We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bank holiday lunch , superb”

The Wentworth Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 30 Restaurants in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$64
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A traditional restaurant serving modern and British classics. French influences are also evident. Enjoy hearty dishes and fresh fish and seafood obtained from the beach the same morning! Enjoy a three course dinner for £23.00. Relax in one of the spaciousl lounges after with a coffee. Private room also available for celebrations
Stowmarket
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bank holiday lunch , superb”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Having previously stayed at the Wentworth we knew that we were up for a quality meal using fresh local produce and we were not disappointed , cooked to perfection and at a reasonable price. Service was excellent and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend for a stay or just a meal.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    52
    24
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
354 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Fantastic, great value”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We had lunch on a bank holiday monday- despite being late for the table, this wasn't an issue and our order was taken in the lounge before we were taken to our table. Service was friendly and efficient although I have to say that there is a trend in restaurants where you are either asked how your course is/was too often or at inappropriate moments, or not at all. At the Wentworth, it was the latter which is odd but we would have complained if needed to!

The three course meal of £18 per person with no supplements for the cheese board was outstanding value- chicken caesar salad and a trio of salmon were decent sized dishes and tasted delicious. Chicken with fondant potato and red wine jus, salmon with salsa verde and sea bass were delicious using local ingredients. Sweets including the cheese, an enormous Eton mess with summer berries and a delicious sticky toffee pudding with pistachio ice cream were fitting ends to the meal.

The Wentworth faces stiff competition from other places in Aldeburgh but is well worth the visit. Can't wait for next time!

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gilescorenwannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk UK.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“We'll be back!!”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This is the second time I have eaten at the Wentworth Restaurant. On both occassions the service and food have been excellent.On this last occassion I was treated for a birthday lunch. The menu choice was varied and reasonably priced and I must say absolutely delicious. The waitresses were a delight. I can definately recommend this establishment and will most certainly return again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spicer-Brazier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
354 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great food, great value”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We arrived at 8pm to a full restaurant and were efficiently taken to our table. The Wentworth offers a fixed menu (£24 for 3 courses) but with additional dishes available at a small supplement.

We had the three course menu and all the dishes were beautifully cooked, presented and tasted delicious. I can't wait to go again.

The hotel's public areas are beautiful and the hotel feels very upmarket when you walk through to the restaurant.

Wine was a trop cher- £6.25 for a large glass of house white was a bit excessive I felt and for a restaurant of this standard, the staff admittedly young didn't really enquire how the meals were.
Admittedly, some waiting staff do this in other establishments and get the timing badly wrong (mid mouthful for example) however it would be nice to ask.

There are many eating establishments in Aldeburgh at the higher end of the market but this is the best.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gilescorenwannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A 'not so hidden' gem !”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The Wentworth is one of the top hotels in Aldeburgh and the restaurant has prime location right on the sea front. We started our evening sitting by the open fire with a glass of champagne. The menus arrived for us to peruse at leisure and the order taken. It would have been nice to have been formally shown to our table rather than given a 'number'. But I have to say their menu was lovely and at a fixed price of £18.95 for 2 courses and £22.95 for 3, very reasonable. The food was great and service attentive. The decor and ambience of the place are sumptuous and I am sure not many venture in for fear it may be too expensive - it's not - and is now on our list of places to go back to when next in Aldeburgh.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wentworth Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Wentworth Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing