We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, easy to find and nice evening meal (quality & quantity(”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Three Kings

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Three Kings
Ranked #12 of 56 Bury St Edmunds B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reading
Level Contributor
636 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Clean, easy to find and nice evening meal (quality & quantity(”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Recently stayed here for one night. It is very easy to find. You stay in an old stable block with comfortable and and big roomsalthough mine did not have a great view and very dark! Excellent shower and bathroom facilities Breakfast form 7.30 and beleive evening mealtiems are limited, which not great is travelling.

Staff were all friendly and happy to help

Would stay again

Room Tip: Try one on the top floor of the stables as quieter and lighter.Ap
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stumpy12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    30
    22
    9
    4
See reviews for
22
31
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed @ The Three kings for 2 nights. As soon as you entered the room you could smell the damp it was also very dark with just one small window with black mould around the inside of the wood frame. During the night you could hear everything going on in the next room and the TV from the upstairs bed room, not a good nights sleep.
The bathroom was in a poor condition with mould between the tiles.
The cleaning also left a lot to be desired.
Not orth the money.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cobbydaletraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Friendly greeting on arrival. Room conveniently placed off the car park, and despite the position was remarkably quiet. Bedding clean and a comfortable bed. Small TV screen.
The room was adequate but a bit drear. The bathroom definitely could do with a revamp.
Evening meal was 'good pub food' and the breakfast was OK.
Staff friendly throughout our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nashdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3KsFornhamAllSaints, Owner at The Three Kings, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
We recently took over this business (Sep2012) and are striving to ensure it remains friendly and well run.
We take the reviews on Trip Advisor seriously and would like to reassure future guests that we intend improving the accommodation block within a programme of refurbishment over the next year or so.
In the meantime, I would like to thank those (most) of you who gave us good reviews, and who were able to see how clean the establishment is, how friendly and how good the food is here.
We pride ourselves on a personal approach and welcome comments, good or bad!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
united kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

had to stay in Forenham overnight for a family matter and used the three kings pub for accomodation. The room was basic but comfortable and the Landlord andhis team were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was superb.

Room Tip: floors are on 2 levels so ask for a ground floor if you have difficulties
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

The Three Kings is a pub with rooms attached. We were not staying there, but called in for lunch. Rather unprepossing looking - a little gloomy. The table we used was sticky which was off-putting. The staff were helpful and friendly and the pub lunch was very nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JK5961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

This hotel had been booked by a colleague and having read the reviews on here I admit I tried to change it but was too late. I thought it wouldn't matter as it was a one night stay.

In truth the hotel and rooms are very tired and it needs a good painting and cleaning to bring it up to a good standard. However the one thing that keeps getting mentioned, the hot water appears to have been fixed as it was as hot as I have come across.

The pub is OK and the staff were very friendly as was the young lady cook but she needs help with the menu. She is clearly trying but her lack of experience showed in our food which I rated as 5/10.

It was the checking out that was really poor. The lady member of staff dealing with my bill was really struggling to get it sorted but had clearly not been trained. I left it with her and when I came back the lady hotel owner was there and it was not pleasant.
The room and breakfast are being paid direct to the hotel by a business travel booking company and I pay for food and drinks. This clearly was not acceptable to the hotel owner and I had to bring her confirmation of the booking and the billing confirmation until finally she (reluctantly) agreed that I could just pay for the food and drinks.

She was still going on about this not being correct when I suggested she ring the Business Travel company for clarification, all I got was a short, sharp reply which was quite embarrassing for her staff member , my colleague and me.

This lady clearly resents her customers and I would suggest she considers another occupation.

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

I stayed here for a night and found the place to be pretty nice given the price. The food in the pub is of a good standard, not gourmet, but better than your average cheap pub and the staff are very helpful.

The room was quite small, but it was clean and had an ensuite shower, tea and coffee facilities and a small TV. To be honest, for what I paid, I wasn't expecting a lot else.

The following morning, breakfast was excellent, you picked from a menu the night before and everything was brought out when you wanted, there's a good selection of juices and cereals too.

If you're looking for somewhere to spend a night without breaking the bank this is great, if you're looking for luxury and things to do, I'd head into Bury St Edmunds.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bury St Edmunds hotels
0.6 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
#11 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
3.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Bushel
The Bushel
#11 of 56 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Kings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Kings

Property: The Three Kings
Address: Hengrave Road | Fornham All Saints, Bury St Edmunds IP28 6LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Three Kings 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Three Kings is a traditional village pub in a pretty small village just two miles from the market town of Bury St Edmunds. Our rooms are situated in a separate block to the rear of the pub, meaning that they can be accessed 24hrs a day without causing disturbance or having to stick to the pub opening times. The rooms all have ensuite facilities, trouser press, hairdryer, fridge and a tv with freeview channels. WiFi is available in the pub and is free of charge. Most of the rooms can pick up the wi-fi. The pub itself is friendly and serves lovely home cooked food. Dogs are welcome in a specific area in the bar and also in the rooms providing they are well behaved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Three Kings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Three Kings Hotel Bury St. Edmunds
The 3 Kings
The Three Kings Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing