We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for quiet weekend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The White Lion Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Perfect for quiet weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I booked the White Lion for a weekend break, based on internet reviews as a first time visitor to Aldeburgh. I was a little nervous when I received a call from them a couple of weeks before our stay to let me know that there was going to be a wedding party taking place - but had a chat with them hotel and they just gave me the details and I felt much more reassured. After all, not many places would take the trouble to give advanced warning, and they kindly agreed to my request for a slightly later check out to thank me for my "understanding".
In any case, I needn't have worried. The White Lion seems to combine personal touches without being fussy or intrusive, but still retains the character of the building and location. Fantastic spot, overlooking the beach, smart decor without pretending to be something it isn't, small but well equipped room and bathroom. All very comfortable and welcoming. In the end, the wedding noise was minimal, I've stayed in much noisier places without any prior warning or apology!
Not a cheap option but not unreasonable either in my opinion. Would definitely return and recommend to others looking for a quiet bolt hole.

Room Tip: Seafront rooms cost a bit more but worth it - hey, you're by the sea so pay the extra for the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizM99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    779
    437
    126
    33
    11
See reviews for
175
855
27
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (557)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pevensey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

This lovely seafront hotel is beautifully presented and the staff were not only efficient but also delightful, personable and friendly. The bar and restaurant are pleasantly appointed and there is a very interesting selection of artwork in both (and elsewhere in the building too). Dining in the hotel was relaxing and most of the dishes we sampled were very good. The River Deben mussels were the best mussels I've ever tasted. Sleeping was problematic but that was due to the seagulls - we couldn't blame the White Lion!

Room Tip: Check room accessibility because the lift does not serve all parts of the hotel. Ask for a sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jubbly100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

lovely hotel fantastic food, wonderful service. weather was kind o us, room 2 has a fire exit sign in it which is lit 24hrs so staff very kindly got us a room change for one with sea view, brilliant two days and nights, would stay again.

Room Tip: aviod room 2 if you need a dark room in which to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Had an excellent three nights in the White Lion, lovely room, superb breakfast and very friendly and attentive staff. Good ales and evening meal was good value. My only really slight gripe was the pillows were hard.

Room Tip: Room 24 sea view and good al round room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Location, food and service excellent.
We stayed in Superior Sea View (12A) fantastic views but getting to the point where it needs a refubishment and smartening up - the great location makes up for this.
The staff were very good and 'switched on'.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark-Lowestoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Spent 4 days with a group attending the Britten Festival 2014. In every way the hotel was excellent. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The sea facing room was spacious and clean with all facilities and free wi-fi. The ensuite must have been refurbished very recently. The food was excellent with a comprehenisive menu. Breakfast was served and not buffet style. Dinner was served before and after a trip to a concert to accommodate us.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arku77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

The White Lion staff could not have been more helpful in making it possible for us to enjoy our stay. My husband has restricted mobility: they gave us a room near the lift, the room itself was spacious with a good inland view and the bathroom very well equipped with a walk -in shower and lots of grab handles. We liked the light dining room and the breakfast was excellent - and of course, the position is great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patriciak27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.5 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
20.1 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
12.9 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Thorpeness Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Lion Hotel

Property: The White Lion Hotel
Address: Market Cross Place, Aldeburgh IP15 5BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The White Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Aldeburgh
Aldeburgh Best Western
The White Lion Hotel Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing