We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great local pub”
Review of The Three Kings

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Three Kings
Ranked #12 of 53 Bury St Edmunds B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A great local pub”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We were staying in a local hotel and met some friends here for lunch. The pub's atmosphere is welcoming, the staff friendly and the food excellent. My partner loves his real ale and tried 2 of the guest beers and declared them excellent. The pub has just won CAMRA pub of the month and deservedly so in his opinion. Our meals arrived promptly and were well cooked and tasty, decent portions and reasonably priced. Can thoroughly recommend this pub - we didn't stay here but if the beer/food is anything to go by the rooms would be good too. We plan to go back in the summer.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Localyokel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    31
    23
    9
    4
See reviews for
24
32
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed one night and had the King John room. All the rooms seem to be at the back in a separate building.

The room was comfortable and clean and the en-suite bathroom was big enough with a bath as well as shower.

Dinner in the main pub was very good. We dined with some older relatives and they found the portions to large. I had the pork belly. Excellent. The pub's owned badged bitter was a tasty brew.

Gripes? Not much. Bulb out in one of the lights that made it a bit dim and the loo seat needed a tinker to tighten it up.......

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InvictaMoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed here one night as we attended a wedding at Hengrave Hall (next village from Fordham All Saints) They were very accommodating allowing us to check in early so we could change at the inn for a 1.30pm wedding which we really appreciated! The room was average size behind the inn with a nice bathroom. It was clean and decorated in neutral colours the bed was a tad uncomfortable for me ( a bit lumpy) although my partner slept. Breakfast was pre ordered the day before so it was ready for us at the time we selected, it was very good. All in all it was a good stay at a good price with friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kvh315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Three Kings for 2 nights and would highly recommend it. The room was very clean and comfortable with a hotel standard bathroom. Breakfast was of high quality, cooked to order. We ate there on one of the evenings and found the food compared favourably with any resturant.
Bury St Edmunds is a short drive away with further opportunities for pubs and places to eat.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My partner and i stayed here at the weekend for one night and were very impressed. Staff were very friendly and the room was clean and spacious with everything you need for one night. I was impressed with the breakfast as i dont like greasy breakfasts and my partners full english looked very tasy and my scrambled egg on toast was lovely. Had a few drinks here and its a lovely little pub, definately would recommend and would stay here again when we come back to visit family.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vic-Zee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

My husband & I stayed for a night to attend a friends wedding in the local area. We booked based on recommendation so didn't really know what to expect but were thoroughly impressed.

The Three Kings is well located & easy to find with ample free parking which is always good!

Upon arrival we were made to feel welcome by the bar staff who organised our early access to the room, and even booked a cab on our behalf to take us to the wedding which was brilliant.

The room itself was well equipped with a TV, mini fridge, coffee/tea making facilities and a lovely powerful shower - and even a hair dryer! The bed itself was super comfy making for a good nights sleep!

Breakfast next day (you preorder and pick a time to go) was really impressive, we had an English breakfast with items picked to suit us and it was delicious (and not remotely greasy)

Overall an excellent pub/bed & breakfast with great helpful staff who made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morley33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bury St Edmunds hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
471 reviews
0.6 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
207 reviews
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
1,161 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
#11 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
405 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Kings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Kings

Property: The Three Kings
Address: Hengrave Road | Fornham All Saints, Bury St Edmunds IP28 6LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Three Kings 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Three Kings is a traditional village pub in a pretty small village just two miles from the market town of Bury St Edmunds. Our rooms are situated in a separate block to the rear of the pub, meaning that they can be accessed 24hrs a day without causing disturbance or having to stick to the pub opening times. The rooms all have ensuite facilities, trouser press, hairdryer, fridge and a tv with freeview channels. WiFi is available in the pub and is free of charge. Most of the rooms can pick up the wi-fi. The pub itself is friendly and serves lovely home cooked food. Dogs are welcome in a specific area in the bar and also in the rooms providing they are well behaved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Three Kings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Three Kings Hotel Bury St. Edmunds
The 3 Kings
The Three Kings Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing