ask for things again but this is a very small gripe amid very good service. We stayed in room 310 and the wifi was ok - a bit slow.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank London_E14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thank you for your open and honest review of your time with us at the hotel we were delighted to be able to look after you over the Christmas period and that you had a good time. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed her for one night for New Year's. Fantastic. There was 4 of us, and we were given cream scones and tea on arrival, and later on we had a black tie event of canapes and champagne before a 7 course gala dinner, followed by disco and fireworks on the beach. The staff were very helpful, especially with my citrus allergy, and so they accommodated extremely well for that at the gala dinner! Cannot fault service and was very clean. I was with my partner, and my parents had another room, and both rooms were large, and were on the 3rd (top) floor. We had the lift in between, which we were told about can be noisy, but didn't worry us one bit! Only let down was limited car park spaces for hotel guests, but with a rather limited space, not much can be done. The breakfast at the hotel was also exceptional, so we were all rather stuffed on our way out! My parents wanted to do something for new year and had never been in the Brudenell (live about 20mins away!), and as it was my partner's first new year in UK, we thought why not.. definitely will be returning to celebrate new years here again!! Fantastic service, fantastic place! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kiwi_and_Pom10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thank you for seeing in the new year with us at the Brudenell it sounds as if you, your parents and your partner had an great time. Glad to hear you are thinking to do it all again with us this year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Great great location with parking at end of high street at Aldborough. Walk one way and you are along the quays and sluices or going along beach towards the Martello Tower and Orford. The other way is the particularly pleasant and bijou High Street with art galleries, nice shops, couple of good charity shops, crazy run down sweet shop and lots of little cottages ... this road leads undeveloped road to Thorpeness which is about 1 mile away. The beach is stony. Always fishermen there in all weathers. Lots of families and dogs and walkers and great birdlife in the meres on the other side of the coastal path.
The Brudenell is a fine 4 star hotel with magnfiicent views of the beach and sea as it sits right upon them. Nice decor, all refurbished. Very pleasant staff. Great dining and possibly the best breakfast ever with local produce.
BUT do not stay in room 212 which is interior decor gone silly so that a writing desk and chairs and table mean you cannot move in the room. You cannot even open the wardrobe and hang things in it without slipping a disc and no room to put your luggage: seriously stupid for such a pretend-not-to-be-but-really-is-pretentious hotel.
Fairly clean but bathroom a bit mouldy. Nice products in bathroom and good tea and coffee console, although if you opened it, the walls heaved because of aforementioned space and design problem in room.
Watch out for their special offers.
The White Lion is probably a bit better, but the sea view is heavenly at the Brudenell and it is nice to be off the beaten track

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_finchley_lees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thanks very much for your review of the hotel. I am sorry to hear that you felt rm 212 was too small for your needs this is unfortunate. This room is our smallest double room and I agree it is not a spacious room however I think it does provide everything that you would need within the space as well as offering a good sized bathroom. I inspected the room the day this review was posted and I could find no mould in the bathroom. I am glad to hear that all other aspects of your stay met with or exceeded your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We returned to the Brudenell for a New Year's two-night break - and would highly recommend it. We were greeted with a cream tea for two on arrival (slightly ambitious given the fact we were about to have a seven-course gala dinner that evening but my brave husband soldiered on) and then went to our lovely room (317) to get ready for the evening's celebrations. New Year's Eve started with a champagne reception, followed by a many-coursed dinner and dancing to excellent DJ. The highlight of the evening was standing overlooking the sea and watching a wonderful firework display. The Suffolk Breakfast the next day was also great. We visited the hotel as all our kids were doing something else this New Year's Eve and are now planning to return. Brilliant start to the year.

Room Tip: Room 317 was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trainers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

This all sounds like you had a great experience with us! thank you for your constructive feedback. Having had our Christmas debrief after Christmas this year we agreed that the afternoon tea prior to the Gala diner probably was a bit much and we will do things differently in this aspect next year. We really enjoyed New Years Eve as well so pleased to have shared it with you all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Myself and family (2 x 20 something's and 2 x 2 19 year old's probably not the average residents age) spent an amazing time at The Brudenell this New Year, good rooms, excellent food and the service from their hard working staff was friendly and above and beyond. The rooms were a bit hot but bracing outside weather to balance. We would all highly recommend and look forward to going back!

Room Tip: Sea views lovely but noisy if weather windy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geraldine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Thank you for reviewing your stay here and sharing it with us. I am glad to hear that you had an amazing time with us. We really had fun putting together what we had hoped would be an amazing event.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.5 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,530 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
694 reviews
19.8 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
847 reviews
2.3 mi away
Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel
11.1 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brudenell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brudenell Hotel

Address: The Brudenell The Parade, Aldeburgh IP15 5BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Price Range: £110 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brudenell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an idyllic seaside setting, just a pebble's throw from Aldeburgh's shingle beach, the privately-owned Brudenell typifies all of the elements of a luxury four star seaside hotel. Following a complete refurbishment in 2010, it has been awarded 4 AA stars, a merit score of 85%, two rosettes and the coveted Visit Britain Gold Award. Our decadent bedrooms are distinctly decorated, incorporating vibrant colours so often associated with Aldeburgh and Suffolk. Enjoy soporific sea views, as well as beautiful views of the River Alde and the surrounding countryside. We are passionate about providing you with the very best service and a warm Suffolk welcome awaits you the minute you walk through the new doors of this fabulous hotel. So uniquely Aldeburgh. WiFi is available throughout the hotel for the convenience of our guests, the password for which can be obtained from reception. A stay at The Brudenell is perfect for those looking for a luxurious short break in Suffolk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Brudenell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh
The Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing