We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cant wait to go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Brudenell Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Just got back after a three night stay , This is the fourth time we have stayed at the Brudenell and i really cant fault it , The staff are all hard working and very polite a credit to the hotel. The food was out of this world . We had dinner there every evening and couldnt fault it . We love Aldeburgh and the Brudenell cant wait to go back next March for my 60th birthday.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 52lindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,053)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

597 - 603 of 1,053 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2014

The restaurant is the star of this hotel, the food is fresh and local, beautifully prepared and served. The room was lovely and had a great view. The staff are great, friendly and helpful. It's the food that gives you the value as it's fairly pricey to stay there, as most hotels by the sea are.

Give a special mention to the chef who de boned the fish for my friend. We appreciate the time taken by the chef to give us this extra service. It's much appreciated. It was a delicious dinner in a great atmosphere. The food is well worth the money.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica_Ogden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Visited with my partner for a couple of days. We had a sea view room which was lovely and big, the bed was huge!
Staff were really good, friendly and efficient, they clearly put staff training high on the agenda.
The food was great. We had planned on eating in the hotel only on one night but were so impressed we ate there on both. Good flavours, well presented and the mains were very generous portions. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a romantic break- aldeburgh and surrounding area is lovely, particularly Southwold.
Would definitely book the Brudenell again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sylviet194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellGManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Sylviet
Many thanks for your kind comments, I will pass these onto the team. How fantastic to hear you enjoyed the food so much that you dined with us both evenings. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

A lovely hotel in beautiful setting. We combined our stay with a day at the Latitude festival so
it was the 'comfort' element to our weekend away. Great food in the restaurant. I am a keen cook and relished the locally sourced produce. The Aldeburgh dressed crab was sublime.
An interesting wine list from which to select, including wines from the little known South African Klein Constantia estate. Our only criticism was our room for the first night of our stay. The day had been very warm and no one had thought to close the blinds/curtains to shut out the sun so by the time we arrive at about 6.30pm, it was like an oven. Also, I believe this has been mentioned in another review, the water bottles had been left on the table next to the window, therefore too warm to drink after a long drive. A mobile fan was provided but did little to cool down the room. However, our upgraded room the following night was super. I would certainly revisit the Brudenell Hotel in the near future.

Room Tip: Avoid the room that is above the kitchen, either room 110 or 111. We were moved for our second nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank FlorenceEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellGManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Florence
Many thanks for your kind comments, I do hope you had a lovely time at Latitude. Indeed we did have a hot summer; please do not hesitate to ask for fresh water in rooms on your next visit. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back
Kind regards
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Fantastic hotel lovely setting right on the sea with views from breakfast etc we had a family room which was lovely! Services was great and they keen to make sure everything was ok . Carnt fault it for a break my girls loved just popping onto the beach while we finish breakfast!! We will be back

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kibworthpollard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellGManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear guest
I am pleased to read you and your family enjoyed the break with us, I will pass your kind comments onto the team. We look forward to welcoming you back

Kind regards
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I have stayed here several times whilst on business and will continue to do so as it gets much more right than wrong. Ok the lift is noisy if your room is adjacent to it and you can hear some fire doors shutting but these are design faults and not easily fixed. Looking at the positives, I sat on the verandah/terrace having breakfast looking at the sea view, nice way to start the day. The food is cooked to order and is superb. I took on board the young man serving an older couple on the next table and his deference and attention to them was second to none excellent service ( manager please take note the waiters and waitresses are are credit to you). The room was on the 1st floor and there is no sea view. I have not seen the sea views from the superior rooms on the higher floors but I am led to believe they are quiet and very well appointed. My room was well appointed and no complaints at all. Parking is an issue but that is because the resort/town is so popular and not a reflection on the hotel. The bar area merges into the restaurant and is fine with a comfortable lounge adjacent. Wifi works ok in most areas and is quick and easy to install on your device.All in all another excellent stay over see you again soon.

Room Tip: Higher levels give seaviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellGManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Mick
Many thanks for your kind comments, please do ask about the different room types on your next visit (we have some stunning sea-view rooms on the 1st floor with balconies) and would be happy to show you them. I am pleased the team looked after you so well and you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Although I live locally and visit Aldeburgh frequently, I have always wanted to stay at the Brundenell overnight. My husband booked this for my 50th Birthday. We stayed on the second floor overlooking the sea. The room was lovely with a huge sofa right in front of the sea with coffee table. Bed was huge and the room was very nice with bathrobes and slippers and lovely toiletrees. It was half term when we stayed and it did somewhat spoil the dinner as there were lots of noisy children with their parents eating. We did really want an intimate dinner, but somehow that did not happen. Food was also average. Nothing to shout about. We had breakfast in our room the next morning on a little table in our bathrobes overlooking the sea, which was very romantic. Staff were efficient and friendly. Would be go back. Probably not

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulieHall86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.6 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
689 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,519 reviews
19.8 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
837 reviews
2.3 mi away
Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel
24.8 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brudenell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brudenell Hotel

Address: The Brudenell The Parade, Aldeburgh IP15 5BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Price Range: £128 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brudenell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an idyllic seaside setting, just a pebble's throw from Aldeburgh's shingle beach, the privately-owned Brudenell typifies all of the elements of a luxury four star seaside hotel. Following a complete refurbishment in 2010, it has been awarded 4 AA stars, a merit score of 85%, two rosettes and the coveted Visit Britain Gold Award. Our decadent bedrooms are distinctly decorated, incorporating vibrant colours so often associated with Aldeburgh and Suffolk. Enjoy soporific sea views, as well as beautiful views of the River Alde and the surrounding countryside. We are passionate about providing you with the very best service and a warm Suffolk welcome awaits you the minute you walk through the new doors of this fabulous hotel. So uniquely Aldeburgh. WiFi is available throughout the hotel for the convenience of our guests, the password for which can be obtained from reception. A stay at The Brudenell is perfect for those looking for a luxurious short break in Suffolk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Brudenell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh
The Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing