We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Brudenell Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Had a very relaxing time at this super hotel. Staff very helpful and rooms in very good order - the breakfast is superb and I would recommend to anybody looking for a weekend break. This is defintely our favourite place to come for a weekend away!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellGManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Martin

Many thanks for leaving you feedback, I am pleased you had a relaxing time at the hotel. I will pass your kind comments onto the team
We look forward to welcoming you back

Kind regard
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,045)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

628 - 634 of 1,045 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

We booked the hotel online and in doing so specified a sea view room. We then got a call from the Manager (Mr. Osborne) to say there was an error and that whilst he could still offer a sea view, it wouldn't be quite the standard of the one we thought we had booked. He was both "up-front" and pleasant about the problem (quite refreshing in this day and age!) and offered recompense. In the event when we arrived, the original room was available (through a cancellation) so all was well. Our stay, albeit the one night enjoyable, food was excellent, as was the service. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bernard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellGManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Bernard
Many thanks for your understanding of the situation and I am pleased we managed to resolve the issue leaving you happy and enjoying a pleasant stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind regards
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed 3 nights on a 'luxury package' break in May 2014 which included a Deluxe Sea View Room, breakfast, dinner (£30 per head allowance), afternoon tea, chocolates and a bottle of Prosecco each day in our room and finally pre-dinner cocktails. Our Deluxe Sea View Room (106) was good with a small balcony (which needs some refurbishment), king size bed, settee, two chairs and a table, dressing table and lovely views across the beach to the sea. The small bathroom had a separate shower as well as a bath and good quality towels and bathrobes. We really enjoyed the restaurant food with it's freshly cooked breakfast, fruit, cereals and fresh orange juice. In the evenings the restaurant focussed on seafood which we had most evenings - the sea bass and beer battered haddock were exceptionally good as were some of the fish starters.

Generally, service was friendly and efficient - especially so in the restaurant. Our only problem with service was with pre-dinner cocktails as we waited over 30 minutes on one evening and when they finally arrived they were not correct as they seemed to be missing some ingredients. On another evening the waitress explained that she hadn't made cocktails before and hoped they were OK - which they were. Seems they had recently had their barman leave unexpectedly. Finally, we never saw a manager and when asked the receptionist said he usually was in the restaurant in the evening though he was also the manager of the White Horse.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pinner Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellGManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Traveller
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback and I am pleased to read you had a wonderful stay. Sorry I didn’t get the chance to meet you, I do endeavour to meet as many guests as possible during their stay at the hotel as I spend most of my spare time at the hotels but unfortunately I personally missed you on this occasion. A manager is always on duty.

Kind Regards
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Chose the Brudenell hotel for my wife's birthday celebration and it turned out to be a winner.

Well appointed room overlooking the sea, that was clean and nicely maintained throuhout our stay.

The staff were all friendly, cheerful and very attentive.

The food was exceptional and the service was very good.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellGManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear David
Many happy returns to your wife, I am pleased we made the celebration even more special.
We look forward to welcoming you back
Kind regards
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My wife has been extremely busy for several months preparing for the recent local elections. She wanted a short break where she could experience a bit of luxury and forget about the stresses of the election. We could not have chosen a better spot. Our room faced the sea and was comfortable and well-appointed. The excellent full English breakfast was tasty and substantial and seemed to fuel us for most of the rest of the day, which included a cycle ride to Thorpeness and back. The staff were commendably friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellGManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Brian

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience, I am pleased to read you and your wife have a lovely visit and she had the opportunity to relax after a busy few months.

We do hope to see you again soon
Kind regards
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed in a gorgeous room with wonderful views out to sea and also across to the river (depending on which window you look out of). Everyone was very helpful and welcoming and we had a really lovely stay. The breakfast was impressive and the bed very comfortable - we had a really good night sleep.
Thank you to all of the staff at the hotel - we were really impressed overall and will be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellGManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Angela

Many thanks for your kind comments, I am pleased your enjoyed every moment of your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We have stayed many times at the Brudnell and there is no longer a "Heart" to the place.Reception is almost subterranean and there does not seem to be a senior person in evidence.the staff change with alarming regularity and whilst friendly do not seem to have been trained.Our usual seaview rooms are excellent but the public rooms are cluttered and poorly serviced.Food can only be described as reasonable but is not good value considering the price.We can only rate the hotel as 3.5/5 especially considering the room rates.If it were not for the wonderful sea views we would not choose to stay there.The swan at lavenham is in the same ownership and is VASTLY superior in every respect.Pofessional staff and superb food and Value.Pull your socks up Brudnell !!

Room Tip: Superior sea view expensive but good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellGManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Peter
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am sorry to hear we have not met your expectation on this occasion, I would be very happy to discuss the issues further with you to learn where your feel we can improve. Please contact me on Peter@brudenellhotel.co.uk
Kind regards
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.6 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
680 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,507 reviews
19.8 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
827 reviews
11.1 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
2.3 mi away
Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brudenell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brudenell Hotel

Address: The Brudenell The Parade, Aldeburgh IP15 5BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Price Range: £142 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brudenell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an idyllic seaside setting, just a pebble's throw from Aldeburgh's shingle beach, the privately-owned Brudenell typifies all of the elements of a luxury four star seaside hotel. Following a complete refurbishment in 2010, it has been awarded 4 AA stars, a merit score of 85%, two rosettes and the coveted Visit Britain Gold Award. Our decadent bedrooms are distinctly decorated, incorporating vibrant colours so often associated with Aldeburgh and Suffolk. Enjoy soporific sea views, as well as beautiful views of the River Alde and the surrounding countryside. We are passionate about providing you with the very best service and a warm Suffolk welcome awaits you the minute you walk through the new doors of this fabulous hotel. So uniquely Aldeburgh. WiFi is available throughout the hotel for the convenience of our guests, the password for which can be obtained from reception. A stay at The Brudenell is perfect for those looking for a luxurious short break in Suffolk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Brudenell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh
The Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing