We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Brudenell Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Expensive, but build quality is good, decor fresh and it's quiet considering it's age. They have managed to retain character whilst achieving modern standards. The restaurant is surprisingly good value with some unusual dishes and spacious, no wait at busy breakfast time and plenty of elbow room to converse normally. Staff very helpful and friendly, some not quite polished but I'd rather have friendliness than stuffiness. Then the view; the sea couldn't be closer and none of the usual seaside town rowdiness. Small car park but the public car park is only 50metres away and usefully carries over unused time for one day into the charging period for the following day.

Room Tip: There's no better way to fall into a relaxed sleep than rocked by the sound of the waves - get a...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,035)
There are newer reviews for The Brudenell Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

612 - 618 of 1,036 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

The rooms are good. We've been there a dozen times but you have to get a sea view room for the experience. Be selective about your dates and try and get a deal if you can as it's not cheap. However, waking up before dawn and seeing the lights of the fishing boats just before the sun comes up is magical. Very professonal staff. Good food in evening but on last trip they seem to be skimping on the amount/quality of the breakfast - they need to addess this as what you need before a long walk is a hearty fry-up! (well, I do). Worth the stay but keep your eye on the value.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kuniklo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel,right on the front,dining room looks out on the beach and sea,staff are excellent as well as the food,the rooms are spacious, had a sea view room,will be going back






room,will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosemary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

We were staying two minutes away so visited for brunch and dinner. The hotel is very attractive and right on the beach with fabulous views. The service was excellent and we were made so welcome and treated as valued guests. The food was excellent and well presented. The menu is sea food based, with lots of interesting and different items. There's enough choice for non fish eaters too. I would love to stay there in the future.

Stayed: June 2014
3  Thank mags1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The location, right on the seafront, is very attractive. Our initial impression was coloured by us being allocated a tiny rear-facing room and by the seeming inability of front desk staff to handle our request for a more suitable room. Once this was sorted out all went well. There are pleasant lounges. Rooms are attractively decorated. Bathroom was roomy with shower intelligence test the usual trial. Breakfasts were good as was lunch, though while service was cheerful and willing it was sometimes very erratic eg our appetiser arrived after our main course and we had to wait interminably for coffee on another occasion.

Complimentary wifi does not in practice reach all rooms - we had to use public areas.

Room Tip: Make sure room is big enough if there are two of you with luggage. Some rooms very small. Also ensur...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SallyandHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed here on a sunny winter's day in a superior room and it was worth it with views overlooking the sea. The room was bright and spacious with a 'sit out' area. The location really is very special. In the evening we ate in the restaurant which was good but not outstanding and really did not seem to match up to the quality of the hotel overall. The breakfast was good. We would commend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a quiet break away from the general hustle and bustle of everyday life.

Room Tip: Chose a seaview room - worth the extra!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vjkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellGManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Vjkm
Many thanks for your feedback and kind comments. I am sorry to read you didn’t feel the food lived up to our hotel, the Head Chef, James, is very experience and works extremely hard to maintain our two rosette award restaurant standard. I hope we can do better on your next visit
Kind regards
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Room top notch.
Food excellent.
Restaurant service - something obviously wrong while we were there? Nobody seemingly in charge and food and drinks took an age to come at both breakfast and dinner.
Car parking space - very good for busy town.
Stairs labyrinthine if you can find them.

Room Tip: Sea view best.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dixiegrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellGManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Dixiegrand

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience, I am pleased to read that overall you had a pleasant stay with us. Sorry that you felt the service was slow, we always have a manager on duty so I hope this will be more seamless on your next visit.
We hope to welcome you back soon

Kind regards
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.6 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
670 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,504 reviews
19.8 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
819 reviews
13.4 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
338 reviews
2.3 mi away
Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brudenell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brudenell Hotel

Address: The Brudenell The Parade, Aldeburgh IP15 5BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Price Range: £135 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brudenell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an idyllic seaside setting, just a pebble's throw from Aldeburgh's shingle beach, the privately-owned Brudenell typifies all of the elements of a luxury four star seaside hotel. Following a complete refurbishment in 2010, it has been awarded 4 AA stars, a merit score of 85%, two rosettes and the coveted Visit Britain Gold Award. Our decadent bedrooms are distinctly decorated, incorporating vibrant colours so often associated with Aldeburgh and Suffolk. Enjoy soporific sea views, as well as beautiful views of the River Alde and the surrounding countryside. We are passionate about providing you with the very best service and a warm Suffolk welcome awaits you the minute you walk through the new doors of this fabulous hotel. So uniquely Aldeburgh. WiFi is available throughout the hotel for the convenience of our guests, the password for which can be obtained from reception. A stay at The Brudenell is perfect for those looking for a luxurious short break in Suffolk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your The Brudenell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh
The Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing