We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar, beer and bed”
Review of Old Cannon Brewery

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Cannon Brewery
Ranked #11 of 53 Bury St Edmunds B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2013

It's difficult to go wrong at the Old Cannon Brewery when these three are your priorities. The beer is the star of the show in this bistro pub and real ale aficionados might never get to the food (an oversight) or the bedrooms (unless they've sampled all the pumps). With it's brewing paraphernalia on show and on sale, drinkers quickly realise that this place takes its beer seriously. Foodies shouldn't walk past either as the kitchen serves up solid fayre at a fair price. The bedroom was comfortable, if not a tad more expensive on this trip, but the full Suffolk breakfast still made the whole drinking and dining experience one to be savoured.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed here a few times now on business trips and found it much better than the usual bland B&B. What could be better than staying in a brewery with a nice cosy room and good bar food.
The rooms are a littlle small but very clean and cosy. Food and choice of beer from the part time brewey are both superb. Parking available in the courtyard and a short walk to the lovely town of Burt St Edmonds. Forget the hotel chains, get booked in here the next time you are in the area. Talk to them nicely and they may knock a few pounds off the usual rate.

Room Tip: I think there are only 6 rooms with only room 6 being on the ground floor. This room is next to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed here quite a few times as my husband used it for stops as a sales rep and found this little gem which we then stayed in , stopped In most of the different rooms which are clean an comfy , had food in the pub which is excellent , not many vegetarian options but they will do anything to accommodate what you would like . The breakfast is also good which is offered , a novelty that they have the beer on site and you can see the equipment in the pub they use to make it .

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Netstar19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We had an extremely pleasant night's stay at the Old Cannon. The staff were friendly and helpful (all of them), the beer really is very good, the room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast palatable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wade M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This is our second visit to the Old Cannon Brewery, and once again it didn't disappoint. We arrived to find out it was the beer festival, much to my partners delight. The beer is brewed on site, if you can't decide which pint you want, they do three sample glasses of a third of a pint - a fab idea!

The staff were friendly and helpful, we had booked a package of £120 for one night's stay, including lunch and breakfast which we felt was excellent value for money. There was some confusion with the bill but this was quickly rectified. The bedroom are clean and comfortable & nicely decorated.

There is a small buffet for breakfast with toast, cereals etc, the cooked items are made freshly to order. There was a fantastic selection of cooked food, my partner had the cooked breakfast & I opted for the omelette both of which were delicious. The lunch also didn't disappoint, I had bangers and mash, very tasty indeed. All the food is locally sourced and food freshly made.

The hotel is in a quiet part of town, so there is no noise from traffic or residents. We would recommend this to anyone who loves local brewed beer and locally sourced tasty food with a warm welcome. We will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reeny161081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Just returned from a nights stay at the Old Cannon. We stayed as Birthday treat for my husband who is a real ale fan. The beer was the highlight of our experience and was excellent. Good choice served in the the lovely brewery building.We also had dinner, the fish and chips were lovely very light batter and the sausage and mash with beer batter pudding was very tasty.Our room was very pleasant, clean and tidy but the damper was the noise from the beer cellar cooling unit which is in the courtyard. Yes as explained it does turn of at 11.00pm but the noise is unacceptable. We were in room number 3 which is right over it and there was no respite. We decided to sit outside in the smoking area even though we don't smoke and wait until it went off rather than return to our room. We did mention it to the staff who were very helpful and assured us it would go off but as they explained it had always been like that I don't understand why it hasn't been fixed. I guess in the cooler weather when you can close the window it is or so bad.
All in all a nice place to stay but please sort out the noise.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Sandy22102010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

My son and I have had one lunch and one dinner in the last week. This is an establishment that brews it's own speciality beers as well as providing a good range of food and hotel accommodation.The food is excellent, although a little limited in range, but with a daily specials board. Well cooked and served with an attentive staff. Well worth a visit but I have no view on the accommodation as not used.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bury St Edmunds hotels
0.4 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
1,244 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
499 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#3 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
516 reviews
1 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
#10 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
432 reviews
3 mi away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#5 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Cannon Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Cannon Brewery

Address: 86 Cannon Street, Bury St Edmunds IP33 1JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range: £97 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Cannon Brewery 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, spacious rooms, all with en-suite showers in the converted brew house just across the courtyard from the modern micro-brewery, bar and brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Old Cannon Brewery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Cannon Brewery Hotel Bury St. Edmunds
Old Cannon Brewery Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing