We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location”
Review of Ocean House

Ocean House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aldeburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ocean House
Ranked #9 of 17 Aldeburgh B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
1,042 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,456 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The Ocean House B&B is a quaint white 2 storey victorian house in a beautiful seafront location with views from all 4 rooms as does the breakfast room.
Juliet and Phil were very helpful and friendly with good suggestions on restaurants.
We were in the twin room at the front which had a large comfortable bed and lovely old world decor.
The bathroom was very small, the shower was tiny and the toilet was very noisy it could do with some serious updating.
Breakfast was delicious cooked to order including fruit, cereal, yoghurt, fish cakes, omelettes, sausages and eggs.
This is a great little B&B on the seafront which would be even better with some bathroom renovations.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lindakthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    17
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I can't think of a nicer place to spend a weekend by the sea. The hosts are a charming couple who go out of their way to make your stay memorable. The rooms that overlook the sea have stunning views that add to a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mazdamichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

We booked Ocean House with just a few hours notice for one night only. All rooms have sea views from beautiful bay sash windows with window seats. When I saw our room I loved it. Very typically English, light and airy and pretty shabby-chic (the real deal, not faked from Oliver Bonas). View was stunning. Good tea and coffee making facilities with some nice biscuits. The owners were away and Ocean House had been left in the very capable hands of Ray and Mary who were most hospitable. The only thing I wasn't keen on was the en suite bathroom. It was slightly cramped and the retro fitted toilet had some kind of macerator on it which made such a racket when used. This was a minor point and overall it was a lovely stay. Breakfast was very nice, shared table with other guests isn't my favourite but it was fine. Parking is available in front of the house and everything you need is within walking distance. A good find.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ManamaClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

A return visit to Ocean house, our third. Having not been back to Aldeburgh since 2006, my wife and I thought a 3 day stay immediately after the festival might be a good time to go. Phil and Juliet the owners are properly old school and make 'hospitality' seem so effortless- it is a true delight to be in a B&B that makes you feel so at home. The breakfast choices are beyond extensive- including kedgeree, fishcakes, breakfast scones- dishes you rarely find as options. We took the top floor suite, 'Topsy' with a sitting room featuring a baby grand piano- fantastic views. The guest book bears testimony that many guests, like us return time and time again. The house is a little old fashioned and could probably do with updating, but the prices are very reasonable and if presented as a boutique hotel would be a lot more money. Does this spoil the Ocean House..............not in the least.

Room Tip: Top floor Suite 'Topsy'
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Herts
Level Contributor
115 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I chose this venue to stay because it is very obviously a homely B&B run by a dedicted couple. Not having a direct online booking facility is a great plus and emailing or ringing Phil or Juliet is a much more personal and direct.
We were given a very friendly welcome and shown to our room on the first floor which had the best sea view I have ever had. Plenty of tea, coffee, hot chocolate and more in the room which was clean and tidy. It is not a hotel and does not try to be one. It is honest and friendly and the right price for the location. Breakfast was huge and prepared on demand. Phil's homemade bread and scones are delightful which were accompanied by homemade preserves. Will definitely look to stay here again but for a longer time on next visit.
It is by no means perfect, but any faults found would always be dealt with by Phil or Juliet who were a really pleasant couple. Highly recommend this to non pretentious folk, they should stay in Thorpeness!

Room Tip: Either of front two rooms have best views ever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RupertTBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Had the good fortune to be staying when the Aldeburgh festival was getting underway. Had a great time watching the rehearsals for the performance of the opera-Peter Grimes, only wish we could have stayed at Ocean House for the final performance! Juliet is very welcoming and helpful, her breakfasts are brilliant and she is a mine of information about what is going on, where to eat etc. The room was comfortable and had everything we needed. A great place to stay if you want the beach on right on your doorstep and the convenience of the town a short walk way.
Will recommend this to friends and we hope to get back as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the sea are lovely. There is one twin room/double room, one double room as well a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hesket06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

I came here as a surprise for my girlfriend who had not been to Aldeburgh before.

The people who owned the b and b were away on holiday I think (this was April 2010) and it was being looked after by a friend who was very welcoming and was very helpful.

The room's decor was perhaps a little dated but still tasteful and infinitely preferable to the 'spa' type whitewash rooms you get.

we were very lucky to have the 1st floor bay window room - which was spacious and comfortable.

We explored the town and the b and b is so close to everything it is very convenient (parking was a bit more tricky but still easy to sort if you speak to the owners in advance).

The food in Aldeburgh is very good however |i would recommend what we did, and that was go for some legendary fish and chips and eat it in the room ,as there was sufficient table space - that way we could enjoy the amazing view.

the local pubs are very good and a pint of adnams is a must.


The best part however was the sunrise - the suffolk coast faces due east and although it meant an early rise, we woke to see the sun beaming in over the sea, really quite spectacular. then i abruptly went back to sleep again.

Even at 8 am the view was still outstanding. breakfast was very good too - locally sourced which is a big plus for me - not least because Suffolk produces the best bacon and sausages in the world.

Room Tip: see above!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PedLimBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.3 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
0.3 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel
8.8 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean House

Property: Ocean House
Address: 25 Crag Path, Aldeburgh IP15 5BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Aldeburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Ocean House Hotel Aldeburgh
Ocean House Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing