We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Oak Farm Barn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Oak Farm Barn
Certificate of Excellence
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Superb accommodation, friendly welcome, comfortable rooms and the best breakfast in Suffolk! Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
80
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Peaceful and rural setting. An old barn converted leaving the character of the building but with all modern facilities .. all working including the Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnA010856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

My company asked me to work in the area for sickness cover over two weeks. Originally they had suggested a Travelodge!! For a few GB pounds more for the week, Oak Farm Barn provides you with a whole lot more.

The first week I had the ground floor disabled room, twin bedded plus all the required facilities needed in the bathroom. Although comfortable I was glad to be offered the double room for the second week.

Huge choice for breakfast cereals, fruit, yoghurt, cooked meal any way you like it, real coffee etc.

The location is great just a few miles outside Bury St Edmunds which is a lovely town/city. It is also a good base for touring the area from the Norfolk Broads to the estuaries of Essex could be visited in a day. Rougham is surrounded by lots of villages with nice pubs to eat in at night so you wont go hungry.

I was amazed at all the little touches Ray & Rachel have put into their B&B so many that I read the other reviews & found ones I had missed. One of the best things was the free wireless available in the rooms & if you don't have your laptop there is a PC in the lounge for guest use.

Lovely place, lovely owners & I would certainly recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank je2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

Me and my fiancé stopped at oak farm barn in December 2010, we were greeted by Both ray and rachel who were both lovely and made us a lovely cup of tea for our arrival. There was also lovely cake waiting for us in our lovely presented room, plenty of tea, coffee and milk in our room & also upstairs in the dining room was extra milk along with alcohol if wanted. The whole setup was lovely and we felt very welcome there. It was nice that the barn is just for the b&b. There were DVDs if we wanted them, things to do leaflets and folders with nice places to eat etc. Very clean, comfy bed & pillows, good shower and lovely couple who run the b&b. Lovely breakfast. When i left for the stay I left my bag inside my room- i phoned ray and he couldnt do enough to arrange for me to get it back. I would definately go again. Great place.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kezbarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Excellent place to stay. Warm welcome, lovely room and great breakfast. £75 a night for 2 was good value too, I think. Great location to explore the area, very central. Lots of maps and guide books to borrow too. Ray and Rachel even washed up our picnic crockery for us, and sent me my phone charger in the post before I realised I'd left it there. Looking forward to returning.

Room Tip: Rise early and enjoy a 2hour walk before breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesdavidmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

I stayed at the barn with my granny for a night and we couldn't have been happier with our choice. It felt like staying at home, Rachel had thought of everything to make it comfortable and cozy. Beautiful room and living room, delicious breakfast, a real home away from home. Thank you, we'll be coming back!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojo5580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESSEX, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2010

We stayed here for the last 2 days of our honeymoon as the guest house we were originally staying in was fully booked for the weekend. The welcome was wonderful and warm. The room we stayed in was very cosy, a king size bed and lovely furnishings. Overall, was more than pleased with Ray and Rachel's hospitalit.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny_torres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bury St Edmunds hotels
4.6 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
459 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
1,150 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
203 reviews
2.3 mi away
Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens
Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfas...
#1 of 53 in Bury St Edmunds
587 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Fox Inn
The Fox Inn
#2 of 53 in Bury St Edmunds
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Farm Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Farm Barn

Property: Oak Farm Barn
Address: Moat Lane, Rougham, Bury St Edmunds IP30 9JU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oak Farm Barn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two minutes from A14, a friendly welcome awaits you at our converted barn with its many original beams, open-plan staircase/gallery. All rooms ensuite with TV, DVD & free WiFi, furnished to a high standard. We have tried to keep the spirit of the barn, while at the same time, giving an atmosphere of homely charm. Detached from our home, guests are free to come and go as they please. Peaceful with rural views. Ample parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oak Farm Barn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Farm Barn Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing