We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very rude bar staff”
Review of The Masons Arms

The Masons Arms
Ranked #44 of 210 Restaurants in Bury St Edmunds
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very rude bar staff”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

don't get me wrong this place does good food but since its been revamped it seems to have had a change of staff they are very insincere and say nasty things about customers behind their backs greene king should be ashamed of themselves

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    92
    34
    19
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Favorite Place!!!!!”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I tried out the mason arms one night and now it is one of our favorite places!!! We did the dinner for two I got the burger and it was great! Came with chips and really good coleslaw. My husband got the chicken and mushroom pie with mash potatoes it was so good! They have a beautiful outdoor area that I'm sure is wonderful in the spring and summer to eat outdoors.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Tucked away down a side street off Bury's main shopping area, great find! We stumbled in here in December after getting fed up with Christmas shopping and now make it a regular stop off for lunch when in town.
The pub is small, but have never had a problem with getting seated, the food is great value and always tasty. Usually we go for something from the light bites menu and have never been not happy with our meals or the service. We have had an evening meal here too, but did call ahead and book a table, food was served freshly cooked and hot, seen other reviews where customers are not happy with food or service, but we really couldn't fault either.
My partner is fussy when it comes to real ales and isn't shy in sending a bad beer back, luckily The Masons always serves a superb pint too.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wheelieb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Horrible place”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Went in and it looked soooo bad just left straight away very dissappointing and expensive as much better places in Town like Corn exchange, The Dove and Oakes Bar

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Spent quite a bit of time here last week and it has changed since over a year ago.
The new refurbishment has made the place a tad too small but nevertheless it is still a very hospitable place to be.
Good food and great choice of drinks.
Friendly staff.

I would recommend it

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank richard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Masons Arms also viewed

Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
 
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
 

Been to The Masons Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing