We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“P Savs”
Review of Munchies

Munchies
Ranked #14 of 30 Restaurants in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$9
Cuisines: Fast food, Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Munchies has happily been open for 14 years We have an EHO rating of 5 Stars Local produce from Suffolk and Norfolk suppliers, prepared fresh daily on view by our team of three chefs. Eat in or Takeaway. We make a huge range of Sandwiches, Toasties and Panini’s and our huge fluffy locally baked bread & Breakfast Baps are filled to busting. We are most popular for our full or mini Suffolk English Breakfasts with freshly squeezed orange juice and toast also our home baked morning pastries hand rolled Suffolk Pork Jumbo Sausage Rolls and Cornish Pasties. We also provide a daily Jacket potato, gluten free meals for only £6.20 eat in and £3.95 to go. In the summer months we have a salad bar full of fresh local produce including gluten free salads and Jacket Potato’s We also provide outside catering and have a large selection of hand made ready meals made with Suffolk produce. We are child friendly with lots of toys and coloring in pads and high chairs. We love and welcome dogs throughout the cafe. We have 'roasted to order' Italian crema coffee beans for your Barita coffee. We provide daily newspapers and a rack for local businesses to fill with 'what's on in Aldeburgh' and Suffolk information. Ideal for business meetings breakfast, lunch or tea Ideal for mums to meet with children Free Wi-Fi We have 35 amazing Organic Jing Teas Award winning ice cream flavors from the famous Lakenham Creamery. We provide waitress table service and we have a ten-table cafe with a front and rear terrace to watch the World go by. We have and extensive range of local soft drinks and beers and we make our own local yoghurt smoothies and ice cream thick shakes. We run a loyalty scheme and provide outside catering services. We look forward to seeing you soon Susie Medland Owner
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“P Savs”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

This is the first time I've visited Aldeburgh. I came to Munchies for a light lunch with my partner. The place looked clean, friendly and inviting with an appealing yet short menu. However, the food was not of a high enough standard to warrant the prices. Being a chef myself, I know when the ingredients used are not of the quality they should be, especially when the Pannini I had was far from the description given, i.e spicy meatballs with a tomato sauce, mozzarella. The meatballs were just a form of substandard sausage meat with no distinctive texture or flavour and the rest including the bread was so bland and average it was comparable to a Subway product. Not nice. What was even more annoying was the price of £6.10 which is more than something I'd pay for in high quality cafe in central London where I happen to live. Absurd and unjustified. My partner's poached salmon sandwich was better but again, bland and unremarkable. Its a real shame because as a cafe the staff are very friendly and attentive and it has a nice feel about it but the thing that should make it stand out proved to be its biggest failing and being in an area of high affluence, it should reflect the standards of quality expected in such a place, whether it's a simple cafe or a fine dining restaurant. However it won't ruin my enjoyment of Aldeburgh and its surroundings.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susie M, Owner at Munchies, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Hi I am so sorry you didn't recognise quality pure suffolk pork meatballs handmade. I hope as a chef you remember this moment of kindness when you receive a slating. Trip advisor is for constructive criticism through to total praise. Your words reflect your first review etiquette.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    89
    29
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Simply Awful”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Ordered a crab sandwich which came in at just under £5. The filling was a very thin layer of crab and an awful "slimey" mess which could have been salad but was soaked in a dressing of some sort which bulked up the sandwich but obscured the taste of the crab and made the sandwich soggy. There was one toilet at the back of the restaurant available for both male and female users. At the time of my visit in the early afternoon it was desperately in need of a clean. My complaint re the sandwich fell on deaf ears.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank stratrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susie M, Owner at Munchies, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
We are all very sad to read your views especially after such an amazing review the day before your visit :((( so sorry it wasn't a good experience for you.
Please could you contact me direct for a full refund
Susie Medland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
110 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“What a lovely place to have lunch”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We ate in this Sandwich Bar today.
After the frosty" could not care less" attitude of the other Sandwich Bars and Tea Rooms in Aldeburgh it was nice to greeted by staff with a friendly welcome.
I had a Egg Moyo and mustard cress sandwich which was packed with free range fresh farm eggs in a very good brown bread and accompanied with a small but tasty salad.
My partner had a New York deli salt beef with sweet pickled cucumber sandwich and again it was packed with salt beef in a very good brown bread and accompanied with a small but tasty salad.
The Tea was excellent as was my partners " giant" cappuccino.
If you are in Aldeburgh and want a decent sandwich in a lovely friendly atmosphere then this is the place for you.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ztilb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susie M, Owner at Munchies, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you so much for this fantastic review. We all really appreciate your kind words. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coggeshall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place good coffee”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Popped in with kids for a hot drink and cake.
Coffee was excellent.
Cake and muffin ok, just your normal fayre.
Busy place but good service.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ikinsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susie M, Owner at Munchies, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you so much for this fantastic review. We all really appreciate your kind words. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Small but good value”
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

A great breezy February day in Aldeborough, Munchies was a lovely retreat for a light lunch. The charm of the place is partly the slightly eccentric and friendly management, but the food is very good and surprisingly original for such a tiny kitchen. Great value.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChCath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Munchies also viewed

 

Been to Munchies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing