We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A couple of days away with mother-in-law”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The White Lion Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Hadn't been here for a very long time and found it totally refurbisherd and remodelled. 10/10 for this. Marvellously situated for walking into town or into the sea.
All our bedrooms were up to 4 star standard as was the service from all members of staff that we encountered. The only downside was there was no smoked fish on the bank holiday Monday breakfast despite the fact that there was a number of outlets not 50 yards away all open. This aside our stay was excellent, totally suitable for our disabled mother/mother-in-law and we would most certainly stay there again. Many thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swifty2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,514)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

707 - 713 of 1,514 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

Been here several times. Always enjoyed our stay. Hotel is clean,comfortable and friendly. Hotel food is excellent. We had a room with a sea view. Lovely. Just a couple of minor gripes. No bran flakes or brown sauce at breakfast. Could have popped down to the local store. Don't be put of though,great hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view Room 24
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonno1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Lovely hotel, extremely friendly and helpful staff. Very good breakfast and dinner and even left an Easter egg in every room. All very good and would recommend to friends. Easy parking opposite hotel.
Sally

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the hotel but was seagull noise free!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The White Lion is a great place to stay with children and dogs. A stones throw from the beach and a short walk into town. The food was very good, staff very welcoming and the decor bright and up to date. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cas100168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed for 1 night over Easter weekend in April 2014. When we arrived our room was ready before check in time, which was great. We stayed in an inland room which was very clean and tidy and more than suited our needs. Lunch in the hotel brasserie was very tasty and reasonably priced. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. Breakfast in the morning was amazing. Location was also very good. Overall it was a fantastic night away.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaylie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Just returned home from our second lovely stay at the white lion hotel, couldn't have asked for more! Lovely location and the sea view from the room is beautiful. Clean room and staff couldn't have been more welcoming. Evening meal and breakfast were very nice and it was good not to be rushed out once finished. Defiantly will be returning, hopefully in the summer :)

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdeleMarples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Having been for a wedding about 18 months ago we had promised ourselves a return visit and we weren't disappointed. The food was of a good standard and well presented. The staff were helpful and friendly. The dining room is nicely decorated. The hotel is well situated for a walk along the sea front afterwards. The meal was reasonably priced. My parents enjoyed it so much they are hoping to go back for father's day. I would be happy to take them.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CazJBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.5 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,049 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
689 reviews
20.1 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
835 reviews
1.8 mi away
Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel
8.5 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Lion Hotel

Address: Market Cross Place, Aldeburgh IP15 5BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Price Range: £103 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your The White Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Aldeburgh
Aldeburgh Best Western
The White Lion Hotel Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing