We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable hotel”
Review of The Three Kings

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Three Kings
Ranked #12 of 53 Bury St Edmunds B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2013

I stayed twice at this hotel on a trip to the UK in November 2012. On both occasions my room was upstairs overlooking the carpark. The rooms were comfortable enough, clean and the heated trouser-press worked - when living out of a suitcase for 4 weeks, that's a definite plus! There was some subdued noise that could be heard from the adjoining unit, but not enough to be intrusive. The staff were helpful and the breakfast more than adequate in both taste and quantity. It is unfortunate, however, that meals are not served on Sunday evenings. This forced me to eat elsewhere, a not-entirely satisfactory experience. The acid-test of any hotel is, 'Would I stay there again?' the answer for me is 'Yes'. In terms of value-for-money this hotel is quite acceptable.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
There are newer reviews for The Three Kings
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2013

Not really poor but below average. I note room 103 has already been commented on. I stayed in it also and it clearly has not improved since the first review.
Room tired and not the cleanest. Bathroom poor, shower missing bits and bowel cracked, signs of rust on fittings and shaving light did not work which was a real pain.
Had to pay for room in advance and meal also separately. Whatever happened to paying whilst checking out? In all my years travelling on business, that's never happened before. It sets a tone.
Evening meal frankly not worth the money, uninspiring and lacking taste, although other people eating at the same time seemed to enjoy theirs.
Breakfast very average but missing the beans even though I'd ordered it the night before.

Staff very friendly. Cannot recommend this hotel though, certainly not for the price.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon4188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a couple of nights on business. Food was Great. Good atmosphere. Room was ok. Shame I had an ajoining room downstairs next door to a couple of ladies who chatted till 1.30am (of which I could hear every word!)

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kckeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

This was a one night stay as part of a business trip.
We were greeted warmly by a very friendly young man and made to feel very welcome from the start.
The room was on the ground floor with a view of a fence! However, because it was winter and therefore dark by early afternoon, it didn't bother us.
The room was fairly spacious although the wardrobe was rather small. The shower/bathroom was a bit musty at first but once we'd used it it improved.
We ate in the Inn and this is where the place came into its own with an imaginative menu, a very good wine list for a 'village inn', very attentive and friendly service and a lovely old fashioned coaching inn atmosphere; I was almost tempted to burst into a folk song but my wife would have belted me!
If we had been staying longer and at a different time of year I wouldn't have wanted the same room; one on the upper storey would have been better.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms are very close to the rear of the inn so weekends might be a bit noisy. Ask f...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GiffLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3KsFornhamAllSaints, Owner at The Three Kings, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2012

Tracy and I took over this lovely old coaching inn just eleven weeks ago and we are thrilled to be recieving such positive reviews at this early stage. We also have had much local support with lovely comments from both the locals and our visitors. Constructive criticism is also welcomed as it will show us better where to focus our energy but we are aware that it is often easier to submit a negative comment than a positive one, so long may these positive comments keep coming. Thank you to all of our customers, you have made us feel very welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

We booked in for the Sunday Carvery for four of us, it's was £9.95 each!
There was a selection of beef, turkey and pork all sliced off the joint in front of you, plus a large selection if fresh vegetables. The service was excellent as was the food and I would defiantly recommend it. Can't comment in the rooms as we were not staying thier.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Robbo1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3KsFornhamAllSaints, Owner at The Three Kings, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2012

Thank you, our Sunday carvery is so booked up in advance, we have now started doing a turkey roast dinner on our bar menu on a Sunday too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We stayed for one night in Room 103 on the Ground Floor (The King Edward). It is a block within the beer garden, so could be noisy, but we stayed Sunday to Monday and the pub is closed from 5pm on Sundays, so we didn't get to experience sleeping/relaxing with the pub in full swing.

The rooms are dated and are not 4*, regardless of the rating provided by the AA. Our room was dirty with obvious cobwebs from the lights and in the cupboard (which was a wardrobe). The 'ornate' lamps by the side of the bed were caked in thick dust. The shower tray was chipped and the shower was operated by a screw, as the tap/lever that would have been there previously was broken. The groove where the shower cubicle door slid was moudly and grime.

The bed was okay although my partner found it springy on her side. It was one of those places where you just have to shut your eyes and rest, rather than think too much about where you are and what condition the place is in.

Breakfast was okay, but it will not change my mind. I am never staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stormyroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Recently stayed here for one night. It is very easy to find. You stay in an old stable block with comfortable and and big roomsalthough mine did not have a great view and very dark! Excellent shower and bathroom facilities Breakfast form 7.30 and beleive evening mealtiems are limited, which not great is travelling.

Staff were all friendly and happy to help

Would stay again

Room Tip: Try one on the top floor of the stables as quieter and lighter.Ap
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stumpy12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bury St Edmunds hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
495 reviews
0.6 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
233 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
#11 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
418 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
213 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Black Boy, Bury St Edmunds
The Black Boy, Bury St Edmunds
#42 of 53 in Bury St Edmunds
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Kings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Kings

Address: Hengrave Road | Fornham All Saints, Bury St Edmunds IP28 6LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range: £80 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Three Kings 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Three Kings is a traditional village pub in a pretty small village just two miles from the market town of Bury St Edmunds. Our rooms are situated in a separate block to the rear of the pub, meaning that they can be accessed 24hrs a day without causing disturbance or having to stick to the pub opening times. The rooms all have ensuite facilities, trouser press, hairdryer, fridge and a tv with freeview channels. WiFi is available in the pub and is free of charge. Most of the rooms can pick up the wi-fi. The pub itself is friendly and serves lovely home cooked food. Dogs are welcome in a specific area in the bar and also in the rooms providing they are well behaved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Three Kings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Three Kings Hotel Bury St. Edmunds
The 3 Kings
The Three Kings Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing