We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located but rather spartan and unassuming”
Review of The Chantry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Chantry Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Certificate of Excellence
norwich
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Well located but rather spartan and unassuming”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

The feel is more of a good B&B rather than an enchanting "period house"hotel .The decor is unimpressive with mostly pine furniture you are more likely to encounter in a B&B.Our "de luxe" bedroom was adequate and understated .We had a narrow double bed with a very uncomfortable mattress.The redeeming features however were a central location, pleasant friendly service and a very good breakfast.May be the annexe has got a bit more to offer!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank osiris26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chantry1, Owner at The Chantry Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We always take note of customer reviews as they help us to improve the service we offer. Most of our double bedded rooms have standard double beds but we do have a few rooms that have king size beds. If you need a larger bed you would need to let us know when you make a booking. The room you had was furnished with contemporary light oak furniture and a Victorian satin walnut dressing table. We do have rooms furnished with antique French and English beds in the older parts of the hotel although these rooms tend to be smaller.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    55
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
89
12
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in late March. We were accommodated in the Tudor Annex not in the main building. This was a most enjoyable stay. Parking on site, a little fraught getting out in the morning since the exit is straight on to the main road. However an affable postman waved us out into a gap in the traffic. The room was excellent. A very good shower room , bedroom and small sitting room with every comfort. It is a particular hobby horse of mine that the designers of bathrooms for hotels have never shaved in their lives. So the shaving/vanity mirror looked splendid with the little LED looking lights inset into it. Totally useless for seeing which part of my face I'd failed to scrape free of hair. All done by touch in the end. End of rant. In every other respect this hotel ticks all the boxes. Friendly staff, very good breakfast,very comfortable room,free WIFI and a perfect location for exploring Bury. Well done Chantry we would certainly stay here again - even if I have to bring a torch to shave by!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike056_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Stayed here on a quiet Monday evening and found the location, staff and service very good. The hotel is an older building and has the charm the is embedded within the architecture. Bedrooms with en-suite were spacious and well appointed. If ever in Bury St Edmund s - would stay again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parry005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Two nights, for a rather spectacular friend's wedding at the very nearby St. Edmunsbury Cathedral! The hotel is unassuming but thats what gives it is understated charm- the courtyard and street its located gives you the Bury feel from the moment you check in!

I stayed in the annexe, with a room I couldn't fault other then the rather thin room door next to the staircase. Always enjoy a little bit of antique furniture- especially fell in love with the beareau in the corner. Fresh, generous breakfast, and I slept like a log (although champagne may have helped…).

Bury is a beautiful place, you stood out- thanks for a great couple of nights.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel usually used by my company was full, so I was accommodated here. It's a lovingly restored Georgian town house and now run efficiently and in a friendly manner as a hotel.

Comfortable bed; warm room; fresh breakfast.

I hope I'll be back!

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank grant67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I stayed here twice within a month and both rooms were doubles, clean and comfortable with some nice period features. Breakfast was very good indeed. Well located for a stroll into and around town too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Very good hotel! extremely combatable bed and well appointed rooms. the only down side to the hotel is the small car park that is hard to get into. apart from that a great stay. I would have no problem recommending the hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bury St Edmunds hotels
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
1,161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
419 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
207 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Ickworth Hotel
The Ickworth Hotel
#1 of 2 in Horringer
654 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chantry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chantry Hotel

Property: The Chantry Hotel
Address: 8 Sparhawk Street, Bury St Edmunds IP33 1RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chantry Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chantry Hotel is situated in the heart of historic Bury St Edmunds. It is close to the town centre,shops and restaurants. It offers 14 en-suite rooms with a bar/lounge for the guests to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Chantry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chantry Hotel Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing