We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Stay”
Review of Old Cannon Brewery

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Cannon Brewery
Ranked #10 of 53 Bury St Edmunds B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Business Stay”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Stayed here on Wednesday night as I was attending a conference for work.
Very nice room, and very different to anywhere else I have stayed. The free beer in the room is a nice touch.
Bed very comfortable, and all facilities were fine. TV with all Sky channels including sports.
The bar and brewery itself is also brilliant, with a wide selection of food and drinks at good prices.
Good breakfast included in the morning - both cooked and cereals/toast etc.
Only negative things I could say were that the milk in my room wasn't fresh by the time I arrived at 9pm and did smell a bit dodgy. Also, the wifi didn't work in the morning for some reason. These weren't big problems to me though.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnMacmillan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    58
    21
    7
    5
See reviews for
25
83
10
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
cambridge
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Very nice , if very busy Saturday night fare , good standard pub grub , nothing fancy but very big portions so much so that I couldn't eat it all, booking ahead is a must due to the popularity of this venue

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casarob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I was booked into The Old Cannon for 2 nights on a business trip. The pub was closed for refurbishment but I was still met by Hannah the owner and shown to my room. Room 7 on the ground floor. Quite spacious and very clean. Good shower with funky lighting in the bathroom. Offered a full cooked breakfast but settled for cereal, coffee and toast. Given the fact that the bar was a building site, the owners dud very well. Have to go back to Bury in the Summer so will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GordonandMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Just spent 5 nights at the Old Cannon brewery and would find it difficult to fault it.

Rooms excellent, food excellent, beer excellent, service excellent.

Great location 5 mins walk to the city centre. Nice and quiet but close enough if you to sample Burys nightlife.

This is the 4th time I have stayed here and would have no hesitation in staying again

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed here a few weekends ago to watch a friend perfom in a classical music concert in The Apex. I stayed in the Blonde Bombshell room, fantastically clean & well decorated. Free water in the room & free wifi too.

Hotel is well located for all the Bury sights, recommend the cathedral & gardens if the weather is nice. Fantastically friendly hosts (Garry was on duty for my stay) that go out of the way to accomodate. Slept the best I have in years!

Had sunday lunch in the brewery pub before we left - delicious local roast lamb. They brew their own beer here, don't leave without buying a 3-pack or even a 6-pack. You get to choose which bottles to take home & it makes for a fantastic present for friends. The beer isn't available in London so that makes it even more special.

Highly recommend.

Room Tip: blonde bombshell room was lovely but a bit noisy if you want a quieter location then go upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolecostello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lavenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Great lunch, terrific menu and friendly service . Clean and a good vibe . I had salmon with bubble and squeak with o poached egg on top followed by steamed syrup pudding with custard. Absolutely lovely.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

This brewery/pub/inn has wonderful beer brewed on site. Different colours and strengths according to your taste. There is also the option of three third pint glasses as a taster.
They also have different size containers to take your choice of beer home.
There is also an extensive wine list covering the usual favourites along with a very good sized menu.
To complete the package you can stay in one of their courtyard bedrooms too.
Great fun place and definitely worth a visit.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robertlintott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bury St Edmunds hotels
0.3 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
1,182 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
486 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
220 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Northgate
The Northgate
#3 of 53 in Bury St Edmunds
161 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bushel
The Bushel
#11 of 53 in Bury St Edmunds
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Cannon Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Cannon Brewery

Property: Old Cannon Brewery
Address: 86 Cannon Street, Bury St Edmunds IP33 1JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Cannon Brewery 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, spacious rooms, all with en-suite showers in the converted brew house just across the courtyard from the modern micro-brewery, bar and brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Old Cannon Brewery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Cannon Brewery Hotel Bury St. Edmunds
Old Cannon Brewery Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing