We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fish & Chip heaven”

Aldeburgh Fish and Chips
Ranked #5 of 30 Restaurants in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fish & Chip heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Aldeburgh is a little off the beaten track compared to the packed Southwold and a must do is to go to the Fish and Chip shop. Good news is there are two and if one's shut the other is open(owned by same people).

I had a skinless cod and chips and is was simply fantastic. Beautiful white fish that melts in the mouth and wonderful batter. A healthy portion of chips too. The oil used is light and tasty.

Worth visiting Aldeburgh just to eat these on the front,

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AdeGrays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    137
    78
    53
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leiston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“no other plaice is the same!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Aldeburgh fish and chips from the original oldest chip shop in town. nothing like sitting on the sea wall with chips out of paper, the smell of the sea and vinegar. smashing

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank christine_bL1270VJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We have visited Aldeburgh for years, and always had fish and chips from this chip shop.But I must say that when we bought them from there on Thursday 29th May 2014, they were rather disappointing . Fish did not seem fresh and chips were not that good . I also asked for a carrier , was just given one to put my two lots of fish and chips in, but the people before me had theirs put in carrier for them. Was it just because I was a holiday maker or so they thought I was. My grandparents were born in suffolk so in my eyes I am not a tourist, and even if I was I expect better treatment. Will not go back again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sheila d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A taste of the seaside”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

I have visited Aldeburgh several times over the last couple of years and always stop in here for fish and chips. Over the bank holiday I brought a group of friends and we popped in at 12, luckily just before the queues started I think! Decent piece of cod and tasty chips - nothing to complain about at all. Friendly staff and will definitely be visiting again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Aldeburgh is lovely and we enjoyed our fish n chips on the beach with was great. the food was ok, average I would say, nothing special but ok.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JuliaLondon3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aldeburgh Fish and Chips also viewed

 
Aldeburgh, Suffolk
 

Been to Aldeburgh Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing