We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The White Lion Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Wentworth Hotel(Aldeburgh)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rosemary Cottage(Aldeburgh)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown & Castle(Orford)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,547)
Filter reviews
1,547 results
Traveller rating
858
494
147
37
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
858
494
147
37
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewsea frontafternoon teafishold buildingbreakfast was excellentevening meallovely hotelwithout exceptionstayed for one nightcomfortable roomstaff were excellentkippersweekend breakfirst classshingle beachsecond visit
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
723 - 728 of 1,547 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Warm welcome from young and friendly staff on this rather grey weekend. The room had the promised sea-view and bottle of fizz - very cheering. Time for a freezing dip in the sea then and a look round the town before an excellent supper - the chef is to be complimented. Papers delivered in the morning - huge choice of tempting breakfast recipes - can recommend Pinneys Kippers highly.
Altogether such a good location and fantastic staff - we had a great time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosemary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We have visited the White Lion several times in recent years and love the location. The hotel is friendly and comfortable. We were not so happy with the new restaurant as prices were much higher and portions were small - after the first evening we decided to eat elsewhere. The staff are very helpful and friendly. We hope to come back again soon.

Room Tip: The top floor with a sea view is best.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Fantastic situation right on the seafront with many rooms having a view across the sea. We know that some refurbishment of the hotel has been undertaken but in places it still looks a little tired. Our room was at the front and roomy without being large. The room was clean and practical.The service was very good and the food (we stayed half board) was really excellent.
Our only slight worry was the lack of flexibility in the time that we wanted to have dinner.The receptionist was somewhat blunt in her attitude when we ask if there could be some leeway say a quarter of an hour or so. We do understand this reasoning when the hotel is busy but during our stay this was not the case.This was a minor irritation and would not stop us returning to the hotel again. A lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: We think there are better rooms but at a price
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

With an excellent position on the seafront, easy parking and well appointed rooms, this hotel already satisfies most criteria. However, add the friendly and attentive staff and the really excellent food and you have somewhere in Aldeburgh that you can return to again and again.
We had a seafront double room, which was quiet and very comfortable. Our dog came too and was left a large bone shaped biscuit as a welcome gift, which I thought a lovely touch. Although there was a music show on for one evening of our stay we did not hear a thing from our room (with an open window), which was most impressive.
My only niggle was that the shower was not as powerful as I am used to, however, that is a small detail and is a very personal thing.
Not the cheapest of venues but well worth the cost and having stayed in various hotels in Aldeburgh in the past, The White Lion will be my only choice in the future. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: the seaview rooms are worth the extra.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

A very nice hotel with friendly, helpful and thoughtful staff. Comfortable, good sized room that was immaculately clean and nicely appointed. Room was well aired before our arrival and heating was very effective. Breakfast service was high quality, plentiful and very enjoyable. Not the cheapest option in the area but great value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews