We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Brudenell Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable Stay”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We spent one night in the Brudenell Hotel and enjoyed a lovely comfortable stay. Our room was described as "inland facing" but we found we did have a sea view to the side. A nice touch was some colouring/quiz sheets and crayons laid out on the bed for my five-year old daughter. Dinner in the hotel restaurant was excellent and the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you for your kind comments it sounds as if we looked after you well and that you enjoyed your experiences with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    593
    300
    102
    15
    7
See reviews for
169
668
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We have just had a night at the Brudenell in a superior sea view room. The service from check-in to check-out was faultless, we felt like valued humans! The restaurant was well run and the service was attentive with a polite smile....add to this the sound of the breaking waves all night to put us to sleep..perfect. We will be back.

Room Tip: Spend the extra £10 for a sea view..and sound!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Wow that is high praise thank you very much. We certainly did and always will value your business. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My husband and I decided to celebrate the New Year away this year. We decided on the above hotel. Everything was first class. The only request my husband made was a seaview, on entering the room he stated seaview, not in the sea. With the weather the way it was we did have some great views.
The breakfast was good and a very wide selection. Real smoked haddock with poached eggs ( not dyed ) was one of the choices.
The reception and new Year celebration was good as well. The food was well cooked, all bit it small on the first couple of courses, but the main was excellent.
Overall, this hotel will be one of my favorites, up their with one from China and one in Peru that I loved
Staff very good and attentive and think of everything.
Alderburgh itself is a small village ( For those who like classical music, it was the home of Benjamin Britten and he is buried in the local church )
It was great for BRACING walks along the sea front. Summer time I would think it would be heaven.

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 305. Needed to put something at the door bottom due to the corridor light, but that i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ImpKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
I am glad we had the opportunity to look after you and share what we felt was a memorable new years eve with you. it is nice to hear that we are in your top three hotels of choice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

My one night stay in December 2013 at The Brudenell Hotel was very good. I was there on business with a group of colleagues. We all dined together in the restaurant. The staff and service was very good. The food was excellent but slightly higher price than my company will pay. I had to pay the difference myself!

The room was furnished and decorated to a high standard and I had a large en-suite with proper bath and shower over.

The hotel is right on the sea front. I have attached some photos taken early morning when I was leaving.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UK_Travel_Guide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us as well as your meal. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Needed a few days away whilst our house was being decorated. Good choice for Winter Break. The hotel had close sea views whilst remained warm and cosy. We could sit in the comfortable lounge area or our bedrooms. The staff were very friendly and attentive without being overbearing and had a friendly interactin with each other. The hotel and rooms were very clean and tidy. The whole experience felt relaxed whilst maintaining a high standard of customer care. The town and surrounding areas allowed great scope for exploring although Winter may not be the best time of year for this.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderersIpswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
It sounds as if we got things just right for you, this is exactly what we are trying to achieve a high quality level of service with a nice relaxed balance and not being over the top and intrusive. I hope the decorating went well for you. Thanks for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

As the venue for a special birthday treat, the hotel could not have been a better choice. It is wonderfully located with helpful, attentive and very pleasant staff. The rooms are well appointed, very comfortable and very clean and the sea view was superb. Compared to lesser quality hotels, it offers terrific value for money with an excellent deal on dinner. The menu was innovative and appealing, the food was excellent and the service impeccable. Breakfast was an absolute treat.
In short, it was a thoroughly enjoyable experience which we will repeat.
The Brudenell is very highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had a standard double room with a sea view which was way above average. However, next time I woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you. It gives me great pleasure to hear that the team looked after you so well and that you really enjoyed the food. Thank you for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed with a family group of 5. Very worthwhile stay. The hotel has excellent rooms, staff and food. For Christmas the hotel additionally organised: champagne & canapes before dinner Christmas Eve, live musicians with dinner Christmas Eve & Boxing Day, afternoon tea and food each afternoon, and games and a quiz for those who wanted to participate.
90% of those staying were over 60s. No children, except day visitors.
Parking was tricky, as it probably is anyway, but we didnt mind being blocked-in as we were not using the car. Table service was a little hit & miss with plates delivered to the wrong tables at each meal, and sometimes you had to ask for things again but this is a very small gripe amid very good service. We stayed in room 310 and the wifi was ok - a bit slow.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank London_E14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you for your open and honest review of your time with us at the hotel we were delighted to be able to look after you over the Christmas period and that you had a good time. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.6 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
661 reviews
19.8 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
336 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
795 reviews
11.1 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brudenell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brudenell Hotel

Property: The Brudenell Hotel
Address: The Brudenell The Parade, Aldeburgh IP15 5BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brudenell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an idyllic seaside setting, just a pebble's throw from Aldeburgh's shingle beach, the privately-owned Brudenell typifies all of the elements of a luxury four star seaside hotel. Following a complete refurbishment in 2010, it has been awarded 4 AA stars, a merit score of 85%, two rosettes and the coveted Visit Britain Gold Award. Our decadent bedrooms are distinctly decorated, incorporating vibrant colours so often associated with Aldeburgh and Suffolk. Enjoy soporific sea views, as well as beautiful views of the River Alde and the surrounding countryside. We are passionate about providing you with the very best service and a warm Suffolk welcome awaits you the minute you walk through the new doors of this fabulous hotel. So uniquely Aldeburgh. WiFi is available throughout the hotel for the convenience of our guests, the password for which can be obtained from reception. A stay at The Brudenell is perfect for those looking for a luxurious short break in Suffolk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your The Brudenell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh
The Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing