We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A SMILE, A SCONE, AND A SUPER POT OF TEA!”

Cragg Sisters Tearoom
Ranked #1 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
534 reviews
322 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“A SMILE, A SCONE, AND A SUPER POT OF TEA!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We were made to feel welcome as soon as we popped our head around the door! Spent a couple of minutes discussing (with the very friendly member of staff) how to pronounce scone! Fantastic pot of tea, (lots of choice) and a really great cup coffee, and (which ever way you pronounce it,) the scone (along with the cream and jam) was fantastic! Calling into a place like this, can really make your day, and it did!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Funlovinfella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    88
    26
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Lovely busy little retro cafe - atmospheric and loved all the old non-matching crockery and 50s theme. Delicious pot of loose leaf tea with hot water top up offered. Very tasty scone with clotted cream and jam. Waitress very helpful and friendly. Will certainly return.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caledon East Ontario
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“English Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We popped in in the afternoon for a cup of tea and were delighted with the selection. The service was excellent with a good selection of cakes and scones. Would recommend this to all travellers wishing for a true English experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Calville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely sun trap and delicious cakes!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

I popped in here twice last weekend, once with a group of friends, and once the following day with just my partner. Both times we were served quickly and had a lovely experience. The only thing I found was that both times we were asked whether we fancied something sweet, or something savoury (and the appropriate menu given according to the answer). In truth, I didn't really know and I'd have quite liked to have been given the choice to browse and make my decision.
Meringues were exquisite and a perfect match to the apple juice. It was good to hear that gluten free options were also given (although I am not gluten free I have friends who are). Will certainly return again!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Small and perfectly formed tea room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

It's tiny but there's seating outside the front and back. We stopped for tea/coffee plus cake (there's a really tempting selection) while exploring Aldeburgh. There is a loo !

Service was very friendly and it's a family business, better than many chains.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cragg Sisters Tearoom also viewed

 

Been to Cragg Sisters Tearoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing