We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful but pleasant enough!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Three Kings

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Three Kings
Ranked #12 of 56 Bury St Edmunds B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful but pleasant enough!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights last weekend in adjoining rooms (108 & 109). Pros: the room was large, ample storage, warm & powerful shower, comfy bed, good food options for breakfast, extremely friendly staff morning and night, and allowed my dog to stay. He only con was some minor cleaning issues- cobwebs in corners, bit of dust, carpets could do with a shampoo, chipped cup on hospitality tray. But for the price it was perfectly comfortable and I would stay again.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank annat1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    30
    22
    9
    4
See reviews for
22
31
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay at the Three Kings as it is 5 minutes from where our eldest daughter now lives. On both occasions we have found the staff to be friendly, the rooms are homely and clean with everything you could need, certainly on a par with Premier Inn in terms of what's in the room, comfort and cleanliness (but homely rather than executive in style). Great breakfasts and check in and out is very easy.

It helps that the Ale is good too! We can't comment on the evening food as on both stays we went into Bury to eat with our daughter but we are definitely booking again and maybe will try a dinner or the Sunday carvery.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3KsFornhamAllSaints, Owner at The Three Kings, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and such a positive one too. We are glad that our efforts to provide a clean and friendly place to stay are rewarded.
Look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

The staff were really helpful and whenever we had an issue they always came with a solution, and we're very understanding when we thought we had to pay on departure, and allowed us to pay on our second day. We stayed here only to go to a wedding at hengrave hall next door, so for a bed for the night it did do the job. Comfortable bed, good tv with lots of channels and a fridge in the room. However no shampoo or conditioner, which I had assumed would be there (they did help us out with some leftover from another room which I didn't mind using) no soap in the bathroom, no water in the room, and the room was very hot, but when we opened our window it was very noisy with people talking right outside our window. The staff were really friendly and we had a nice drink with them late on the Thursday evening, however my other half tried two of their ales and said neither of them had been kept very well. No water again at breakfast, and unfortunately we both really disliked the sausages. Lovely room to stay in and very kind staff, unfortunately just a couple of things missing.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sadie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3KsFornhamAllSaints, Owner at The Three Kings, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and also for your kind words about us and our staff being friendly.
We felt we needed to respond to a few of your other comments in order to clarify our situation.
- We try our hardest to offer a simple, clean and welcoming environment here at The Three Kings, which is understood and welcomed by many of our returning guests. If we started to add 'frills' such as shampoo and small bottle of bathroom products in your rooms, we would need to reflect this in the price of the rooms. We do supply a hand-pump of soap in all of the bathrooms fro your use.
- We have just won a 'CAMRA' award for our ales, which we are actually, very passionate about, so we are surprised your partner found them so awful! I dont remember him saying anything at the time, or we would have been more than happy to offer him an alternative.
- You stayed on the hottest night of the year so far ...... we dont have air conditioning in our rooms, as we say, our ethos is to welcome simple, clean accommodation with a friendly atmosphere and great food, we are very glad that we did this for you, and sorry about the lack of 'frills'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We visited The Three Kings for Sunday lunch for my grandmother's birthday, and absolutely loved every second of it. The carvery was very impressive and good value for money. Excellent service from staff. WIll definitely be returning.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3KsFornhamAllSaints, Owner at The Three Kings, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to make some excellent positive comments about our pub. We are always pleased to receive feedback, (both positive and re; areas for improvement!) and appreciate it when customers make the effort to have their say.

We hope to be able to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Gorgeous little pub, not many popular pubs around anymore. My room didnt exactly have the wow factor but for the price what do you expect. Clean and comfortable, rooms decorated in nice creams and green not like the old photos that can be seen on here.
Staff were lovely, and breakfast was delicious.
Thankyou very much three kings :)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lillylou88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3KsFornhamAllSaints, Owner at The Three Kings, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for your comments, we appreciate the time you took to say how you enjoyed being with us. We do strive to make sure our pub is friendly, clean and offers good food and simple accommodation so always appreciate it when others thank us for our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Came up to the area on Tuesday for business and stopped in here for lunch on the way home with a colleague. Nice food, reasonably priced and hospitable staff. Free wifi! Would go back any time I was in the area

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Laurence V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this rather depressing inn on business. The bedroom carpet by the door needed a steam clean. No soap in bathroom. Bathroom smelt musty and not very clean.

Cooked breakfast lacklustre with two bits if toast served on plate. Only a powdered drinks machine available. When I asked if I could have a fresh cup of coffee I was told it was not economical for them to switch on coffee machine at breakfast.

One to avoid. Go to The Angel in Bury if you can afford it!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Biscuit12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3KsFornhamAllSaints, Owner at The Three Kings, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our Pub, I knew you would!

I think you misunderstood me a little with the coffee machine. During the week, I can have 18 or more breakfasts to cook which are all freshly prepared and served at a pre determined time. The small coffee machine in the bar does make fresh coffee but is rather slow and would be an uneconomical use of my time when I am trying to get the breakfasts prepared on time. However, I'm sorry I couldnt be more helpful and on the back of your comment (plus just one other comment about the coffee), we are looking in to other options for the breakfast room.

I also like The Angel, and as a hotel, you would expect soap in the bathrooms etc. As a B&B, we offer a basic (but clean and friendly) service to our customers and we enjoy many compliments from them as a result.

Please see our recent reviews about cleanliness and friendliness (we havent been here long!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bury St Edmunds hotels
0.6 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
#11 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
3.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Kings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Kings

Property: The Three Kings
Address: Hengrave Road | Fornham All Saints, Bury St Edmunds IP28 6LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Three Kings 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Three Kings is a traditional village pub in a pretty small village just two miles from the market town of Bury St Edmunds. Our rooms are situated in a separate block to the rear of the pub, meaning that they can be accessed 24hrs a day without causing disturbance or having to stick to the pub opening times. The rooms all have ensuite facilities, trouser press, hairdryer, fridge and a tv with freeview channels. WiFi is available in the pub and is free of charge. Most of the rooms can pick up the wi-fi. The pub itself is friendly and serves lovely home cooked food. Dogs are welcome in a specific area in the bar and also in the rooms providing they are well behaved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your The Three Kings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Three Kings Hotel Bury St. Edmunds
The 3 Kings
The Three Kings Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing