We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shopping break” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aldeburgh Market

Aldeburgh Market
Ranked #5 of 30 Restaurants in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Shopping break”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

I visited the market for breakfast in March. Thought that the staff were not that bothered and that is a same

Helpful?
Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    56
    14
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Overpriced, unfriendly and arrogant!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

This eaterie is uncomfortable and cramped.
The menu is expensive and too quirky for its own good.
The owners arrogant and unfriendly.
The owners think they can get away with tripe simply because the place is located in upmarket Aldeburgh!
Another example of a business in this over-hyped town which thinks its God's Gift to the public!
Best avoided. A bit like much of Aldeburgh really!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank louchelawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarafox, Owner at Aldeburgh Market, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
This review refers to a visit made last July, I wonder why it was not posted until last week? Surely more up to date opinion is required by readers of this site.

Although I respect the right of any customer to criticise a restaurant, and we cannot hope to please everyone, I do not agree with any of the comments made about my restaurant., or my home town of Aldeburgh.

I responded to this review a few days ago, but without explanation my review was posted and then removed. I hope this one will not be. If the reviewer has the right to say what he thinks, surely the restaurant has the right to refute it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fresh ingredients”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Popped in for a quick bowl of soup for lunch. Lovely homemade bread and soup. Good value. Great service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank clara m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Bank Holiday Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Although a regular visitor to Aldeburgh this is the first time at AM.We had the Poached Smoked Haddock which was really delicious.Although we had not booked they managed to fit us in,the service was good and staff seemed very efficient.Will certainly visit on our next trip but will make sure to book.Would recommend to anyone.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank roger_ashcroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A really great restaurant ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

I was recommended another restaurant in Aldeburgh but I couldn't find it on TripAdvisor and the reviews I could find weren't great. So I booked The Market based on reviews on Trip Advisor and I wasn't disappointed.

We went on Easter Sunday and I was advised, correctly that you need to book if you want to eat in Aldeburgh as it gets busy. So I phoned up the night before but couldn't get through. I left a message and on Sunday morning the restaurant phoned me back and we got a table booked for 4 for 1pm.

Once we arrived in Aldeburgh it took us a while to find the restaurant as 3G didn't function on my phone and my Google maps put the address 170 at the far end of the high street, whereas in reality the restaurant is bang in the centre of the high street. Also the entrance if the restaurant is actually through the green grocers/fish shop so it's not obviously a restaurant at first glance.

So we arrived a bit after 1pm but once we got there we were warmly greeted and very glad we had booked as people were being turned away. It's a small restaurant.

The description on Trip Advisor says 'vegetarian'. We didn't see any meat dishes but I would describe it as a fish restaurant rather than vegetarian.

The food is really great. Very tasty. Very well presented and reasonably priced. For a family of 4 with a main course and pudding we paid approx £20 a head - we didn't have any alcoholic drinks - just soft drinks and tap water.

The service was really good - polite, friendly and very efficient.

Being Aldeburgh you could spent a lot of money eating there. You can of course go the chippy (which looked great and had big queues) which is a low cost option (but being Aldeburgh pricier than normal) but if you want a nice sit down meal without going over board money wise this is a great choice. I recommend it. Trip advisor is right on this one - it's a goody.

Helpful?
2 Thank flowersingingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aldeburgh Market also viewed

 
Aldeburgh, Suffolk
 

Been to Aldeburgh Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing