We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very peacefully, nothing is to much trouble and the breakfast is brilliant”
Review of Oak Farm Barn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oak Farm Barn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2009

stayed here for three nights and had the two rooms the second for my two girls we all had a very pleasant stay.
and will be going back without any doubt, it was so peaceful, and has a small patio to chill out on and just about all your needs.
try it I know you will be happy

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank layzellbuilders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 139 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2009

Please take the time to read this and then you can make your own judgment of the Oak Farm Barn bed and breakfast.

I have just had the pleasure to stay at the Oak Farm Barn B&B in Rougham near Bury St Edmunds for 10 superb nights.

On arrival I was met by owners Ray and Rachel Balmer and shown in to a fantastically refurbished barn conversation. After a very warm welcome I was presented with a tray of tea and biscuits made for me by Rachel while I was having a chat with ray. After the necessary form filling I was shown to my more than adequate room with en-suite bath room.

Ray then took me and showed me the sitting / breakfast room where there is a computer for the guest to use with free internet access and also the honesty bar for any of the guests to take a tipple after a hard day (I didn’t require the computer as I had my own which connected to the free wireless broadband internet in my room with no trouble at all).

On closer inspection of my room one of the first things I noticed was how clean and fresh it was, the carpet and walls were as you would find in your own house clean and well looked after. There was a leather chair to relax in after a hard day. I also had flat screen television with DVD player (DVDs for guest use were shown to me in the entrance) tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits were in ample supply there was also a full height wardrobe, dressing table and a set of draws all of which were of good quality and not your usual wobbly stuff you find in B&Bs.

The en-suite was a disabled wet room type of set up which was spotlessly clean and the towels were changed ever day and were large soft and smelt of washing powder
The shower was off a high standard and the water was hot and plentiful.

Out in the entrance there are various maps for the local walks with boots provide if you have left yours at home also wellingtons, slippers, umbrella’s and even a can of de-icer for the cold mornings.

I stay in hotels and B&B’s for over 200 days of the year and have done so for the past 9 years so I have been in some good and bad accommodation so I think I am a pretty good person to recommend Oak Farm Barn to you if you were ever in this area.

Overall Ray and Rachel have a home from home place which is superbly clean, warm and you are made to feel very welcome, they will look after you’re every need.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sowts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2008

From the start of our arrival to the moment we left we had the most wonderful stay at Rachel and Ray's B & B. We had a fabulous room on the ground floor with an En-Suite bathroom and our hosts kindly provided a cot for our young daughter. The Barn has been beautifully restored and is in the lovely village of Rougham, a stones throw from Bury St Edmunds.
We stayed for 3 days and each morning we had the farmhouse breakfast which was delicous. Our hosts Ray and Rachel made you feel very welcome and nothing we asked for was an inconvenience.
We will be travelling back to Bury in the near future and the first thing we shall do is book our room at Oak Barn Farm.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tintin62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2008

My husband & I spent August Bank holiday weekend at the Oak Farm Barn, wanting some 'time out' from our busy working lives to explore Suffolk and this was the ideal place for that.
Ray & Rachel Balmer are the perfect hosts. From the moment we arrived and were offered tea & biscuits we immediately felt we were being welcomed into their home - even though they don't actually live in the property.
The accommodation is a spacious barn conversion that has been developed to a very high standard with the right balance of modern touches and country charm. They really do seem to have thought of everything - from a drawer of toiletries providing anything you might have forgotten to pack, to laminated copies of local walks and driving directions to the best pubs & restaurants in the area.
The top floor of the barn has a homely lounge area with comfortable sofas, books and photographs of the barn before & during the conversion. There's free internet access and a small honesty bar. Outside, a patio area is perfect for sitting out and soaking up the rural views of Suffolk.
Our ground floor bedroom was extremely comfortable and furnished exceptionally well, including TV & DVD. The bathroom was spacious and everywhere was spotlessly clean.
The cooked breakfasts were almost certainly the best we have ever tasted, and made even more enjoyable by the friendly conversation with Rachel & Ray.
We paid £65 per night which was excellent value. This was by far and away the best weekend break we have enjoyed in a B&B or hotel, and the warmth of the comments in the vistors book suggest our experience has been shared by many others.
I'm booked in again next week for a business trip as the Oak Farm Barn has everything I need but with far more charm and hospitality than a big hotel can possibly offer.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CeeDee17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bury St Edmunds hotels
3.9 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
1,223 reviews
4.6 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
504 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#4 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
222 reviews
3.1 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
#10 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
420 reviews
2.3 mi away
Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens
Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfas...
#1 of 53 in Bury St Edmunds
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Farm Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Farm Barn

Address: Moat Lane, Rougham, Bury St Edmunds IP30 9JU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range: £71 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oak Farm Barn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two minutes from A14, a friendly welcome awaits you at our converted barn with its many original beams, open-plan staircase/gallery. All rooms ensuite with TV, DVD & free WiFi, furnished to a high standard. We have tried to keep the spirit of the barn, while at the same time, giving an atmosphere of homely charm. Detached from our home, guests are free to come and go as they please. Peaceful with rural views. Ample parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oak Farm Barn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Farm Barn Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing