We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The White Lion Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Wentworth Hotel(Aldeburgh)
US$188
US$183
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Satis House Hotel(Yoxford)(Great Value!)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa(Woodbridge)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$111
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Hotel(Framlingham)
US$150
Toprooms.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,547)
Filter reviews
1,547 results
Traveller rating
858
494
147
37
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
858
494
147
37
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewsea frontafternoon teafishold buildingbreakfast was excellentevening meallovely hotelwithout exceptionstayed for one nightcomfortable roomstaff were excellentkippersweekend breakfirst classshingle beachsecond visit
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,161 - 1,166 of 1,547 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Having only ever previously ventured into this hotel for afternoon tea, staying overnight was a bit of a gamble. However, from the warm welcome on arrival to the friendly chat on departure, everything was done very professionally. Our room was at the front on the first floor - secondary double glazing means that the look of the windows is preserved - but it will be expensive to maintain because the condensation between the original and seconadary panes will cause the wood to rot if they are not careful.

Lovely breakfast and a pleasant change not to have the usual self-service scrum. They catered for my very particular dietary needs very well and all the staff were excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricky A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2012

Thank you for your feedback, I have asked our maintenace team to address the window. We do hope to see you again soon. Have a great Christmas. Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Well run , very professional, We had the small private room for dinner which sat 12, (6 couples) the room is meant more for 8 or 10 persons but was our choice to squeeze in .. food and service was first class .. usually stay at the Wentworth but this is just as good if not better..we will be back for sure ..

Room Tip: request the top floor right hand corner room ( right as in when looking at the hotel from the road/sea) double aspect , great views out to sea and down the coastline to Thorpness plus early moning sun..
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingfisher1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. I am pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us. The team do work hard to deliver excellence. Have a great Christmas! Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the White Lion from the moment we arrived. The service is welcoming and attentive, rooms relaxing and beds comfortable. Food is important to us and we thoroughly appreciated the quality and variety on offer, with local produce featuring highly on the menus. Well done Peter and team. We wish you a Happy Christmas and New Year. See you again soon!

Room Tip: We like the seaview rooms on the 2nd floor
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheryl c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2012

Thank you for your lovely feedback. Have a great christmas and a superb 2013. We hope to see you again very soon. Best Wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We opted for the Winter warmer and enjoyed the Mulled Cider something we would have never tried but certainly will again;
The room was cosy and overall a warm and friendly welcome from reception right through to resturant and bar staff.
Dinner that was included and selected from the A la Carte and was excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2012

Warm and friendly is what the White Lion is all about! Thank you so much for yoru comments. Best Wishes for 2013 and have a great Christmas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

The Hotel was highly recommended by a friend. The hotel was warm and inviting with beautiful festive directions to make it feel a special seasonal break.
The staff were friendly and helpful. Excellent food with a good choice.
The room 31 was lovely and comfortable and well away from any of the functions going on in the hotel so nice and quiet.
The only two quibbles I had was:-
The shower was not very powerful.
I had booked on line and had B&B with Evening meal, when I came to pay they had charged me again for Evening meals on both nights.
This was soon corrected by the reception staff who were very apologetic.

I would recommend the hotel and will definitely return.

Thank you.. Wendy

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W12400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2012

Thank you! I have shared your comments with the team. They were delighted to read your feedback. Have a great Christmas and best wishes for 2013. See you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews