We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely welcome and a very comfortable stay.”
Review of Oak Farm Barn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oak Farm Barn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We were a family party including two elderly people. Rachel met us with tea and a scone and showed us what we needed to know. The barn itself has been beautifully and thoughtfully restored. The beds are comfortable and the bathrooms fitted to a high standard. We really liked the dining area/ sitting room upstairs which also had a fridge we could use, but there was also room in the bedrooms to sit and read. The tea and coffee making facilities were good - two sorts of tea bags AND biscuits so I was pleased! And the breakfast was really good, including eggs laid by the hens roaming in their pen outside. We felt really looked after and valued. Rachel is an excellent hostess and we will certainly aim to stay again.

Room Tip: We had to room with the disable bath room which made our stay easier for my mother. All rooms are qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulaJK1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a delightful place to stay as it is warm and welcoming with excellent service provided by Ray and Rachael. It has been set up with all kinds of facilities for various holidays and weathers including spare wellingtons and a sofa upstairs with puzzles and books.

It is worth spending a little time on the property and relaxing as the surroundings themselves are worth taking in.

The location makes it ideal for travelling to various places in Suffolk as well.

The downstairs room is fully fitted for disabled facilities so the shower and toilet area are a bit reminiscent of the starkness of similar facilities in NHS hospitals. The room was set up for twin beds which are pretty narrow. As the room has ample proportions I do wonder if guests particularly men would appreciate wider beds.

Breakfast is beautifully cooked with ample choice and served until 9am in the morning. The local chipolatas and bacon are superb. The eggs are provided by hens outside and perfectly cooked.

If yu have any queries Ray and Rachael prove to be very helpful and a mine of information.


For bird watchers ,nightingales were seen and heard on one of the b&bs little strolls with are available with maps

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EHG2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

An excellent B&B, high standard of cleanliness, good sized rooms,and an excellent breakfast. This is a very comfortable and welcoming Bed and Breakfast that we highly recommend and hope to return to for a longer visit

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJChill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Lovely little B&B in a village called Rougham about 8 minutes drive from the Bury St Edmunds and close to the A14. Very clean and blissfully quiet. The owners Ray and Rachel meet you at the property and are incredibly welcoming. Pot of tea and cakes served on the patio was served when we arrived. Great breakfast eggs from the chickens outside), comfortable beds, loads of hot water.
A real gem of a property that has been lovingly restored.
highly recommended

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dric0327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

A week ago, as a party of 6 walkers, we enjoyed a 5 day stay at the Oak Farm Barn. The property is beautifully appointed and all three bedrooms are en suite, spotlessly clean and so nicely furnished. We had a room nominally described as a twin but Rachel and Ray converted it to a very large double by some ingenious mattress topper. No join could be seen or felt! The resulting bed was enormous and we slept like logs.

The lounge and dining area are on the first floor, accessed by a bridge landing in the atrium of the entrance hall. Again brilliantly furnished and appointed even with a fridge for your wine, an honesty bar, books, games and even a "just started" jig saw puzzle on a side table.

Breakfast is an award winning affair with everything you could wish for. The Oak's crowning glory for me is the minute attention paid to detail. The craftsmanship in the carpentry, the tasteful touches in the common areas, the availability of maps, guides, spare walking boots, spare gumboots, spare slippers, brollies, even an ice scraper and a defrost aerosol, ensure you want for nothing. When I was about to unlock my door with a drink in my hand there to my left was a thoughtfully placed coaster on the windowsill for that very purpose.
Don't hesitate just book it!

Room Tip: Although not disabled ourselves we used the 'disabled friendly' ground floor room. The en su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quintus5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Our stay was too short but very sweet. It is rare to find no fault but this was one such occasion. Very comfortable bed and superb food. Ray and Rachel have obviously gone to great lengths to ensure that everything guests might need is provided and if anything has been missed they welcome knowing, so they can remedy matters. Such things are wines, spirits and soft drinks (complete with honesty pot) and the use of a computer to check emails and look up local attractions, were just two examples of the extras provided.

Room Tip: Snap up any room available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed at this B&B for two nights last month because of a family funeral. So it wasn't the happiest of 'breaks' but we were completely satisfied with our room, breakfast and the friendliness of our host.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bury St Edmunds hotels
4.6 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
519 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
1,247 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#5 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
505 reviews
5.5 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#3 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
271 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Fox Inn
The Fox Inn
#3 of 53 in Bury St Edmunds
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Farm Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Farm Barn

Address: Moat Lane, Rougham, Bury St Edmunds IP30 9JU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range: £71 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oak Farm Barn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two minutes from A14, a friendly welcome awaits you at our converted barn with its many original beams, open-plan staircase/gallery. All rooms ensuite with TV, DVD & free WiFi, furnished to a high standard. We have tried to keep the spirit of the barn, while at the same time, giving an atmosphere of homely charm. Detached from our home, guests are free to come and go as they please. Peaceful with rural views. Ample parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Oak Farm Barn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Farm Barn Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing