We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Valentines Evening”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The White Lion Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We have just returned from The White Lion at Aldeburgh having spent Valentines night at the ball and an overnight stay.
First the ball: My wife said she cannot remember such a great evening for a long time, the food was very good as was the house wine, the staff were very attentive and we can only describe the service as excellent. The room was nicely decorated and although full managed to maintain the intimate setting the evening required. The entertainment which was a two piece group from Ipswich were obviously an Everley Brothers tribute band and they soon had the dance floor busy. The entertainment completed a great evening.
The Hotel: We had not stayed here before but will return. Booking in was a pleasant experience and we were made to feel welcome. The room, which had a sea view, was a good size with a Super King bed and nice en suite. We both had a good nights sleep and woke to a fantastic view of a very windy seafront and beach. We had breakfast in the hotel restaurant, everything was fresh and well prepared and I did not need to eat again until late in the evening. The general areas of the hotel were clean and well presented and the staff were brilliant. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: We had room 12 at the front of the hotel. The room is a good size and the view from the window is gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scabadoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,514)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

786 - 792 of 1,514 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

Although not our first stay at the hotel, this was our first timed at a themed event in this hotel. From the moment we arrived to when we left the next morning, the service was excellent. We weren't sure what to expect at the dinner. The set seating plan meant we were able to share an evening of conversation and sharing stories with other couples, rather than just being sat on our own. The short, introductory speeches helped set the relaxing mood for the evening without being over-fussy. Although young, the staff serving at breakfast on the Sunday morning were excellent, very attentive and could not be faulted. We will be back.

Room Tip: Our room was at the end of two corridors with a few up and down steps along the way. Although not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Myself and other half spent the night after Valentine enjoying a champagne dinner visit to this lovely hotel. Right on the seafront with great views stretching along the coast, it was just such a shame we arrived to constant downpours of rain and wind all afternoon. We had a warm welcome from Niki on reception who promised us a treat indeed later. She certainly did not disappoint as we enjoyed a fab evening of fine foods, champagne and new friends met along the way. Our room although small was cosy, clean and for the first time ever (and we do take breaks away a great deal through the year) we had Sky channels on the tv. Plenty of teas coffees and biscuits, and good quality toiletries in the bathroom, alongside warm fluffy bathrobes. The breakfast next morning was very good, my partner choosing a full English with locally sourced produce, and myself smoked kippers. We even managed to squeeze in a refreshing walk along the seafront, and bought home smoked fish from a smokery on the front, as a reminder of our lovely stay. We had a super time at The White Lion Hotel and Aldeburgh. Huge thanks to Peter the manager, Niki on reception and of course the rest of the team who made our stay so good.

Room Tip: We requested a quiet room which was absolutely what we got, although not seafront, it was small and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Our 3rd year at the White Lion and once again, lovely. We will be back, 'White Back'
Staff attentive and so obliging, nothings too much trouble.
Food amazing! the evening meals are lush, look special and taste just as special. Its nice to be able to choose from either menus too. The restaurant manageress is a treasure.
Rooms are clean and comfortable, all the little extras there. We stayed in an inland room again, which was fine, however we are going to treat ourselves and stay in a seaview room next year!
A lovely place to stay with beautiful walks and the sea....so close.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAUL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Stayed here with my partner as a birthday treat-7th and 8th Feb. We stayed on the £149 per night deal. This included afternoon tea, dinner ,wine and breakfast.
Booking in was fine done efficently by nice receptionist and your bag was carried to room as there were few staircasea to navigate.
ROOM
This was adequate clean and warm. I did ask cleaning staff for feather pillows the next morning as ones supplied were rather hard. She did this happily for us.

AFTERNOON TEA
We were supplied with vouchers for this. This also was adequate-However is was obviouse that we were on the special deal as on both occations sandwiches only contained cheese and egg and was served on plate rather than a stand. Also we were not asked what type of tea we would prefer.
DINNER
We were surprised to know that we could chose our three courses from the main menu.which was very good.Although servise was a little slow the food was cooked from fresh and the dinning room was full. Wine was of good quality.
DINNER SECOND NIGHT
It took a while to be seated but we had changed to a later time and were happy to sit with our wine while we waited. Before we were taken to our table we were informed that due to a large number of people visiting as part of big groups and taking advantage of the special offer there was no steak as option. We were a little disappointed but plenty else to chose. too. Servise this night was hit and miss it several staff attended to use rather than one waiter/waitress. We had to wait a long time for our meal.

BREAKFAST
First morning - lovely-waitress service and lots of choice. Good quality ingredients cooked and presented to a high standard.
SECOND MORNING BREAKFAST-BAD
Im sorry to say this experience was a let down. We waited at least 40 minutes for our hot food. We were told it was because our order was behind those of the large groups(Who had eaten all the steak the previous night!!)When our fod eventually arrived it was not to the same standard as the previous morning. Had to have poach eggs replaced as were very hard-they were done again quickly though.

The younge lady managing for the time we were there was appologetic for the issues we experienced.
In general we felt that the quality of service we recieved was inferior to that of the larger groups. Which was a shame as its a lovely hotel in one of our favorite places.


DINNER SECOND NIGHT

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise635679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Stayed Sunday night in a standard sea view room that was nice and spacious. Bed was very comfortable. There was a pleasant lounge with ample seating area. Situation just across the road from the beach was perfect and traffic was very light and parking easy off season. Dinner in the restaurant was good although wines were on the expensive side. Breakfast was excellent. A good experience and we will return.

Room Tip: Worth choosing a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sasha220221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This was our third year that we have spent a weekend at the White Lion . this year there was eight of us . We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.The staff were very friendly and attentive , the food was good,the weather good what more could we have asked for.We had some friends join us for Sunday lunch so there was eleven of us, this was also excellent. Well done everyone at the White Lion.

Room Tip: splash out on a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norfolkfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.5 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,049 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
689 reviews
20.1 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
835 reviews
1.8 mi away
Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel
8.5 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Lion Hotel

Address: Market Cross Place, Aldeburgh IP15 5BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Price Range: £103 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The White Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Aldeburgh
Aldeburgh Best Western
The White Lion Hotel Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing