We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always a great brunch”
Review of Munchies

Munchies
Ranked #14 of 30 Restaurants in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$9
Cuisines: Fast food, Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Munchies has happily been open for 14 years We have an EHO rating of 5 Stars Local produce from Suffolk and Norfolk suppliers, prepared fresh daily on view by our team of three chefs. Eat in or Takeaway. We make a huge range of Sandwiches, Toasties and Panini’s and our huge fluffy locally baked bread & Breakfast Baps are filled to busting. We are most popular for our full or mini Suffolk English Breakfasts with freshly squeezed orange juice and toast also our home baked morning pastries hand rolled Suffolk Pork Jumbo Sausage Rolls and Cornish Pasties. We also provide a daily Jacket potato, gluten free meals for only £6.20 eat in and £3.95 to go. In the summer months we have a salad bar full of fresh local produce including gluten free salads and Jacket Potato’s We also provide outside catering and have a large selection of hand made ready meals made with Suffolk produce. We are child friendly with lots of toys and coloring in pads and high chairs. We love and welcome dogs throughout the cafe. We have 'roasted to order' Italian crema coffee beans for your Barita coffee. We provide daily newspapers and a rack for local businesses to fill with 'what's on in Aldeburgh' and Suffolk information. Ideal for business meetings breakfast, lunch or tea Ideal for mums to meet with children Free Wi-Fi We have 35 amazing Organic Jing Teas Award winning ice cream flavors from the famous Lakenham Creamery. We provide waitress table service and we have a ten-table cafe with a front and rear terrace to watch the World go by. We have and extensive range of local soft drinks and beers and we make our own local yoghurt smoothies and ice cream thick shakes. We run a loyalty scheme and provide outside catering services. We look forward to seeing you soon Susie Medland Owner
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“always a great brunch”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We go here every time we are in Aldeburgh and always have the same brunch. Its a great place, very friendly, well priced and the service is always good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susiemarc, Owner at Munchies, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Thank you so much for your positive, upbeat review.
The team were so excited we all had a little glass of bubbly after work to say thank you to you !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    89
    29
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect for when you need a little snack!!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is a perfect retreat when you want a snack, nothing too heavy but when you're hungry but don't want a full restaurant experience! And they let you take your dog in!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susiemarc, Owner at Munchies, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear Matt

Thank you so much for your great positive words about your experience at Munchies
The team were so pleased to read your comments and I am sorry for the late response.
We have had a crazy busy summer and I am just catching up on the jobs that have not been done during the summer holidays !

Thank you again
The Munchies Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
“Inconsistent!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

I've had some fantastic meals at munchies but I've also had a couple of awful experiences. Most of their staff can't do enough to help but one couldn't care less. Being a very regular customer when I initially had a problem I contacted the owner who couldn't have been more helpful offered a refund (which I turned down) and explained it wouldn't happen again. When it did happen again I got a long email full of justifications. I responded and to date it wasn't answered. Food is good, most staff great but some things are pretentious with iPads for ordering (that don't always work), it's expensive for the area and I won't be going back as I expect consistent customer service.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susiemarc, Owner at Munchies, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Hi

We have had ongoing communications through email so I hope we have made some progress with your comments.
We don't always get it right.
As like every other long term customer service lead business we listen and learn all the time.
I have never been more unhappy with the circumstances around your problems at Munchies with a particular staff member that rubs you up the wrong wa,y but they have a heart of gold you are yet to see.
I have addressed these problems as best I can and I hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Tasty vegetarian sandwiches at a fair price”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We bought two vegetarian sandwhiches which were freshly prepared whilst we were waiting. Good ingredients, quick service, fair price. Their ice creams also looked very yummy - maybe next time.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vegetarian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susiemarc, Manager at Munchies, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Hi

Thank you so much for your fantastic review !
It means so much to us all when kindness is positive reviews come in
Thank you again

The Munchies Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb flapjack”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Dropped in for afternoon tea. Coffee good and strong; tea also strong with the pots holding a very generous three cups. The flapjack was superb, stuffed with seeds and pieces of dried fruit (including dates, apricots and cherries) and topped with a drizzle of chocolate. They also offer free WiFi. Service was prompt and friendly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhilofBeestom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susiemarc, Owner at Munchies, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words !
It means so much to us as a team when we have great feed back like yours

Thanks again
The Munchies Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Munchies also viewed

 

Been to Munchies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing