We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic English B&B...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Chantry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Chantry Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Certificate of Excellence
Nice, France
Level Contributor
152 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Authentic English B&B...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2011

Just stayed for one night but would have liked to stay longer. Mike is a very hospitable guy and was very flexible and responsive to our needs. There are fancier places to stay in Bury but this is a honest B&B with few frills but all the necessities and an English breakfast to kill for!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    53
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
82
11
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

Lovely spot with gorgeous garden. Close walks to river and farmland. Pubs short walk away. Close to park n ride for bus to city.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennieRotorua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

This hotel is amazing and I would love to stay again. The hospitality was second to none and the building was very charming. The room i stayed in had a lovely big en suite which features a walk in shower and newly refurbished sanitary ware. The room itself had a antique French bed whch made my stay feel very special. The breakfast choices were well thought out with food that complemented eachother. Will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tj234_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2010

Rooms are very smart, but also comfortable, with all amenities needed. Service we had was excellent, with many extra touches. Central location made it easy to get around and leave the car in the free carpark.
Homecooked food was to a very high standard.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doris58uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bury St Edmunds hotels
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
2.5 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Ickworth Hotel
The Ickworth Hotel
#1 of 2 in Horringer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chantry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chantry Hotel

Property: The Chantry Hotel
Address: 8 Sparhawk Street, Bury St Edmunds IP33 1RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chantry Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chantry Hotel is situated in the heart of historic Bury St Edmunds. It is close to the town centre,shops and restaurants. It offers 14 en-suite rooms with a bar/lounge for the guests to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Chantry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chantry Hotel Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing