We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than average with helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Chantry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Chantry Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Certificate of Excellence
Argyll and Bute, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Better than average with helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

My friend and I stayed in a standard twin which overlooked the car park. Beds were comfortable and shower was fine though I must admit I would have liked to have had the choice of a bath to rest my weary legs! There was some music noise around 10pm when we returned to our room but it didn't last long - not sure where it came from. Flat screen tv - don't know how many channels there were as we were out most of the time. The breakfast was very good - choice of cereals & fruit, fruit juices and cooked breakfast - whoever did the cooking could do perfect poached eggs and the bacon was plentiful and presumably local produce. Didn't use the lounge or the bar but it was cosy with the fire. There is free wifi and if you don't have a pc there is one provided- complete with printer
Location is good - It is behind the brewery and short walking distance to the Theatre, Abbey and town shops. Upon check-in we asked for details of eateries and a comprehensive list were marked on a map for us.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms look very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    53
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
82
11
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

I am questioning how the Chantry can rate as no.1 on tripadvisor. I couldn't get in anywhere else and my booking company was only able to secure a single room at the Chantry and perhaps this is why.
Obviously not a lot of choice for hotels in the centre of Bury, the Chantry seemed a good choice from the reviews on here.
On the whole it wasn't bad at all, but I do stay in rather a lot of establishments and for the room price, I do not feel I had good value. I guess most of the other establishments were busy because of the setting up of the Christmas market. I have stayed in several boutique and major chain hotels of a far higher standard than the room rate charged.
Upon arrival, there is a good sized car park - unsure whether there was security cameras - if not would be useful addition for piece of mind.
The greeting was good and offer to carry bags.
The public area of the hotel was well appointed and very clean - so good first impressions.
However, I was very disappointed with my room. They do have large doubles and delux rooms - so I guess guest staying in these were able to rate the hotel highly.
So proprieters please take this review as constructive advice on how to improve that single room and not as a criticism.
It is difficult to do much with a small single room, but it could have been made more guest friendly and more boutique style. The single bed had decent linen and the ensuite had good quality towels. the bed did not have a valance and therefore looked a bit unmade, there was no nightstand/bedside table - guests should not have to put alarm clock, glass of water tissue etc on the carpet. attempts had been made at modernising, but there was a juxtaposition on a few things: Modern halogen main light, but awful 1980s faux antique wall light. Switches not convenient. Dated Anaglypta wall paper painted (clean but dated) - perhaps modern wall coverings with feature wall and contrasting soft furnishing and decent curtains. Desk/table & mirrored wardrobe I suggest changing to a nice fully fitted unit, that houses the TV, so wires are hidden. Ensuite had been modernised, with good walk in shower, but undfortunately not a power shower had to run a while to get hot; basin unit a little small as water splashes out - nice illuminated mirror, but could do with a shelf for toiletries. Was disappointed no bath, but probably not enough space.
So when booking folks, try one of the double rooms for single occupancy - not the single!
The breakfast was very good however, and perhaps the best part of the experience - decent locally sourced produced including the tea and marmalade - only criticism is perhaps they could offer black pudding - with the amount of farms in the area, I guess there is a decent producer locally.
I would stay here again but insist on a larger delux room, not the single which I do hope the owners pick up on my suggestions. I am concerned at the room rates, but with little competition, regular clientele, good rating on here, I guess they can be justified.

Room Tip: Do not choose the single
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chantry1, Owner at The Chantry Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for your review. We only have one small single room which is room 2. Most of our corporate clients book double rooms for single occupancy which would have been more suitable for your requirements. We always point out to the person making the reservation that it is a small single room. On the nights you stayed it was the only room left so we could not offer you a free upgrade. Like most of the listed buildings in the town centre we are constrained by the basic geometry of the building which is often not as convenient as we would like. We have tried to keep the atmosphere of the Georgian town house so we have avoided feature walls and standard corporate hotel furnishings. We hope to be able to offer you a better experience if you stay with us again. We will also consider your comments on the relative value of this room when we set prices for 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

A short walk to the town centre.
Hotel is very clean and the bedding and towels are top quality.
The atmosphere in the hotel is very relaxing and peaceful.
Overall a very pleasant experience.
The breakfast was good. We were seated next to the kitchen but there was no noise and no evidence of rush or panic. Again, a lovely peaceful atmosphere.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ruthfrances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham, Bucks
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed with husband and two boys on a Saturday as we were in the area for a family wedding. The cleanest hotel I think I've ever stayed in, really friendly reception, lovely breakfast and great central location. Would definitely recommend it whether you're in Bury for business or pleasure.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank PrincessBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed for two nights in this charming hotel. It's in a historic building and has rooms that are all different and unusual shapes. The facilities though are good and the management and staff friendly and helpful.

The breakfasts were good and a special feature was the lounge/bar with an open fire.

The only drawback was that a cold snap began while we were there and the heating was not quite effective enough for our taste. It didn't spoil our enjoyment though and we were fully occupied wxploring Bury St Edmonds. The hotel is ideally placed near to the centre and only a short walk from the Cathedral, brewery and Theatre - all of which we visited.

Room Tip: There is a winding staircase in the main building which should be avoided by travellers with mobilit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
546 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

The Chantry Hotel is conveniently located, a short walk from the centre of Bury St Edmunds. It has a reasonably sized car park for the size of the hotel. We arrived earlier than the scheduled check-in time, but our room was ready.

We had booked a deluxe double room, which was on the ground floor in the annexe (room 18). It was a good size, with a comfortable double bed, nice exposed brick fireplaces and a comfortable separate sitting area, with a very clean sofa, a chair and small tv (there was a larger tv in the main bedroom). The bathroom was small, with a good sized - although not particularly powerful - shower.

Breakfast was good, with very good poached eggs and local bacon & sausages.

The main part of the hotel has a little bar area, which we didn't use

There were a few small points which could be improved:
There was quite thick dust on the heated towel rail in the bathroom and on the light switches - although the rest of the room seemed very clean.
We were only given one set of towels so had to ask for more.
There was no shelf space at all in bathroom, although there was a small cabinet/cupboard.
A coffee table in the sitting area would be a good addition.
WiFi was free but didn't work with the code in the information booklet - we did mention this the next morning, so hopefully it will have been sorted out now. We could, of course, have reported it when we were trying to use it, but it was late-ish in the evening and we weren't desperate to get access.
The room prices in the information booklet in our room were outdated.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluesprout61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castries, St. Lucia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Our room was "in the gods" but once there, it was very comfortable with antique bed but modern fixtures and fittings. Anyone visiting would have to be careful what room they were assigned to. Breakfast was a treat served in the light and airy dining room. Located right in the heart of Bury.

Room Tip: be careful it is not up in the higher floors if climbing stairs is an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Germaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bury St Edmunds hotels
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
2.5 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Ickworth Hotel
The Ickworth Hotel
#1 of 2 in Horringer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chantry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chantry Hotel

Property: The Chantry Hotel
Address: 8 Sparhawk Street, Bury St Edmunds IP33 1RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chantry Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chantry Hotel is situated in the heart of historic Bury St Edmunds. It is close to the town centre,shops and restaurants. It offers 14 en-suite rooms with a bar/lounge for the guests to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Chantry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chantry Hotel Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing