We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing!”
Review of The Fox Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Fox Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Visited here with friends for Sunday lunch. We hadn't booked but they did have a table. If they'd have told us we would be waiting over 30 minutes for someone to take our order we would have gone elsewhere. We then waited a further 40 mins for the meal to arrive. The food, when it finally arrived was good and it wasn't the fault the waiting staff who were very pleasant and apologetic. We would have ordered desert but the waitress couldn't promise we would have them within 30 minutes. There just wasn't enough waiting staff. The guy who I assumed was the landlord showed his displeasure when I took back the white wine spritzer I had ordered because he had put loads of ice in it without asking. I don't like ice in my drinks and feel it only polite to ask before assuming. He kindly informed me the soda water would have watered it down anyway! There are lots of good restaurants in Bury St Edmunds so those that provide the best customer service are the ones who will succeed in the end.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccurryPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 391 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

I went for a birthday meal last week and was disappointed with the night. One of our party was ill so didnt turn up , we forgot to cancel the main course so paid for that but we cancelled the dessert with the waitress and they tried to charge us for it. The guy serving at the bar and dealing with the meals was very rude and abrupt and even accused us of 'being dishonest'. He moaned that the last person to arrive was six minutes 'late', and said the meals had already been prepared, and then we had to wait another 20 minutes to get our first courses. Some of the main meals were overcooked and items missing. In my view the main courses should not have been started before we had all arrived and were sitting down with our starters - then the main courses would not have been overcooked!!! I will not be returning to this pub.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Went for sunday lunch on 6th july (8 in the party). Food was good but service was not good. We sat with dirty plates in front of us for 15 mins waiting to order dessert whilst the waitress stood chatting at the bar. The restuarant was only 50% full so there was no reason for this. After waiting and waiting i approached the bar and asked for the bill from the waitress that was still chatting. She asked if everthing was ok, i replied with food was good, service was terrible, told her we were so sick of waiting to order the desserts that were were going to a supermarket to buy them. She shrugged her shoulders and said "ok". Mr Banks

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Adambanks1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Very friendly staff, our accommodation was very pleasing, not at all what we expected. The rooms where very clean and up together, the bathroom very modern. The car park is right outside the rooms, so not far to carry your luggage. We ate in the pub and our meals where good, the wine also.

Breakfast had a good choice, and nice fresh cut bread, would defiantly stay again, highly recommend.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I booked the executive suite for three nights from the 10th to the 13th of June, on the strength of comments on trip advisor. The room was excellent, everything you would expect and no problem at all with decor and quality. My wife and I were awakened the first morning at 6.10am by what sounded like an aircraft flying over very low,and then stopping overhead for a whole hour making further sleep an impossibility. This happened again the following morning at 6.35am then 7.15 am on day three, On day two I found the manager Tracy to ask her to come up and listen to the noise for herself. She agreed it was not acceptable, that is was not a noise from the hotel but that she would investigate. To the rear of the executive suite in another yard there is a flat roofed building with two pipes approximately 12" in diameter coming out of the roof (see photos). These appear to be extractor fans for some car business or other and could be the source of the noise. I would not stop there again. Also, although the staff were very pleasant in the bar and restaurant the evening food was not of great quality you would better off eating out.

Room Tip: Don't stop in the executive suite unless something has been sorted but how would you know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RICHARD R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I echo the previous reviewers' comments - the rooms are fantastic - spacious and very modern. Parking right outside, at the back of the hotel. We stayed on a Friday night and heard no noise, neither did we get 'cooking smells'! Only gripe is that my husband's steak was ordered 'rare' and was on the well-done side of 'medium'. Disappointing, but everything else was fine.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helen061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Second stay at this hotel and the room was again fantastic - good size, modern and well appointed but a little noisy sometimes if you are right next door to the pub.

The food - after choosing from some of the six menus on offer, most of our party chose the sizzler menu steak or chicken. All of the steaks were cooked medium despite the orders being mainly rare or well done but none of them sizzled. A pointless gimmick done badly. This was not helped by the entire restaurant / pub being served by two people all evening despite being full. I went here a few years ago and the food was very good - now its just basic bland pub grub - the sort you would expect to pay £5 for and have a pint thrown in. There are many better pubs in Bury to eat in.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spurs4eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bury St Edmunds hotels
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
1,233 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
510 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#3 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
244 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#4 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
640 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bushel
The Bushel
#10 of 53 in Bury St Edmunds
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox Inn

Address: 1 Eastgate Street, Bury St Edmunds IP33 1XX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range: £91 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fox is a friendly family run 500 year old inn with a contemporary fresh food restaurant and large luxury boutique hotel rooms converted in an ancient barn - complete with Hayloft Suite. Nestled next to the Abbey Gardens and yet only 5 minutes walk to the town centre in the historic town of Bury St Edmunds, with Newmarket and Cambridge close by. An ideal venue for business or pleasure. Open all day, every day with an emphasis on quality and friendly service. Fresh food served from 7am weekdays and 8am at weekends and bank holidays prepared by our team of chefs using only the best quality local ingredients. Free parking & WiFi. Our air conditioned rooms include: handmade super king beds with natural hand stitched mattresses for a good nights sleep. Handmade oak furniture & room fittings, luxury stone tiled bathrooms with natural French toiletries, flat screen TV, Fair Trade tea & coffee, spring water, safe, steam iron, cosy underfloor heating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Fox Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fox Hotel Bury St. Edmunds
The Fox Inn Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing