We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, friendly service with a touch of class”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Brudenell Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Old Basing, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Warm, friendly service with a touch of class”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We spent a Saturday night at this hotel in March. We didn't book a sea view as it would only have been for about 2 hours on Sunday morning. Dinner was excellent, I had halibut and my partner has pulled pork with crackling. Wine was ok, not brilliant and as usually hotel priced.
Room was small and a bit cramped but well turned out. Not a problem.
Location is superb with the sea a stone's throw away.
I would definitely stay again, which says a lot.
Breakfast was large and tasty. Parking was a bit small, but we got a space.
Not sure how well a wheelchair would cope. They have lifts though.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mortelini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Many thanks for your review I am glad that you would return this is great. with regards your comments re our wine pricing we have a section of our wine list which you may not have seen in which we offer a variety of special wines which we have collected over time which are all priced with a small margin of profit and offer exceptional value with many prices cheaper to our guests than they would be to us if we bought them now from our wine merchants. keep an eye out for this when you return I can promise it is worth exploring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    593
    300
    102
    15
    7
See reviews for
169
668
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We spent two nights here mid week for a 'romantic break'. We had a lovely room with big bay windows overlooking the seafront. The only negative observation which I will get out of the way right off was that this window was dirty, we had paid extra to have a sea view and consequently didn't. We mentioned this when we left the hotel a few hours after we checked in and she we returned it was sparkling - great service but it should have been clean in the first place!

The bed was big, lovely soft pillows and the bathroom really nice - modern and spotless. Really comfy room with great chairs to sit and watch the world go by for a few hours

Breakfast was included and very good - lots of choice and well cooked.

We had dinner one night. The food was varied and well cooked with impeccable service.

Highly recommend - would stay again

Room Tip: Get a sea view if you can afford it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Glad you had a lovely stay and enjoyed the food service and surroundings we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We have stayed in the Brudenell Hotel for short breaks many times over a number of years. Always a lovely location. But since the re-furbishment it is even better!
Really Great Food, wonderful flavours and ingredients. Service excellent and reception staff very helpful. We have booked for yet another visit.

Room Tip: Good selection of rooms at prices to fit budgets.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
I think it speaks volumes that you say you have already booked to come back that is a lovely recognition of a successful stay. thank you for joining us in Aldeburgh and see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at the beginning of February and found the hotel just perfect for a relaxing time. We had a great sea view room on the first floor. Accommodation was spacious and light/modern décor. The breakfast was very good with all the choices we like as part of the standard menu ie haddock/kippers/salmon and the evening meals were excellent. Restaurant staff were very good. We booked as part of a pick and mix meal deal and felt for the standard of hotel it was good value. Our weather was terrible, so it was lovely to have a warm, comfortable room with great service to while away the time and watch the sea come crashing in. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: First floor sea view great, uninterrupted view of sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Glad to hear you had a relaxing stay, sad to hear the weather wasn't great for you! those waves hitting the shore are really mesmerising aren't they!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland On sea Essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My wife and I have just had the most lovely break at The Brudenell hotel in Aldeburgh. As soon as we arrived the reception was excellent. We had one of the smaller sea view rooms however we found it very light and well decorated and to just watch the dawn break over the sea was well worth the extra for a seaview. The food was well presented and very tasty served by well trained and attentive staff. The morning bought yet another pleasant surprise with the full (Suffolk) English breakfast which set you up for the day ahead. We both left feeling that we had had a wonderfull break and will definitley return. One last thing if you are a fish eater make sure you go to the hut on the beach that says "The only fish fresher is still swimming" on your last day and take some home its wonderfull.

Room Tip: Pick a room away from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
It all sounds like you had a lovely break here on the coast in Aldeburgh. Thank you for choosing the Brudenell and I hope it will be no1 for you should you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We spent Valentines weekend at this hotel and have come home feeling relaxed. The evening meal on Friday was superb and breakfast both days was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff on any level. We are definitely looking to return

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 56Chris2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thanks for sharing your experience of Valentines at the Brudenell and we hope to look after you again soon. I have passed on your lovely comments about the service to all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

My partner and I decided to treat ourselves to a treaty Valentine's night in Aldeburgh. We are so glad that we chose the Brudenell! From the moment we arrived, on a dark, rainy, blustery evening, we were warmed by the lovely welcome we received. Our room was light and modern, with every comfort we could wish for. The bathroom sumptuous and the bed squishy and warm, with crisp white linen and feather pillows and duvet. We were greeted, as promised, by a chilled bottle of pink Prosecco, chocolates, a single long stemmed rose. First we were treated to an excellent tea for two, with sandwiches, cakes and brilliant Jing tea and then there was time for a rest, a bath and a glass of fizz. Later a cocktail and a delicious 3 course dinner, served by expert and attentive staff and serenaded by live music. In the morning the very best full English (Suffolk) breakfast we have ever had! Every bit of food and drink was delicious, every area of the hotel, fresh clean and tastefully decorated, every smile and word, warm and sincere...A PERFECT VALENTINE'S CELEBRATION

Room Tip: A stunning sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit despite the weather. Although I note you are from the west country so may well have come here by boat last week!!! We really enjoyed looking after everyone over the valentines weekend and comments and reviews such as yours really make all the hard work worth it for all the team. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.6 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
661 reviews
19.8 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
336 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
795 reviews
11.1 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brudenell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brudenell Hotel

Property: The Brudenell Hotel
Address: The Brudenell The Parade, Aldeburgh IP15 5BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brudenell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an idyllic seaside setting, just a pebble's throw from Aldeburgh's shingle beach, the privately-owned Brudenell typifies all of the elements of a luxury four star seaside hotel. Following a complete refurbishment in 2010, it has been awarded 4 AA stars, a merit score of 85%, two rosettes and the coveted Visit Britain Gold Award. Our decadent bedrooms are distinctly decorated, incorporating vibrant colours so often associated with Aldeburgh and Suffolk. Enjoy soporific sea views, as well as beautiful views of the River Alde and the surrounding countryside. We are passionate about providing you with the very best service and a warm Suffolk welcome awaits you the minute you walk through the new doors of this fabulous hotel. So uniquely Aldeburgh. WiFi is available throughout the hotel for the convenience of our guests, the password for which can be obtained from reception. A stay at The Brudenell is perfect for those looking for a luxurious short break in Suffolk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your The Brudenell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh
The Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing