We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what a disappointment” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lighthouse

The Lighthouse
Ranked #1 of 30 Restaurants in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$44
Cuisines: Seafood, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sam and the team at The Lighthouse restaurant welcome every customer into a relaxed atmosphere which instantly makes you feel at home. With three different eating locations, downstairs, upstairs and the courtyard, The Lighthouse offers a 'Sleepy Suffolk' approach to eating out, with you dictating the pace of your evening. The Lighthouse chefs work tirelessly to continue to produce mouth-watering dishes for the A la carte menus and, the lunch & pre-cinema menu. With the creations of the dishes, Head Chef Guy Welsh ensures that the ingredients for all his dishes are as local as possible, with much of the fish coming right off the beach in Aldeburgh, our duck coming from Norfolk based Gressinghams, Five Winds butchers in Melton for our juicy steaks and local salad leaves from Sue Allen in Thorpeness. To round off the perfect evening, The Lighthouse offers a wide selection of tempting wines and local Adnams beers to compliment all of our dishes.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
142 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“what a disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

took friend to our favourite place in aldeburgh (not been here 2 years)
nice welcome and prompt drinks
but then 45 minutes wait for starters and further 30 for mains
it wasnt even full at lunch time and no wraning of delay was given
small size ( a mean size actually) of all dishes
scallop and bacon salad was 3 small queenies and himblefull of though bacon on small hanful of leaves, steak was smallest I saw in years
cooking was bad to awful stek was vburnt on one side and tainted by the burn
plaice fillet was over cooked and limp on tasteless rissottto (no dente to it, either)
fish and chips (they shoudl stop serving this and go to local fish and chip shop) batter had no taste at all.
wine ok (but chef never touched it)
why we didnt return the food?
coz we were afraid to wait another hour

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashtori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    702
    191
    53
    25
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best meal in Aldeburgh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Visited on a busy bank holiday weekend nothing was too much trouble will be recommending to friends
Food was excellent service exceptional

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mature719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
486 reviews
395 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Unpretentious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

With so many upscale Londoners in town I was pleasantly surprised by how good yet down to earth this restaurant was. Laid back vibe, pleasant,fairly contemporary surroundings and "natural" service made for a relaxed evening. The food was very good too, basic with a twist rather than something that sounds so complicated its not enjoyable. All together a positive experience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bro44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A disappointing experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We have been visiting the Lighthouse for almost 20 years and were keen to take a visitor to dinner there. It was buzzing when we arrived at 7.30pm but we were greeted warmly although it took a bit of time to place our orders. The first course, two herring roe and one soup arrived promptly and were delicious, that's when the problems arose. People were leaving and the tables were almost immediately reoccupied, so it was very busy. This is great for the restaurant but it became clear that the service could not cope. I had to ask for our plates to be cleared half an hour after we finished our first course. The mains arrived ten to fifteen minutes later. We all had fish and chips. It was clear that these had been standing on a hotplate for some time and were very dry. It's sad the kitchen was let down in this way. Hopefully they can put this right soon.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank johnofthefarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

The outside is unassuming but the atmosphere inside is relaxed but with the right degree of formality-it is a bistro, not a cafe and a very good one at that. Decor is modern with real art adorning the walls, lighting is bright enough but not glaring and the whole feel of the place is of quality.
The staff were very polite and attentive and throughout called me by the name in which I had made the reservation, which was my Christian name.
The Lighthouse was full for dinner but I had had no trouble in making a prior reservation and mostly I suspect on the day bookings will be successful for dinner. Certainly walk-ins at lunch will be no problem.
The dressed crab special as starter was sublime. Fish for main course was fresh, not dry, we'll prepared and it all looked and tasted first rate. Dessert was a drunken banana pancake with delicious ice cream. I cannot rate the food more highly. Simply one of the best meals of its kind I have had, in a quite beautiful venue.
Very reasonably priced. I would advise going before The Lighthouse becomes more widely known.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RedRoseWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lighthouse also viewed

 

Been to The Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing