We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The White Lion Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful short break”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Arrived exhausted after a 5 hr journey from London (A12 blocked)... a very warm welcome, wonderful food, comfortable room and altogether a very happy weekend. This hotel is quiet and traditional with helpful charming staff that create a delightful and pleasing atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Peaceful & relaxing breaks are what we do. Whether you want to bird watch across the marshes, stroll along the pebbled beach, or sit overlooking the sea from one of our comfortable lounges then the White Lion is just perfect... I do hope to see you again, it was a pleasure to meet you. Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    804
    446
    133
    33
    11
See reviews for
184
881
27
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (567)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We were made very welcome and felt we had found a special place. The room was very comfortable and dinner was superb. Genuinely charming staff. The White Lion feels like a London boutique hotel, we felt cared for. The breakfasts were generous and like dinner, very well cooked and presented.
We will definitely be returning. The hotel's location on the sea front is very good and over breakfast we could see the fishermen unloading their catches.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markothemag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your excellent feedback. I will of course share with the team. Please do stay in touch and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I can't recommend The White Lion Hotel enough. I was mixing Business with Pleasure and this was the perfect destination. Decor is high standard. Food was out of this world!!! Staff were very friendly and helpful. I stayed in November. I'm guessing it's even more lively in Summer. Recommended. Aldeburgh is a special place indeed!

Room Tip: Room number 1 offers a gorgeous sea view, though be aware you are directly above the restaurant / ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Wow, amazing words. That you very much. I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2013

If you want good food, outstanding service from very attentive, polite and caring staff then the White Lion is the place to be. The rooms are excellent and the sea views are unparalleled. Aldeburgh is unchanged over the many years we have been visiting and it is a delight to spend time just being. Lots to do and not to do if that is what is required. The White Lion is in a superb location and the hotel lives up to every expectation.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms do what it says on the tin! Great! The lift goes to the 2nd floor only, so beware...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillR8899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Thank you for your review, I am pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us. I will share your feedback to the team. They will be delighted to read your comments. I hope to see you again soon. Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Idaho
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

My wife and I were in Aldeburgh for three nights (for the Aldeburgh Poetry Festival). The White Lion's staff were among the most kind, polite, and helpful people we have ever encountered anywhere, in any country. When we got in late one night, the manager cobbled together a late meal for us, though the kitchen was long closed. They were remarkably eager not so much to serve, but to take care of their guests. We would happily stay at the White Lion again.

Room Tip: THe only thing "excellent" about the pool is that it is the North Sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert35539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. Do please stay in touch and we all look forward to seeing you again very soon. Have a great Christmas too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed at the hotel last weekend and had a very nice experience overall. The staff were helpful and accommodation. We had booked a double sea view room and had to change as the size of the bed was ridiculously small - OK so we are both just over 6' but even shorter people could not have been comfortable in the tiny double bed - especially if they are at all "wide". I think it would be good to advise guests in advance of the smallness of this, and any other bed as an upgrade to a larger bed would be advisable. We found the receptionist extremely accommodating and she was more than happy to swap us to a non sea facing room with a larger bed. Had this not been the case, I don't think we could have stayed - especially as we had our 2 dogs with us and the size of the room would have made us very uncomfortable. This issue was, however, dealt with very professionally and to our satisfaction.

The food that we had for dinner and breakfast really was very good. It is such a shame that the restaurant area has nasty cheap furniture as it would really benefit from a make over in that respect. Better quality furniture would really complement the lovely food and friendly service of the staff.

I agree with another reviewer that the formica furniture found throughout is really quite tacky and not up the standard one would expect from this hotel.

Location wise, it was perfect for us. Just across the road is the dog friendly part of the beach which was excellent for late night, early morning walks.

Parking was easy although regard should be had to the time of year we visited.

We had a lovely walk, on a sunny Sunday, to Thorpe Ness and back which the dogs also thoroughly enjoyed. It only takes about 45 mins (allowing for the dogs to get their fill of sniffing!!)

Overall, the running and the service at the hotel cannot be faulted but the furniture definitely needs updating to make a vast improvement and gain a true 4 score.

We had a lovely time and would definitely recommend this hotel - especially during the Winter months when Aldeburgh is less of a circus.

Room Tip: Ask about the size of the bed and the room overall!! Best to go for larger non sea view if necessar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treacle1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Our whole experience was wonderful. The staff are really friendly and nothing was any trouble at all. Our room was well appointed, lovely and warm. The food was delicious and always served with a smile. The chef made a special effort for our dietary needs. Parking was no problem at all, the hotel is across the beach and easy to find, and is accessible for people with physical disabilities. We will definately return and for a longer time. Thank you White Lion Staff - you are a credit to the hotel!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are best, especially Room 14. Room 19 has a dual aspect and is vey quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 777Nicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you for kind words. I will share your comments to the team. It was a real pleasure to see you again. We all look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.5 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
12.9 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
1.8 mi away
Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel
20.1 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Lion Hotel

Property: The White Lion Hotel
Address: Market Cross Place, Aldeburgh IP15 5BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The White Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Aldeburgh
Aldeburgh Best Western
The White Lion Hotel Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing