We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sea front hotel - impeccable service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Brudenell Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My partner and I were gifted a hotel voucher for our wedding and we chose to spend it with the Brudenell Hotel. Best decision! The hotel is right on the sea front and we had a wonderful sea view room. Check in was quick and efficient and all staff at the hotel were friendly and welcoming. The hotel has a great atmosphere. It is relaxed and comfortable but not starchy or stuffy. Rooms are well appointed and the bathrooms are fine. One minor criticism is that our room (on 2nd floor) could get a bit hot (but it was a very hot weekend!) and there is no air conditioning, which for a hotel of this class and size would make good sense. Other than that we really can't fault the hotel. Breakfasts were amazing- best veggie 'full English' breakfast I have ever had in a hotel!! The outside terrace is perfect for late evening drinks and for just relaxing watching the World go by. Our first visit to Aldeburgh and we will definitely be back and to stay again at the Brudenell.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room- well worth the upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WozzaTLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellGManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear guest
Many congratulations on your wedding, I am so pleased you selected us to celebrate it with you and that the team made your stay so wonderful. I am pleased you enjoyed our delicious breakfast and you had the chance to relax on our sea-view terrace. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,041)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

615 - 621 of 1,043 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

All in all a very pleasant stay at the Brudenell Hotel which has a wonderful location, very efficient pro active manager and friendly staff who go all out to make sure you are happy. The bedrooms and lounge areas are always well serviced and clean. It's great to enjoy a "glass or two" on the terrace followed by a delicious local seafood meal off the recently introduced Seafood menu - all looking out to sea. An exceptional Hotel right by the beach!

Room Tip: Book a 3rd floor sea view room for wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellGManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear PW
Many thanks for your kind comments, I am pleased we helped make your short break away so wonderful. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the new seafood menu and the lovely terrace, we hope to welcome you back soon to enjoy them again.
Kind regards
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Whilst the location of the hotel was excellent and what I'd expected and our evening meal was very good, little things let it down and I would not agree with the "luxury" tag (although the price would indicate otherwise!)
Room 305 (sea view) was ideal as it was away from the lift and was quiet and clean. noted that the ceiling paper/paint was peeling over the bed. The bed was very firm and not at all comfortable. The sink, while very modern and stylish, was so deep had to stand to the side to see in the mirror and the integral plug had been replaced by a plastic one with chain and was tied round the tap. There was not sufficient water pressure to have satisfactory shower. Was told that was a known problem on 3rd floor and was being addressed. If staying longer, would have become real issue. No bathrobes were provided. Intermittent wifi depending where you stood in the room and time of day!
Waiter service outside of the restaurant varied dependant whether you were inside or outside: we were ignored several times by staff while sat outside and it was not overly busy. Finally went into the bar to get the cocktail list ourselves Our Order was taken but we had to wait ages for the drinks to come. No nibbles with pre dinner aperitif. No petit four with after dinner coffee.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellGManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Teresa
Many thanks for taking the time to share you feedback. I am pleased to read your stay and the food was very enjoyable. All of our beds have a feather mattress topper, handmade in Suffolk; please do feel free to ask for extra toppers should you require an extra soft bed. We provide robes in our standard rooms on request. Service is my passion and I hope in the future we will meet your expectations.
Kind regards
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The room was beautiful and we were right on the sea front! We didn't have dinner in the hotel as we had booked somewhere else but the food we saw looked fantastic. We asked at reception if we could have breakfast in our room in the morning as we had seen some bits in our room that suggested it was possible. The lady on reception was very helpful and told us what we had to do if we wanted the breakfast in bed option so when we came back from dinner we filled in what we needed to and left it on the door. We slept very well and breakfast was amazing! The staff were friendly and helpful and our stay was far too short! We wish we had stayed longer but overall it was a wonderful stay and we will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank BMA_91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Expensive, but build quality is good, decor fresh and it's quiet considering it's age. They have managed to retain character whilst achieving modern standards. The restaurant is surprisingly good value with some unusual dishes and spacious, no wait at busy breakfast time and plenty of elbow room to converse normally. Staff very helpful and friendly, some not quite polished but I'd rather have friendliness than stuffiness. Then the view; the sea couldn't be closer and none of the usual seaside town rowdiness. Small car park but the public car park is only 50metres away and usefully carries over unused time for one day into the charging period for the following day.

Room Tip: There's no better way to fall into a relaxed sleep than rocked by the sound of the waves - get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The rooms are good. We've been there a dozen times but you have to get a sea view room for the experience. Be selective about your dates and try and get a deal if you can as it's not cheap. However, waking up before dawn and seeing the lights of the fishing boats just before the sun comes up is magical. Very professonal staff. Good food in evening but on last trip they seem to be skimping on the amount/quality of the breakfast - they need to addess this as what you need before a long walk is a hearty fry-up! (well, I do). Worth the stay but keep your eye on the value.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kuniklo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel,right on the front,dining room looks out on the beach and sea,staff are excellent as well as the food,the rooms are spacious, had a sea view room,will be going back






room,will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosemary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.6 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
678 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,506 reviews
19.8 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
826 reviews
11.1 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
2.3 mi away
Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brudenell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brudenell Hotel

Address: The Brudenell The Parade, Aldeburgh IP15 5BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Price Range: £140 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brudenell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an idyllic seaside setting, just a pebble's throw from Aldeburgh's shingle beach, the privately-owned Brudenell typifies all of the elements of a luxury four star seaside hotel. Following a complete refurbishment in 2010, it has been awarded 4 AA stars, a merit score of 85%, two rosettes and the coveted Visit Britain Gold Award. Our decadent bedrooms are distinctly decorated, incorporating vibrant colours so often associated with Aldeburgh and Suffolk. Enjoy soporific sea views, as well as beautiful views of the River Alde and the surrounding countryside. We are passionate about providing you with the very best service and a warm Suffolk welcome awaits you the minute you walk through the new doors of this fabulous hotel. So uniquely Aldeburgh. WiFi is available throughout the hotel for the convenience of our guests, the password for which can be obtained from reception. A stay at The Brudenell is perfect for those looking for a luxurious short break in Suffolk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Brudenell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh
The Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing