We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Relaxed Birthday Weekend”
Review of Laurel House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aldeburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Laurel House
Ranked #8 of 17 Aldeburgh B&B and Inns
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfectly Relaxed Birthday Weekend”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My partner and I stayed at the end of May 2014; a surprise for his birthday. Our room was airy, bright, and well appointed with a comfortable bed. Thoughtful small touches like the fresh flowers from the garden and a jar of cookies were appreciated.
Breakfast was a tempting array of fruit, yoghurt, cheese, cold meat and pastries. Served in the traditional kitchen with its Aga our hosts were helpful and conversational whilst making fresh coffee and tea with offers to lend bikes and help us work out routes for cycling, walking etc. They are knowledgeable about the local area and kindly gave us directions to the best local fish stores, farms (it was asparagus season) and pubs.
The house is only a few minutes walk from the high street and seafront, but is in a quiet residential street - a bonus on a busy, sunny Spring evening when the high street pubs were lively.

Room Tip: A bright, sunny double with a garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed for 2 nights (Fri and Sat) in November 2013. The house is beautifully decorated and our room (double at the back) was large and comfortable. It was quiet with a nice view over the garden. It's located very near the high street and the beach. The breakfast was delicious. The owners recommended walks and gave us maps and also made helpful restaurant/pub suggestions.
Downsides:
- we were told breakfast was at 8.30, we weren't given a choice. Would prefer to be given a time window or asked when we want it.
- we weren't really left alone for breakfast - it felt like we couldn't really talk to each other because the owner was standing so close to us. The breakfast was delicious so it would have been nice to be able to enjoy it in a more relaxed way.
- the room was cold at night and the lighting in the room wasn't very strong which made reading difficult.
- the bathroom isn't en suite (although we realise this is not fixable!)
- we ran out of tea/water/loo roll as it wasn't restocked when the room was cleaned, and had to go looking for it.
These are quite small things but for us just stopped this place being as great as it really could be.
Overall though, a very nice b&b and we enjoyed our stay in Aldeburgh.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BroadBean1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

A lovely couple of nights stay in the Laurel House. My husband and I had the back room and his sister had the front twin. The rooms are large, well equipment and very comfortable. The bathrooms were very large but the shower in the back one is small, but we understand sometimes these things can't be changed. Damian and Christina are perfect hosts and make you feel very welcome. The continental breakfast was really very enjoyable, and sitting in their kitchen to eat chatting to Damian and Christina was nice. Would stay again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EPMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Just returned from a one night stay, it was so relaxing and calm at Laurel House, I felt I had been away much longer. The rooms are beautiful and well equipped. I hope to find an excuse to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antibes, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed here for a weekend in June in order to be close to the action on the occasion of my mother's 80th birthday party. It really was a haven - every time we retreated from the mass family party to the b & b, we appreciated the sense of calm and in a very short time felt ready to venture forth into the fray once more.

Thank you Damian and Cristina, for providing us with a much-needed retreat, delicious and healthy breakfasts and a handle on sanity amidst the maelstrom of a huge family gathering!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fenella12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

A lovely stay in a very comfortable house, Damian and Christina are very helpful and friendly. Super room, tray, bed, bedding, bathroom and shower. The only thing that would have made this even better would have been the bathroom en suite. An excellent location for all of Aldeburgh. The Lighthouse as recommended by Christina was excellent.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank holtimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2012

I stayed here for two nights with my daughter (in the twin room at the front) and my parents (in the double at the back). We had a wonderful time. Cristina and Damian were very welcoming and were a helpful source of local knowledge. The rooms are large and so are their bathrooms and all are comfortable, airy and elegant. It was quiet but very convenient for town. Breakfast was tasty and there was a good selection. The flowers, shortbread, tea and coffee in the room were good and it was nice to have real milk too! My only petty criticism is that our bath only had a shower attachment but then a soak in a deep roll-top bath wasn't exactly a hardship and the bathroom looked gorgeous which it mightn't have done with a shower. The other bathroom has a separate shower but is differently styled so still looked lovely. It was all very restful and indulgent. Sadly, I don't think I'm likely to be in Aldeburgh again but if I were, I'd definitely stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.2 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
991 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
646 reviews
0.4 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
2.1 mi away
Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel
4.8 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel House

Property: Laurel House
Address: 23 Lee Road, Aldeburgh, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Aldeburgh
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Laurel House Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing