We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight after Wedding”

Kiln Farm Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bury St Edmunds
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kiln Farm Guest House
Ranked #26 of 53 Bury St Edmunds B&B and Inns
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Overnight after Wedding”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

My wife and I stayed here with our 3 kids June 2013. Really nice owners who could not have been more helpful or welcoming. Rooms were perfect for our needs and it felt like a home from home rather than a sterile hotel.

It's the little touches and genuine caring attitude that sets these places apart and if you are looking for a fair price and good old fashioned customer service then you'll not go wrong.

Would not hesitate to return.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gavintrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
5
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on 20 April after a wedding nearby at haughley park barn. Room was lovely and they had thought of everything. Well kept and stocked room.
Owners really helpful and friendly. Took us to pick up our car we left at the venue
Breakfast was amazing. Great quality cooked breakfast
Beautiful location
Loved it
Thanks

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

looking forward to our return aug 2012
a family get to gether and been coming now 3years
dave and jan are the greatest hosts
great food
and they are very helpful
there is nowhere better than kiln farm
kid friendly
look forward to seeing dave and jan soon

Room Tip: all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mark r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We have just got back from a weekend stay at Kiln Farm as we were attending a wedding at Haughley Park. There were four of us, we had rooms 2 & 8 which were very clean & comfortable, lovely soft towels, chocs, tea, coffee etc etc, even a water filter!!. Dave & Jan are the perfect hosts, on arrival we were greeted with a choice of tea or coffee & a lovely big plate of biscuits, breakfast was made to your choice which again was excellant, my daughter is vegetarian and coeliac and they catered for her perfectely. I could go on about Kiln Farm and Dave & Jan but I'll finish by saying...........if you're reading all the reviews, don't hesitate...........just book it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sheely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

I stayed at Kiln Farm for just over 9 months whilst working at a local food factory.
This is the best B & B I have ever stayed, amde even better by the great hosts, Jan and Dave.
Rooms are always clean and tidy, with good facilities, good beds and great showers. Some rooms also have baths if you prefer.
The food, oh my the food, is just fabulous. Jan's cooking is guaranteed to put a few extra pounds on you but you will not be able to say no.
All freshly cooked, and generally a choice of meal too, which for a small B & B is quite amazing.
Nothing is too much trouble when you stay.
At 1 point during my time here I was feeling a little under the weather. When I got back that night there were some paracetomol and lemsip left in my room...! You wouldn't get that at a chain hotel.
The area is rural and quiet, and in the summer the courtyard is a lovely place to sit and relax with a beer, or whatever you prefer.

If I am ever looking for somewhere to stay in Suffolk, as long as Jan and Dave are running the place this will always be my first choice, can't be beaten.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the main house have better water pressure on the showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChrisM239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Lovely location in Suffolk, with plenty of activities nearby for the children. Food stunning (local produce!). I had a crayfish salad and the children got spoiled rotten. Lots of place for the children to run around and our family rooms with a bathroom were private and functional. Welcoming family run place.

Room Tip: contact the owners about your requirements. They are very friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lovefoodlovezumba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We booked in at Kiln Farm as we were attending my sisters 25th Wedding Anniversary in Elmswell. We could not have done better. The service and attentiveness by Dave & Jan is second to none. The rooms are very homely, clean and more "extra's" than you can imagine. Then to top it we asked for an evening meal and it was superb.
Many thanks for the kind hospitality, the excellent service and food from the bar and kitchen on Friday and the most excellent full English on both Saturday and much needed on Sunday. We will be back

Room Tip: It won't matter as they are all excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bury St Edmunds
8.3 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
459 reviews
2.9 mi away
Haughley House
Haughley House
#1 of 2 in Haughley
134 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clonmara Manor B&B
Clonmara Manor B&B
#1 of 1 in Elmswell
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Bays Farm Country B&B and Kitchen
2.0 mi away
Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens
Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfas...
#1 of 53 in Bury St Edmunds
587 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurston
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiln Farm Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiln Farm Guest House

Property: Kiln Farm Guest House
Address: Kiln Lane | Elmswell, Bury St Edmunds IP30 9QR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St Edmunds
Hotel Class:4 star — Kiln Farm Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Kiln Farm Guest House Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing