We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Oak Farm Barn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oak Farm Barn
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

This place was absolutely fantastic!
When we arrived (there is plenty of car parking space), we received a warm welcome, and were taken up to the lounge area when the owners provided us with tea and cake while our room was being prepared.
The room was lovely with a very comfortable bed, good tea/coffee facilitates, spotlessly clean and very nice bathroom.
There were DVDs on offer if you needed something to do, and kindly they provide an 'odds and sods' draw with toothpaste, combs, sewing kits etc incase you have forgotten anything.
They also provide some nice spirits in the lounge area (for which they ask a donation to the next bottle), which is a nice touch.
The breakfast was fantastic as were the owners,
I cannot fault this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apr_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
76
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Rachel and Ray were very welcoming and overall were excellent hosts. The converted barn is lovely and very relaxing, our room was very clean, light and airy with a very comfortably bed and lovely bathroom. The breakfasts were very tasty too!! We definitely recommend this accommodation and would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank han_westwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

My sister and I had an enjoyable visit at Oak Barn for 3 nights. All was spotlessly clean, the beds really comfortable, nice bathroom, could not find fault with anything, and we will certainly come and stay again. Thank you Rachel and Ray for a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the twin en-suite room upstairs which was very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We were a family party including two elderly people. Rachel met us with tea and a scone and showed us what we needed to know. The barn itself has been beautifully and thoughtfully restored. The beds are comfortable and the bathrooms fitted to a high standard. We really liked the dining area/ sitting room upstairs which also had a fridge we could use, but there was also room in the bedrooms to sit and read. The tea and coffee making facilities were good - two sorts of tea bags AND biscuits so I was pleased! And the breakfast was really good, including eggs laid by the hens roaming in their pen outside. We felt really looked after and valued. Rachel is an excellent hostess and we will certainly aim to stay again.

Room Tip: We had to room with the disable bath room which made our stay easier for my mother. All rooms are qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulaJK1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a delightful place to stay as it is warm and welcoming with excellent service provided by Ray and Rachael. It has been set up with all kinds of facilities for various holidays and weathers including spare wellingtons and a sofa upstairs with puzzles and books.

It is worth spending a little time on the property and relaxing as the surroundings themselves are worth taking in.

The location makes it ideal for travelling to various places in Suffolk as well.

The downstairs room is fully fitted for disabled facilities so the shower and toilet area are a bit reminiscent of the starkness of similar facilities in NHS hospitals. The room was set up for twin beds which are pretty narrow. As the room has ample proportions I do wonder if guests particularly men would appreciate wider beds.

Breakfast is beautifully cooked with ample choice and served until 9am in the morning. The local chipolatas and bacon are superb. The eggs are provided by hens outside and perfectly cooked.

If yu have any queries Ray and Rachael prove to be very helpful and a mine of information.


For bird watchers ,nightingales were seen and heard on one of the b&bs little strolls with are available with maps

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EHG2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

An excellent B&B, high standard of cleanliness, good sized rooms,and an excellent breakfast. This is a very comfortable and welcoming Bed and Breakfast that we highly recommend and hope to return to for a longer visit

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJChill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Lovely little B&B in a village called Rougham about 8 minutes drive from the Bury St Edmunds and close to the A14. Very clean and blissfully quiet. The owners Ray and Rachel meet you at the property and are incredibly welcoming. Pot of tea and cakes served on the patio was served when we arrived. Great breakfast eggs from the chickens outside), comfortable beds, loads of hot water.
A real gem of a property that has been lovingly restored.
highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dric0327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bury St Edmunds hotels
3.8 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
5.5 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
2.4 mi away
Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens
Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfas...
#1 of 56 in Bury St Edmunds
5.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Farm Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Farm Barn

Property: Oak Farm Barn
Address: Moat Lane, Rougham, Bury St Edmunds IP30 9JU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Oak Farm Barn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two minutes from A14, a friendly welcome awaits you at our converted barn with its many original beams, open-plan staircase/gallery. All rooms ensuite with TV, DVD & free WiFi, furnished to a high standard. We have tried to keep the spirit of the barn, while at the same time, giving an atmosphere of homely charm. Detached from our home, guests are free to come and go as they please. Peaceful with rural views. Ample parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oak Farm Barn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Farm Barn Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing