We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't want to go anywhere else!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The White Lion Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You won't want to go anywhere else!”
Reviewed 15 June 2011

My pal and I stayed for dinner, bed and breakfast as a treat and had a wonderful time. The hotel has just been extensively modernised and refurbished and the Bar & Brasserie area is gorgeous. It's really light and modern with the sort of boutique hotel decor you might expect in a top London hotel, rather than sleepy Suffolk.
Our room was really nice with a view out over the shingle beach and the Aldeburgh fishing sheds. At night the fishing boats are all pulled up on the beach and it's a really pretty scene. The beds were very comfortable and the pillows nice and bouncy. Our only small complaint was a problem with the bathroom door which didn't seem to close properly.
But the best bit about the hotel is its food. The menu is centred around local fresh produce and is very reasonably priced. We ate a la carte on the evening we were there but there was a fixed price menu at £15.95 for three courses.
Fish features prominently and the king scallops we had for starters and the tiger prawn and tuna skewers for mains were melt in the mouth delicious. As for the sticky toffee pudding with banana ice cream - sheer heaven.

We will definitely visit The White Lion again. It was a lovely short break in a comfortable room with delicious food and delightful service. If you come to this part of the world you couldn't do better!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suffolkhaggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    804
    446
    133
    33
    11
See reviews for
184
881
27
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (567)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heathfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

From the moment my wife and I entered the hotel we were made to feel very welcome. Our check in was smooth and efficient with the minimum of fuss and bother. The room was well furnished and better than the brochure suggested.
There was an excellent team spirit amongst the staff, this sadly is rare in British hotels. No matter whether one was enjoying the excellent food or relaxing with cilleagues in the bar, the professionalism of the staff was self evident. They are well trained.
The standards of cleaniliness and hygiene were excellent.
My impression is of a first class hotel that deserves more than the three stars it has been awarded by the AA. Obviously well led by a top class General Manager.

Room Tip: Trust the receptionist!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gemini063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2011
Thank you for your comments and I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We work hard as a team to strive for excellence throughout and it is nice to read so often that we achieve this. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

A gem of a find.
Hotel immaculate, room fresh and very well presented.
All staff that we came into contact with were friendly and informative.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CockooCockoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2011
Thank you for your positive feedback on your recent stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed yourselves and found us to be fantastic all round. I will pass this on to the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

The restaurant is pleasantly decorated and the staff well presented, polite and efficient and not overbearing as suggested in a previous review.

Three of us had Sunday lunch arriving about 2 pm. (all day service). The roast beef was finished, must be very fresh if not one day stock held, particularly for a Sunday. The white onion soup was excellent, not whole onion in a bowl of water as in a previous review, it was the best my guest had ever tasted. He then had the pork which was not as tender as we have at home. My wife had grilled Vietnamese catfish(?) Monte Carlo style, which she did not like, coupled with the fact that it was not cooked in places. I also tasted the meat of the fish and it was part raw. No charge was made for this and apologies given. (The restaurant was about half full, so the kitchen should not have been overworked). I had fish and chips, the chips were square cut designer chips neatly stacked, but a better quality potato would be appreciated as the chips tasted "foggy" but not complained about. I can understand Cod being served in a council estate chippy, but why at a quality hotel in a fishing town which boasts about its fresh fish? Why bring fish from Vietnam? Two of us are from fishing families from the North East of Scotland, and my wife from a European fishing port, so we know what quality fish should taste like. When we left there, a couple in a Range Rover parked next to us were eating fish and chips in paper from a chippie, I thought they must know the best eateries in town.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Himself333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your feedback on Trip Advisor.
I have passed all your comments to the relevant departments and as you can imagine we are very keen to look into the issues you experienced during your stay and rectify them where required.
I would always suggest that you talk to our Duty Manager in order to rectify any problems that may occur during your stay. They would be more than happy to help and tackle issues in order to make your stay an enjoyable one. We hope you will return to the White Lion again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiselborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We very much enjoyed our stay and the food was excellent as was the service
We hope to come again in the near future

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VillageDoctor16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2011
We look to forward to seeing you again soon and I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We stayed at the White Lion over the Bank Holiday weekend on a bed, breakfast and evening meal basis. Our room was a standard sea view room which was lovely with a huge bed! The food in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner was excellent and we were able to choose whatever we wanted for our three course evening meal (we thought we may have been restricted to the fixed price menu). We found all the staff to be very pleasant and helpful and we would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HertfordshireHels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2011
Firstly, may I take this opportunity to say thank you for your comments. It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that
the room was to your expectations. I have shared your feedback with the Chef and the restaurant team. They were absolutely delighted to hear that you found the food to be excellent for both dinner and breakfast. The biggest focus we have as a team here at the White Lion is customer service and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldeburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Lovely ambience, food great and a lovely location on the front in Aldeburgh. Beutifully renovated last month at what must have been great cost. Well done

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186382Allan2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2011
Thank you for your recent review of the White Lion, I am so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.5 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
12.9 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
1.8 mi away
Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel
20.1 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Lion Hotel

Property: The White Lion Hotel
Address: Market Cross Place, Aldeburgh IP15 5BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The White Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Aldeburgh
Aldeburgh Best Western
The White Lion Hotel Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing