We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ocean House

Ocean House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aldeburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ocean House
Ranked #9 of 18 Aldeburgh B&B and Inns
Weston, Herts
Level Contributor
115 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

I chose this venue to stay because it is very obviously a homely B&B run by a dedicted couple. Not having a direct online booking facility is a great plus and emailing or ringing Phil or Juliet is a much more personal and direct.
We were given a very friendly welcome and shown to our room on the first floor which had the best sea view I have ever had. Plenty of tea, coffee, hot chocolate and more in the room which was clean and tidy. It is not a hotel and does not try to be one. It is honest and friendly and the right price for the location. Breakfast was huge and prepared on demand. Phil's homemade bread and scones are delightful which were accompanied by homemade preserves. Will definitely look to stay here again but for a longer time on next visit.
It is by no means perfect, but any faults found would always be dealt with by Phil or Juliet who were a really pleasant couple. Highly recommend this to non pretentious folk, they should stay in Thorpeness!

Room Tip: Either of front two rooms have best views ever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RupertTBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    17
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Had the good fortune to be staying when the Aldeburgh festival was getting underway. Had a great time watching the rehearsals for the performance of the opera-Peter Grimes, only wish we could have stayed at Ocean House for the final performance! Juliet is very welcoming and helpful, her breakfasts are brilliant and she is a mine of information about what is going on, where to eat etc. The room was comfortable and had everything we needed. A great place to stay if you want the beach on right on your doorstep and the convenience of the town a short walk way.
Will recommend this to friends and we hope to get back as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the sea are lovely. There is one twin room/double room, one double room as well a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hesket06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

I came here as a surprise for my girlfriend who had not been to Aldeburgh before.

The people who owned the b and b were away on holiday I think (this was April 2010) and it was being looked after by a friend who was very welcoming and was very helpful.

The room's decor was perhaps a little dated but still tasteful and infinitely preferable to the 'spa' type whitewash rooms you get.

we were very lucky to have the 1st floor bay window room - which was spacious and comfortable.

We explored the town and the b and b is so close to everything it is very convenient (parking was a bit more tricky but still easy to sort if you speak to the owners in advance).

The food in Aldeburgh is very good however |i would recommend what we did, and that was go for some legendary fish and chips and eat it in the room ,as there was sufficient table space - that way we could enjoy the amazing view.

the local pubs are very good and a pint of adnams is a must.


The best part however was the sunrise - the suffolk coast faces due east and although it meant an early rise, we woke to see the sun beaming in over the sea, really quite spectacular. then i abruptly went back to sleep again.

Even at 8 am the view was still outstanding. breakfast was very good too - locally sourced which is a big plus for me - not least because Suffolk produces the best bacon and sausages in the world.

Room Tip: see above!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PedLimBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

Phil and Juliet made us feel very welcome, and the view from the room was fantastic, right on the Beach. Breakfast was really nice, plentiful and the home-made bread & marmalades excellent. Tea & Coffee in the room was a nice touch, Ocean House has the feel of a family home... which it clearly is... Aldeburgh is a really beautiful place and well worth a visit. Ocean House is definitely good value for money for the area....

Room Tip: Beautiful location, right on the beach.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TKKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

Lovely room, fantastic view from front and side window. We stayed in the twin room, as a double. The en-suite was good, although the shower cubicle was only just big enough. So peaceful at night. Breakfast was wonderful - unusual choices of cooked breakfast. Out of the door and onto the beach.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

The view from our room was amazing, possibly the best I've ever had. The hosts (and other guests) were very friendly and the breakfast was good - homemade bread was so good!

Only downside is the room decor which is tired and needs updating. The bed was old and the shower was not great. It was a struggle to wash your hair in it! There no toiletries except and an already opened bar of soap for us to use in the shower - we weren't going to use that!

I thought it was pretty expensive for a B&B out of season (£120 per night per room @ weekend) but I think Aldeburgh is just an expensive place to stay.

Aldburgh is a lovely place and I will definitely go back one day.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsL99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

We found the Ocean House quite by accident and booked at the last minute, we had the top floor for us and three teenage children. The owners are fabulous, very welcoming, they certainly make you feel at home. Breakfast was wonderful, the homemade salmon fishcakes and homemade bread and preserves all lovely as was the full english, a great stay.

Room Tip: We had the top floor which is lovely, it was carnival night so very noisy but we had expected that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.3 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
0.3 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel
8.8 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean House

Property: Ocean House
Address: 25 Crag Path, Aldeburgh IP15 5BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Aldeburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Ocean House Hotel Aldeburgh
Ocean House Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing