We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“long wait, terrible coffee and tea” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of SoBar

SoBar
Ranked #160 of 203 Restaurants in Bury St Edmunds
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Seating
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“long wait, terrible coffee and tea”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

The worst (thinnest) cappuccinos I have ever had, one Earl Grey that did not taste of anything much, one green tea that was bitter, two hot chocolates that were nice. For this, we waited about 10 to 15 minutes - but to be fair, I think the waiter was by himself so had to do everything. It was not busy, though.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sunnyintervalstoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    6
    2
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst cappuccino for quite some time”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Sunny Saturday afternoon and a quiet street in Bury with some sofas out there looked nice. On closer inspection the table tops where covered in molten cigarette traces on very wonky legs. Ordered a couple of cappucinos and some teas at the bar and waited out side, and waited ...
Eventually things arrived. Earl Grey tea was only very faintly recognisable as Earl Grey but that might just have been the brand they are using. The cappuccinos though did not seem to have seen a coffee bean for miles and the milk froth resembled in texture the bubble in a foam bath - nothing milky or even creamy. Even two sugars did not make an improvement.
One the positive side, some more original toilet doors.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dorni01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A cocktail bar?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

I was under the impression this was a cocktail bar, I have been proven very wrong! When I asked for a margharita I was met with a stern we don't serve them, even though I could clearly see at least four tequilas on the shelve behind the barmaid! This is a terrible shame, Bury doesn't have an abundance of cocktail bars, and unless your chosen 'poison' is on their menu you won't be getting any joy, they're certainly not prepared to learn or make your request!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Holiday_Hacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“So-So.... at very best!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Popped in for a cocktail with a girlfriend celebrating her birthday.

We were served a decidedly uninspiring Mojito by a miserable mono syllabic barman for who it was clearly far too much trouble to enter into conversation or heaven forbid, wish my friend a 'happy birthday'.

And before anyone thinks maybe he was busy and was just a little 'hurried', I should add this was a Thursday evening and there were maybe 10 people in the place.

Don't bother wasting your money here, there are numerous far more friendly places serving superior cocktails in the town.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank steveholdenmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great little bar!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

I read about SoBar in one of the local magazines that was in our hotel room. We popped in about 6:15 ish during happy "hour" (which is actually about 4 hours, result!). We ordered a pint & got a free half & buy one cocktail get another for £1! Great value, we liked it so much we went back after our meal.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Carrie2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SoBar also viewed

Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
 
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
 

Been to SoBar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing