We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The White Lion Smiles”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The White Lion Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The White Lion Smiles”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Very pleasant stay in clean, relaxed atmosphere, looked after by efficient and very courteous staff who always had a smile for you.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLAldeburgh, Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am pleased you enjoyed your time with us. Aldeurgh is a beautiful town and just the place for a bit of relaxation. We hope to welcome you back.
Best wishes
Sean Morrison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    813
    451
    133
    34
    11
See reviews for
185
892
28
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Excellent location.Very friendly helpful staff.Dinner and breakfast at hotel well cooked and presented.Comfortable bed and nice toiletries in room.Would definately stay again!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaylors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLAldeburgh, Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to be helpful, we do indeed have a good team. We look forward to your return visit.
Best wishes
Sean Morrison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Unfortunately we had to cancel our one night stay at this hotel. Which we did within the stated 48 hours before arrival. I saw on our confirmation that they kept the deposit of 60 pounds and held it for one year which was slightly disappointing however they also informed me that it would not be refunded after the year period. You can only use the deposit if you stay with them during the one year other wise it is not refunded .This information was not in my confirmation and I was also informed it was on the website as we booked  which we did not see and I feel is something that should be highlighted when booking . I really feel it's a complete booking scam . Especially when you cancel within the allotted time scale . The hotel were completely rude about it when I complained that this was not on my confirmation and if we had have noticed this clause on the web booking we would not have booked with them . I'm super disappointed by their attitude and I wouldn't rebook a room as I feel as a business they don't deserve further profit from us. Truly a money for jam scam ! We won't book with them in the future if this is what they consider as service.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012 via mobile

I stayed one night, my wife two nights during the week on a business trip. She insisted we book a night together at the weekend. The sea view from the room was classic Aldeburgh, we watched the mornings catch being landed as we ate breakfast in the room. The room was small, clean and well appointed. In common with many UK hotels the coffee provided in the room was the instant variety, a French press or a filter option would be an improvement. The staff were very helpful, efficient and clearly understood the value of providing good customer service. We will return.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ely19999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to meet you during your stay. Hope to see you again very soon. Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Splendid three night break. The hotel goes from strength to strength, especially since the modenisation / alterations. The new Dining Room is a delight and the provision of a reception desk has made a difference. The location of the hotel is perfect, although parking can sometimes be tricky. An unusual feature is the level of service and friendliness of the staff, up to and including the Manager ( whose hands-on style is much appreciated ). Food and accommodation very good.

Room Tip: Sea - view rooms worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Wow, thank you! Your comments mean alot. It was a real pleasure to meet you and hope that you will return again soon. Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, UK.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Wife and I stayed three nights.
This nice, rather rambling old hotel has been determinedly modernised, and is run in a businesslike manner. Staff well trained, sevice faultless.
A splendid position on the sea front.
A standard room was cramped, with a rather huge bed just leaving room for "single-file" movement. Decor and fittings all immaculate.
However, evening meals in brasserie ("vibrant setting" advertised) a disappointing choice from standard un-varied printed menu, stylish names and presentation but quality very uneven.
Not bad value if you only want a short stay and can consider eating out.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chainman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Thank you for your comments, I have passed them to the team. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We stayed in the White Lion Hotel on New Years Day 2012 and were very impressed with the excellent location of this fine Hotel. We were lucky enough to get free parking outside the hotel, as this area gets very busy, but the hotel does also have some parking behind. We stayed in one of the budget rooms which was more than adequate for our requirements. As we stayed on a Sunday night, dinner had to be a roast and it did not disappoint. The meal was served in a true gastro style and I must say was delicious. We are frequent visitors to Aldeburgh and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Happy New Year! Hope 2012 is going well for you. Hope to welcome you back for this new year. Stay in touch. Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.5 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
990 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
644 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
323 reviews
8.5 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
701 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Lion Hotel

Property: The White Lion Hotel
Address: Market Cross Place, Aldeburgh IP15 5BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The White Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Aldeburgh
Aldeburgh Best Western
The White Lion Hotel Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing