We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50th Birthday Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Brudenell Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Halesworth
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“50th Birthday Surprise”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Although I live locally and visit Aldeburgh frequently, I have always wanted to stay at the Brundenell overnight. My husband booked this for my 50th Birthday. We stayed on the second floor overlooking the sea. The room was lovely with a huge sofa right in front of the sea with coffee table. Bed was huge and the room was very nice with bathrobes and slippers and lovely toiletrees. It was half term when we stayed and it did somewhat spoil the dinner as there were lots of noisy children with their parents eating. We did really want an intimate dinner, but somehow that did not happen. Food was also average. Nothing to shout about. We had breakfast in our room the next morning on a little table in our bathrobes overlooking the sea, which was very romantic. Staff were efficient and friendly. Would be go back. Probably not

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieHall86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    592
    299
    102
    15
    7
See reviews for
167
668
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Good hotel, good food and ideally situated over-looking the sea. Rooms well furnished. Dining room is a bit of a disappointment as an odd mix of modern, nautical and casual in appearance with the bar part of dining area. One big disappointment is the lack of nearby available parking (not the hotel's fault as Aldeburgh is a small and busy town with lots of visitors). Despite some negatives, would recommend a short stay at the Brudenell.

Room Tip: Facing the sea both for vista and lack of traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

An overnight stay and treat from our daughter and her partner. One of the best hotels we have stayed at, Good service, pleasant staff and excellent food, We had the cream tea, A La carte dinner and full English breakfast and awarded full marks for everything. We arrived a few hours before check in to drop off our luggage but the receptionist checked to find our room was ready and checked us in immediately. This was a very nice touch.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Four of us ate here in August and had a superb meal, lovely catch of the day and Quinoa, ordered extra Norfolk potatoes to make sure we were full up. Service, cleanliness and atmosphere all excellent - lovely staff. There are a lot of nice pubs to eat at in this area but this restaurant makes a nice change. If we had to make a small critique then the fish cake was too big and the deserts were expensive. Ordered new Zealand Chardonny, very nice!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellGManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear
Thank you for your kind comments and visit the Seafood & Grill at The Brudenell. We are proud of our homemade dishes and locally sourced produce and I am pleased you enjoyed it so much you ordered extra.
Kind regards
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My husband and I decided to go for a short break to Aldeburgh and I'm so glad we chose to stay at the Brudenell. It is in an excellent position overlooking the sea and down the less busy end of the sea front. We managed to get the last space in the car park, which was fortunate as the car park is quite small. However they do have a garage nearby and there is also parking at the front of the hotel, which is free. There are lots of tables and chairs on the various balconies outside where you can just sit and relax and enjoy the view of the sea. I believe our room was the smallest in the hotel but it did have a sea view and the price did reflect it, compared to the price of other sea view rooms. We ate in the restaurant one night. The food & service was excellent but again it was quite pricey. All the staff were absolutely lovely. Very friendly and always willing to help in any way. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are quiet, apart from the noise of the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todds5054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellGManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear guest
We do have an envious secluded location in Aldeburgh and I am pleased you enjoyed this and had a wonderful stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back

Kind regards
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk. UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I consider the rates charged at this property to be very high, and, as such the hotel Management must expect some criticism from customers with understandable high expectations.

We were able to park our vehicle in the Brudenell Garage only a few yards walk from the entrance, for which there is no charge.

The welcome from the receptionist was very cheerful and upbeat. We were asked if we needed any assistance with our luggage.

we were allocated a seaview room on the 3rd floor. It was immaculately clean in all areas. The bathroom spotless, the carpets clean and the bed linen pristine. Top marks to the housekeeping staff, probably the cleanest hotel room we have ever stayed in.

It would have been nice to have had a fan in the room.

The seaview rooms and bathrooms in this hotel vary greatly in size.

The hotel offers a turndown service. The turndown service is not what I would expect. They pop into the room and close the curtains - not sure what else. From my experience a turndown service would also include emptying the waste bins, replacing the used towels, turning back the duvet, water by the bed etc.

The wifi service in the room was spasmodic, but easily accessible in the lounge.

We had a good nights sleep, but unfortunately the housekeeping staff decided to start hoovering the corridor outside our room at 8.15am,, so no need for an early morning call!

We sat in the lounge before Dinner. There was no lounge bar service. You had to go to the bar to order drinks, and they were very slow in arriving. There were no crisps or canapés served with the pre-dinner drinks.

There was no Maitre 'D or Restaurant Manager in evidence, don't get me wrong the girls were good but there didn't seem any leadership. Starters arrived before Drinks. Bread arrived towards the end of the starters. No body checked on the meal.
The restaurant was busy, it was high season, but don't forget the hotel charges high rates at this time of the year and should be ready for the extra work load.

The cooked breakfast was excellent, but the buffet disappointing. Only one choice of fruit juice, and limited choice of fresh fruit. A few croissants and Danish, but no choices of breads or rolls.

We enjoyed our stay, and although I realise the matters highlighted above are quite trivial, when paying over £300 a nigh B & B, we are entitled to expect 'near perfection'

Room Tip: I would suggest phoning in advance to ensure a suitable room. The seaview rooms, according to the fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cruiserap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellGManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear guest
Thank you for your kind comments on the team and cleanliness of the hotel. We provide fans in all the rooms so please to let us know if you can’t find it or require extra fans and the team can bring more up. I hope we managed to resolve the issues with the cleaning when you were here and of course this was an oversight on our part and will not happen again. Please do ask about our breakfast on your next visit we offer both full English and full continental so can organise anything you wish.
We look forward to welcoming you back and hope on your next visit we will exceed your expectations.
Kind regards
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed one night in early Aug14 - wish we could have stayed longer. Fantastic location overlooking the beach. Very nicely decorated hotel with a great room at the front (303). Lots of very friendly and attentive staff but it did seem to take a long while for the drinks/breakfast/lunch that we ordered to come. Price was very high but I would certainly come back again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front provide a view onto the beach and the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark_glading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellGManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Mark
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, I am pleased to read you had a lovely stay with us. It is extremely busy during the summer months and we have recruited more team members to meet the demand. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.6 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
660 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
808 reviews
19.8 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
336 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
795 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brudenell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brudenell Hotel

Property: The Brudenell Hotel
Address: The Brudenell The Parade, Aldeburgh IP15 5BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brudenell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an idyllic seaside setting, just a pebble's throw from Aldeburgh's shingle beach, the privately-owned Brudenell typifies all of the elements of a luxury four star seaside hotel. Following a complete refurbishment in 2010, it has been awarded 4 AA stars, a merit score of 85%, two rosettes and the coveted Visit Britain Gold Award. Our decadent bedrooms are distinctly decorated, incorporating vibrant colours so often associated with Aldeburgh and Suffolk. Enjoy soporific sea views, as well as beautiful views of the River Alde and the surrounding countryside. We are passionate about providing you with the very best service and a warm Suffolk welcome awaits you the minute you walk through the new doors of this fabulous hotel. So uniquely Aldeburgh. WiFi is available throughout the hotel for the convenience of our guests, the password for which can be obtained from reception. A stay at The Brudenell is perfect for those looking for a luxurious short break in Suffolk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Brudenell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh
The Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing