We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Brudenell Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Ingatestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely little hotel”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed at The Brudenell Hotel for 2 nights. I found the hotel very friendly with lovely views over the sea at Aldeburgh. My room was on the small size but comfortable with all the amenities you would hope for, except there was no satellite TV. The bathroom was large with shower over the bath. There was also free wifi. We dined there both nights because we had a dinner,bed, breakfast package. I found the food very good with a wide selection of both food and wine.
The restaurant was very busy because it was a bank holiday weekend. The staff in the restaurant were very friendly and helpful despite being rushed off their feet at times. It is a very child friendly
hotel.
I would definitely look to stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't worry if you do not have a sea-view room as the back of the hotel has excellent views of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    571
    289
    94
    14
    7
See reviews for
161
646
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Only ate here food was good small portions and overpriced for what you had though 5 prawns as a starter for around £7? Roasts around £17 for quarter chicken ? Not sure if I would return. Service good polite staff.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank v-essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We had a very enjoyable family weekend. The rooms were very clean and the added touch of a dog bowl and bone was a thoughtful touch.

Staff were very polite and helpful. The only isssues we encountered were around the wine menu and our choices not being correctly selected and having to chase for drinks orders

Room Tip: Our room had an excellent sea view, was large enough for all of us and the dog. A bit hot though as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Both our rooms were beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. The general areas are welcoming and look just right with the site being so close to the Sea. The food was excellent, we really enjoyed the new menu and were spoilt for choice. Great quality, well prepared and presented food. The service here is always good and if anything was even better with some really super young people looking after us with real enthusiasm. This hotel has just got better and better over the years we have been coming.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The hotel is situated right on the beach with many of the rooms having a sea view (well worth the extra!). The food is of a very high standard with a good but not too expensive wine list and the staff are very helpful. The sea terrace is a perfect location for a drink or even breakfast on a nice day. Parking is a bit of the problem but the hotel staff are very good and will help with luggage if necessary. The wi-fi is a bit weak, I suspect it is very overloaded as there is virtually no mobile phone signal. A perfect venue for a short UK break

Room Tip: Go for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobS26_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Parking at this comfortable hotel is a challenge but do not give up! With patience and perseverence you will find a place where you can leave the car safely and without damage. If you are arriving for the first time I advise you to leave the car temporarily as near to the hotel as you can and then walk to Reception to get directions and survey the options for yourself. If you drive straight up to the front door you may be unable to turn round and find yourself with a long reverse!
Having said all that you will be well rewarded when you check in. The Brudenell, though structurally quite old (previously a Trust House Forte establishment), it is modern in style both inside and out. The bedroom we had (309) was very comfortable, including the bed, very well appointed and spotlessly clean. A nice touch was the wardrobe which illuminated when one opened the door. Though it overlooked the marshes to the rear, the bathroom had a sea view from where one could watch the distant shipping entering the harbours of Felixstowe and Harwich while shaving. The shower was very efficient and one did not need a degree in hydraulic engineering to work out how to work it as you do in many hotels,where no instructions are provided. We had beautiful white fluffy towels and bath robes.(As usual the towels were identical which is aesthetically atrractive but why don't hotels put discrete identification marks on every towel so that guests know whose is which?) The public rooms were warm and with attractive modern decor. The restaurant menu provided an excellent and lengthy choice and was accompanied by a reasonably priced wine list. There is also a very well stocked bar. The food, if not generous, was more than enough; it was well presented and very tasty.The fish comes straight off the beach and was particularly good. We enjoyed the food but there are other good restaurants in Aldeburgh, so, on a future visit, we would not commit ourselves to a half board tariff so that we could dine out as well as in the Brudenell. Service was friendly and efficient. Altogether we had an all-too-short a stay and we are looking forward to returning.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor have views unobstructed by adjacent property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erithacus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Had a fabulous week-end here just enjoying being near the sea. The hotel is lovely - decorated in a contemporary style with nice little twists such as 'message in a bottle' on the bedroom door handles. The outside seating area is gorgeous and the glass wind-breaks keep you protected while giving you a great view of the sea, just a few feet away. Another reviewer said that her favourite thing was hearing the sea through the window at night and I agree, it was lovely. The bedrooms were spotless and the beds were comfy - one little gripe, the pillows became like flat pancakes and I had a stiff neck in the morning. The food was delicious but not a lot for the money.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blueandfluffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.5 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
19.8 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
13.4 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
8.9 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brudenell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brudenell Hotel

Property: The Brudenell Hotel
Address: The Brudenell The Parade, Aldeburgh IP15 5BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brudenell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an idyllic seaside setting, just a pebble's throw from Aldeburgh's shingle beach, the privately-owned Brudenell typifies all of the elements of a luxury four star seaside hotel. Following a complete refurbishment in 2010, it has been awarded 4 AA stars, a merit score of 85%, two rosettes and the coveted Visit Britain Gold Award. Our decadent bedrooms are distinctly decorated, incorporating vibrant colours so often associated with Aldeburgh and Suffolk. Enjoy soporific sea views, as well as beautiful views of the River Alde and the surrounding countryside. We are passionate about providing you with the very best service and a warm Suffolk welcome awaits you the minute you walk through the new doors of this fabulous hotel. So uniquely Aldeburgh. WiFi is available throughout the hotel for the convenience of our guests, the password for which can be obtained from reception. A stay at The Brudenell is perfect for those looking for a luxurious short break in Suffolk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Brudenell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh
The Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing