We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Peaceful Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Brudenell Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed here on a sunny winter's day in a superior room and it was worth it with views overlooking the sea. The room was bright and spacious with a 'sit out' area. The location really is very special. In the evening we ate in the restaurant which was good but not outstanding and really did not seem to match up to the quality of the hotel overall. The breakfast was good. We would commend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a quiet break away from the general hustle and bustle of everyday life.

Room Tip: Chose a seaview room - worth the extra!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vjkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellGManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Vjkm
Many thanks for your feedback and kind comments. I am sorry to read you didn’t feel the food lived up to our hotel, the Head Chef, James, is very experience and works extremely hard to maintain our two rosette award restaurant standard. I hope we can do better on your next visit
Kind regards
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,035)
There are newer reviews for The Brudenell Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

616 - 622 of 1,035 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

Room top notch.
Food excellent.
Restaurant service - something obviously wrong while we were there? Nobody seemingly in charge and food and drinks took an age to come at both breakfast and dinner.
Car parking space - very good for busy town.
Stairs labyrinthine if you can find them.

Room Tip: Sea view best.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dixiegrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellGManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Dixiegrand

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience, I am pleased to read that overall you had a pleasant stay with us. Sorry that you felt the service was slow, we always have a manager on duty so I hope this will be more seamless on your next visit.
We hope to welcome you back soon

Kind regards
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Had a very relaxing time at this super hotel. Staff very helpful and rooms in very good order - the breakfast is superb and I would recommend to anybody looking for a weekend break. This is defintely our favourite place to come for a weekend away!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellGManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Martin

Many thanks for leaving you feedback, I am pleased you had a relaxing time at the hotel. I will pass your kind comments onto the team
We look forward to welcoming you back

Kind regard
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We booked the hotel online and in doing so specified a sea view room. We then got a call from the Manager (Mr. Osborne) to say there was an error and that whilst he could still offer a sea view, it wouldn't be quite the standard of the one we thought we had booked. He was both "up-front" and pleasant about the problem (quite refreshing in this day and age!) and offered recompense. In the event when we arrived, the original room was available (through a cancellation) so all was well. Our stay, albeit the one night enjoyable, food was excellent, as was the service. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bernard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellGManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Bernard
Many thanks for your understanding of the situation and I am pleased we managed to resolve the issue leaving you happy and enjoying a pleasant stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind regards
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed 3 nights on a 'luxury package' break in May 2014 which included a Deluxe Sea View Room, breakfast, dinner (£30 per head allowance), afternoon tea, chocolates and a bottle of Prosecco each day in our room and finally pre-dinner cocktails. Our Deluxe Sea View Room (106) was good with a small balcony (which needs some refurbishment), king size bed, settee, two chairs and a table, dressing table and lovely views across the beach to the sea. The small bathroom had a separate shower as well as a bath and good quality towels and bathrobes. We really enjoyed the restaurant food with it's freshly cooked breakfast, fruit, cereals and fresh orange juice. In the evenings the restaurant focussed on seafood which we had most evenings - the sea bass and beer battered haddock were exceptionally good as were some of the fish starters.

Generally, service was friendly and efficient - especially so in the restaurant. Our only problem with service was with pre-dinner cocktails as we waited over 30 minutes on one evening and when they finally arrived they were not correct as they seemed to be missing some ingredients. On another evening the waitress explained that she hadn't made cocktails before and hoped they were OK - which they were. Seems they had recently had their barman leave unexpectedly. Finally, we never saw a manager and when asked the receptionist said he usually was in the restaurant in the evening though he was also the manager of the White Horse.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pinner Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellGManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Traveller
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback and I am pleased to read you had a wonderful stay. Sorry I didn’t get the chance to meet you, I do endeavour to meet as many guests as possible during their stay at the hotel as I spend most of my spare time at the hotels but unfortunately I personally missed you on this occasion. A manager is always on duty.

Kind Regards
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Chose the Brudenell hotel for my wife's birthday celebration and it turned out to be a winner.

Well appointed room overlooking the sea, that was clean and nicely maintained throuhout our stay.

The staff were all friendly, cheerful and very attentive.

The food was exceptional and the service was very good.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellGManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear David
Many happy returns to your wife, I am pleased we made the celebration even more special.
We look forward to welcoming you back
Kind regards
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My wife has been extremely busy for several months preparing for the recent local elections. She wanted a short break where she could experience a bit of luxury and forget about the stresses of the election. We could not have chosen a better spot. Our room faced the sea and was comfortable and well-appointed. The excellent full English breakfast was tasty and substantial and seemed to fuel us for most of the rest of the day, which included a cycle ride to Thorpeness and back. The staff were commendably friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellGManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Brian

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience, I am pleased to read you and your wife have a lovely visit and she had the opportunity to relax after a busy few months.

We do hope to see you again soon
Kind regards
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.6 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
669 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,504 reviews
19.8 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
819 reviews
13.4 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
338 reviews
2.3 mi away
Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brudenell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brudenell Hotel

Address: The Brudenell The Parade, Aldeburgh IP15 5BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Price Range: £134 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brudenell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an idyllic seaside setting, just a pebble's throw from Aldeburgh's shingle beach, the privately-owned Brudenell typifies all of the elements of a luxury four star seaside hotel. Following a complete refurbishment in 2010, it has been awarded 4 AA stars, a merit score of 85%, two rosettes and the coveted Visit Britain Gold Award. Our decadent bedrooms are distinctly decorated, incorporating vibrant colours so often associated with Aldeburgh and Suffolk. Enjoy soporific sea views, as well as beautiful views of the River Alde and the surrounding countryside. We are passionate about providing you with the very best service and a warm Suffolk welcome awaits you the minute you walk through the new doors of this fabulous hotel. So uniquely Aldeburgh. WiFi is available throughout the hotel for the convenience of our guests, the password for which can be obtained from reception. A stay at The Brudenell is perfect for those looking for a luxurious short break in Suffolk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Brudenell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh
The Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing