We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food's good.”
Review of The Cadogan Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cadogan Arms
Ranked #13 of 53 Bury St Edmunds B&B and Inns
Cheshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Food's good.”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Great food. Nice beer, some from local brewery. Good breakfast. Small rooms, stuffy and not very clean. Expecting a bit more at that price point.
Good enough if it's just for a night and the boss is paying I guess.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbarbarbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    65
    17
    6
    11
See reviews for
38
53
3
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Firstly, let me say that the actual pub/hotel is lovely. Cannot complain about the service or the food. The mediocre star rating is for the noise. it was a very warm night and returning to the room (George), it was incredibly hot inside. So opened the windows. Bed is fine, room is fine.... but being woken at 4:10am by the cockerel that is owned by the hotel... not good. The Cockerel then persisted to crow every minute or so. Closed the windows, not significantly different as only single glazed. Therefore I cannot say that sleep was possible after that. i find it difficult to comprehend why a hotel would have a cockerel... chickens, yes... but a cockerel!
Would I return?
For food, yes... to stay the night? No.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dethafoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed over a weekend in July. All the staff were very helpful and friendly. The bedroom was very comfortable, clean and nicely furnished. However we stayed in a room facing the road and found the traffic noise a real problem as the weather was warm and we kept the window open. We would advise anyone staying to ask for a room away from the road. We ate in the dining room on several occasions and were very pleased with the standard and price. No charge for sparkling water! The addition of fresh fruit juice at breakfast would be good.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GosuSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed for one night for my husband's birthday. I found the hotel on late rooms at a very very reasonable price.I had to check the hotel out via google as the price was so cheap for what it is. It looked great so booked it . I then emailed the hotel direct to request a nice quiet room to which they replied straight away. We stayed in Henry which was very spacious and light.the room was very warm-not due to heating but the sun beating down on the windows so we opened these straight away and had to keep them open overnight.unfortunately this also meant we could hear the traffic on the road but soon got used to it.evening meal was lovely except I had vegetable curry and there was no heat to it at all.
great location for exploring surrounding area and would definitely recommend it

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madmary_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We holiday nearby in Culford between 1 and 3 times a year - we have visited the Cadogan Arms several times over the last few years - for Sunday lunch, and in the week both day and evening. We have always had good service and lovely food. For the summer, there is a large decked area you can eat out on. For children, there is a large grassy area, a small play area and some chickens! It has a gastropub feel to it, with a decent wine list and menu. Would definitely recommend trying here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonLotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I have visited the Cadogan a few times and I always receive good service. The staff are competent and friendly, and the food is extremely good.
I recently visited and found it to be even better than I had remembered.
The car park is large and easily accessible, and the restaurant has plenty of space spread through several different rooms, so it never feels crowded.
The proprietors own three other pubs and a micro brewery, so things are very slick, efficient, and well managed.
I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloraPoste365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed over for just one night, staff helpful in letting us drop bags off early in the day before official check-in time.Rooms comfortable and well equipped, drinks tray in room was missing tea bags though!

Room Tip: 'Charles' has some very low ceilings and only a shower in the en suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bury St Edmunds hotels
3.0 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
486 reviews
2.1 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
220 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
#11 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
413 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurston
253 reviews
6.6 mi away
Oak Farm Barn
Oak Farm Barn
#4 of 53 in Bury St Edmunds
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cadogan Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cadogan Arms

Property: The Cadogan Arms
Address: The Street | Ingham, Bury St Edmunds IP31 1NG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cadogan Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We know that not everyone wants the same thing. You might want a pint of local real ale at the bar… A bottle of wine and a grazing board on the sofas… A meal in the dining room… A really good coffee with a read of the paper… To rest your head the night before an important business meeting… A relaxing weekend break only 4 miles from Bury St Edmunds… Take your pick. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cadogan Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cadogan Arms Hotel Bury St. Edmunds
The Cadogan Arms Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing