We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Location and Charming Hosts.”
Review of Ocean House

Ocean House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aldeburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ocean House
Ranked #9 of 17 Aldeburgh B&B and Inns
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
303 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Wonderful Location and Charming Hosts.”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We have just had two nights in Phil & Julie'ts home. It is not a hotel, but is their home and bears all the features that display their history and character. We had the top suite with its marvelous sea views from each room. It was so peaceful at night and the sunrise was stunning. The breakfasts were really good and plentiful, with home made bread and home made marmalade, and lovely fresh fish.
They are an amazing couple, and very helpful.
As everyone says - this is not a hotel with plain rooms, it is their home.

Room Tip: If you can afford the top suite then go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulandsonja2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    17
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Ocean House is a homely Guest House whose proprietors welcomed us with great care. We booked a room on the first floor with fabulous views over the sea and whilst the wind blew violently during our stay (three nights) the room remained warm and cosy and the whining added to the sense of being cosily protected from the elements. Others have commented on the fact that the decor isn't 'boutique', rather it's a home that reflects the lives of the owners.

Breakfast in the family dining room was plentiful and excellent, with the unusual possibility of kedgeree.(untried) and the home-made bread and preserves were excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francisjon46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Stayed at Ocean House for 3 nights in the top suite ("Topsy") Great views of the sea from no less than 5 windows - which in itself was probably worth the price. A tad cluttered and dated in decor but very much the lifetime memorabilia of the hosts Phil and Juliet - who were welcoming and friendly. Aldeburgh has a quirky personality of its own and if you strike lucky with the weather its a great place for a short break. We dined at the Wentworth at Phil's recomendation wich does a great value fixed price menu on a sunday evening.Also lots of nice small pubs serving reaasonable pub food and good Adnams beers. My guess is it could quickly become uncomfortably over crowded in the summer months and during festival time but as an out of season short break I would recommend both the place and the accomodation...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phil l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
1,042 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,456 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The Ocean House B&B is a quaint white 2 storey victorian house in a beautiful seafront location with views from all 4 rooms as does the breakfast room.
Juliet and Phil were very helpful and friendly with good suggestions on restaurants.
We were in the twin room at the front which had a large comfortable bed and lovely old world decor.
The bathroom was very small, the shower was tiny and the toilet was very noisy it could do with some serious updating.
Breakfast was delicious cooked to order including fruit, cereal, yoghurt, fish cakes, omelettes, sausages and eggs.
This is a great little B&B on the seafront which would be even better with some bathroom renovations.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lindakthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I can't think of a nicer place to spend a weekend by the sea. The hosts are a charming couple who go out of their way to make your stay memorable. The rooms that overlook the sea have stunning views that add to a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mazdamichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

We booked Ocean House with just a few hours notice for one night only. All rooms have sea views from beautiful bay sash windows with window seats. When I saw our room I loved it. Very typically English, light and airy and pretty shabby-chic (the real deal, not faked from Oliver Bonas). View was stunning. Good tea and coffee making facilities with some nice biscuits. The owners were away and Ocean House had been left in the very capable hands of Ray and Mary who were most hospitable. The only thing I wasn't keen on was the en suite bathroom. It was slightly cramped and the retro fitted toilet had some kind of macerator on it which made such a racket when used. This was a minor point and overall it was a lovely stay. Breakfast was very nice, shared table with other guests isn't my favourite but it was fine. Parking is available in front of the house and everything you need is within walking distance. A good find.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ManamaClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

A return visit to Ocean house, our third. Having not been back to Aldeburgh since 2006, my wife and I thought a 3 day stay immediately after the festival might be a good time to go. Phil and Juliet the owners are properly old school and make 'hospitality' seem so effortless- it is a true delight to be in a B&B that makes you feel so at home. The breakfast choices are beyond extensive- including kedgeree, fishcakes, breakfast scones- dishes you rarely find as options. We took the top floor suite, 'Topsy' with a sitting room featuring a baby grand piano- fantastic views. The guest book bears testimony that many guests, like us return time and time again. The house is a little old fashioned and could probably do with updating, but the prices are very reasonable and if presented as a boutique hotel would be a lot more money. Does this spoil the Ocean House..............not in the least.

Room Tip: Top floor Suite 'Topsy'
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.3 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
0.3 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel
8.8 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean House

Property: Ocean House
Address: 25 Crag Path, Aldeburgh IP15 5BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Aldeburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Ocean House Hotel Aldeburgh
Ocean House Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing