We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pub food in town centre location”
Review of The Masons Arms

The Masons Arms
Ranked #41 of 210 Restaurants in Bury St Edmunds
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Nice pub food in town centre location”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I have always struggled to find a good pub meal in Bury, until we found this place. We went here for my friends birthday meal and it was a good evening.
Food was good and the portion sizes were quite large. there was plenty of selection on the menu.
The staff were friendly and the pub itself is quite charming. There is a great selection of drinks too.
I would say this is a great spot for meeting up for an evening meal, personally I would go elsewhere for a special event, but this place ticks the box for a general catch up/meal out.
I had a burger for my main, it was very nicely cooked, my partner had some tempura prawns with chips which he also really enjoyed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shaz105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    92
    34
    19
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Used to visit here many years ago and although it has been revamped since then the food was still good tasty pub grub at a reasonable price. The service was prompt and friendly.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank simmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“another fabulous eating and drinking experience”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I visited the masons arms again last week with a friend. The food and service was as excellent as our first visit and the staff were charming and helpful. This pub has the rustic charm of a country pub and is a relaxing and charming place to enjoy a quiet drink and delicious food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tessie186383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Saturday night at the new Masons Arms in Bury St Eds”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Was really looking forward to the visit, hadn't been to the Mason's for some years, keen to try the range of beers on offer....felt disappointed as the barman handed over a bottle of sparkling wine, with the wrong glass and failed to even cork it! We had to ask for the correct glass and for the bottle to be opened....pretty poor really, clearly no experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marcus s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beer festival”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We visited The Mason's Arms last night to sample the beers at their beer festival. There was a good range of beers both in the beer garden and the pub. We decided to eat there as well. The service was good and the food was piping hot. My lasagne was very enjoyable with lots of cheese on top but 2 of our friends commented that their shepherds pie was bland, the potato topping was a little thin and anaemic looking as it hadn't been finished off under the grill. That said their comments didn't stop them clearing their plates. We sat in the beer garden which was heated and were not too bothered by cigarette smoke from other drinkers. We will definitely return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Masons Arms also viewed

Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
 
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
 
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
 

Been to The Masons Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing