We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a beautiful place”
Review of Oak Farm Barn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oak Farm Barn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Me & my husband stayed for 2 nights 17 & 18 august , we were attending a wedding locally.well I have to say this was a very relaxing experience, Rachel & Ray are to be commended for their hospitality as they could not do enough for you.The barn itself was just amazing & the breakfast was out of this world.would definitely go back here just for the break, so peaceful , thankyou once again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maxine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2013

I and five friends stayed at Oak Barn Farm recently and made it our base for a cycle ride through Suffolk. Every one of us was impressed by every aspect of our stay. Ray met us when we arrived and made us all a welcoming cup of tea / coffee with cake and showed us around the rooms, which to be honest were immaculate as was the converted barn in general. Our cycles were securely housed for the night and in the morning we were served a full English breakfast by Rachel and Ray which again was as near to perfect as any I have tasted anywhere else I have stayed.
Our water bottles were filled for our epic 150 mile journey (all of us in our 50's / 60's) so it was a bit of a challenge.
Ray and Rachel are two of the nicest people you could ever meet and we are all more than happy to praise the effort they put in to provide their guests with first class accommodation and food.
The countryside around the Rougham area is beautiful and if you are a cyclist you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a B & B in this area you simply can't go wrong in choosing Oak Farm Barn. Lovely people who just can't do enough to make sure your stay perfect. Fabulous choice for breakfast and the "full English" takes some beating.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nichola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We have just returned from Suffolk after 4days at Oak Farm Barn and now fully understand why it is 5 star Gold. It was wonderful. The setting is delightful, the quality of the building is first class and the rooms as really lovely. Having a large sitting room with all the surprises that holds is just great.The food is delicious and plentiful.
Ray and Rachel are a delightful couple who while helpful are in no way instrusive.
It was just a lovely relaxing time for us with no worries if we came in late as we had our own key.
We would certainly love to return and may well do so later in the year.

Room Tip: All the room get an A+ from me
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cloverSkipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I would have no problem recomending oak farm to anyone.It is a beautiful place a converted barn done to a very high spec.Every comfort you could want.Rachel and Ray the owners are charming people and make you feel so welcome nothing is to much trouble for them.If you are looking for accomadation in that area go there you wont regret it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hairdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

From the time you arrive to be welcomed by a cup of tea and a slice of cake until you finally leave this establishment cannot be faulted. The accommodation is first class all your needs are meet. Ray & Rachel have thought of everything for you. List of local places to eat with detailed directions of how to get to them and how to return to the Barn, lists of walks and a wide selection of boots incase you have forgotten your own and a draw full of the things you could have easily forgotten including deicer and scrapers for those frosty mornings. Finally the highlight of the day is the breakfast not to be missed or forgotten, Ray and Rachel have gone out of their way to make your stay unforgettable they are only to pleased to help you in any way they can. We will be returning. Dave & Denise B

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveB5491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I would recommend the Oak farm Barns to anyone. We were met by Rachel and Ray with tea and scones which was a lovely touch. They both couldn't have done more for us, they were keen for us to enjoy our time and make sure we had everything we needed. The accommodation was spotless and I couldn't fault it in anyway. The breakfast can't be beaten it was delicious and such a big choice. The lounge area upstairs is beautiful and equipped with books, music, a computer etc. We spent the time visiting various National trusts in the area. Although the weekend was very cold the accommodation was always warm and inviting.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bury St Edmunds hotels
3.9 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
1,270 reviews
4.6 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
538 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#6 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#4 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
229 reviews
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
546 reviews
5.5 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Farm Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Farm Barn

Address: Moat Lane, Rougham, Bury St Edmunds IP30 9JU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range: £70 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oak Farm Barn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two minutes from A14, a friendly welcome awaits you at our converted barn with its many original beams, open-plan staircase/gallery. All rooms ensuite with TV, DVD & free WiFi, furnished to a high standard. We have tried to keep the spirit of the barn, while at the same time, giving an atmosphere of homely charm. Detached from our home, guests are free to come and go as they please. Peaceful with rural views. Ample parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oak Farm Barn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Farm Barn Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing